We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bittersweet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Demidoff Country Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pratolino
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Hotel is situated in a stunning back country area overlooking Florence. The view is amazing if you are lucky enough to get the rear-facing rooms. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I think there was a/c ....not positive.
Now that I've been polite, I shall be Un-polite. Lol.
Stayed 2 nights here with cosmos. Night 1 was the Tuscan Dinner ( DO NOT SKIP THIS ). We came back very fat and happy and joined our tour group in the bar where we where told by the staff to "shut up" and go to our rooms like children. Apparently, they didn't want us bothering their empty bar. Breakfast was less than exciting buffet of cereal, bread, and eggs. Dinner served that night was one choice only : pork drowning in gravy. (My personal anti-favorite.) Side dish of potatoes. Staff need many a lesson in service. A shame, for this place is really beautiful.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Danie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demidoff01, Direttore at Demidoff Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Sir,
Many thanks for sending your comments after your stay in our Hotel.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the position in the country side and the nice view from your balcony. Actually, we are only 7,5 miles far from Florence city center!
Please accept my apologies if our staff has used the wrong world. perhaps the closing time of the bar approached or some guests complained about the noise (sometimes happens), In any case, please accept my apologies.
As regards the buffet breakfast: usually we receive good appreciation for the assortment of hot and cold foods... we are very sorry that you did not like the chosen menu for dinner.
we would like to be able to have a new opportunity with you…. we hope to meet you again at the Demidoff Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 454 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent four nights at this hotel, as part of a group. When we arrived we found ourselves completely cut off from the outside world. The wi-fi advertised on the hotel website was not available (our payment of 5 euros was simply returned to us), and there was no English language TV or newspapers. Our room was very dirty, with a faded and dusty carpet, streaked walls, greyish towels and a filthy shower curtain. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, no refreshments available outside mealtimes, and as the hotel was way out in the countryside, no town or village to go to, to look for a café or an internet hotspot.
The staff in the dining room were like something out of Faulty Towers, running around with plates, shouting to match guests with their pre-ordered dishes, and randomly serving courses, so some guests at our table had their main course before others were brought their starters. The food was bland and unappetising, and there was no sign of fresh regional produce. Breakfast was very disappointing, stale bread and awful coffee, and no fresh fruit offered.
Our complaints about lack of hangers in the wardrobe, and the fact that the only power outlet in the room where camera batteries could be charged, was near the floor under a desk, were solved by a helpful receptionist, but other members of the reception staff were not so helpful, and seemed unable to understand the inconvenience caused to guests by the hotel´s shortcomings.
This was our first taste of Italy, and it was not good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elinjons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demidoff01, Direttore at Demidoff Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Many thanks for sending your comments after your stay in our Hotel.
We are very sorry that did not appreciate the position in the green and the quiet of this place.Usually guests appreciate these characteristics.
We are sorry about the room where you stayed: probably the carpet is stained. classic rooms will be renovated during winter (we have already started) . we have almost completed the restoration of the rooms, and we are very sorry you had some discomfort.
As regards the buffet breakfast: usually we receive good appreciation for the assortment of hot and cold foods. Bread is the typical Tuscan bread handmade and has a different consistency de-frozen bread.
I do not want to seem rude but we use fresh food, local, and the taste may seem different compared to the food of supermarkets.
I apologize if our waiters seemed chaotic in their work.
I think a series of unfortunate coincidences have characterized his stay. I hope to have a new opportunity with you in a new stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Visited this hotel as part of the Saga Italian speldours tour. The situation is lovely BUT the food was dreadful and the coffee 'from a machine only' is totally disgusting and undrinkable. It was the worst breakfast I have ever seen. A few rolls that were stale, a few slices of bread again stale. If you are a vegetarian then forget it aparently they have not heard of pasta with tom sauce, or pizza with toms and mozarella or even rissotto????? Was I in Italy??? The smell was possibly the worst and it came through the air vents all over the hotel several of us became sick with throats two having to have the doctor. Do not visit this hotel if you are used to the normal requirements of hotels in the 21st century.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demidoff01, Direttore at Demidoff Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Many thanks for sending your comments after your stay in our Hotel.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the position in the green and the view from the balcony.
It’s the first time we receive a bad comment about our coffee and breakfast. We are sorry you did not like it.
As regards vegetarian food, we give one option for each dish proposed. Sorry but pizza is not included in our menu and usually is not offered in Hotel Restaurant. However it is a suggestion that we will consider for the future.
As regards the bad smell: we had some problems with our equipment, but they have been fixed. I think the sore throat was an umpleasant coincidence.
We hope to meet you and your husband again at the Demidoff Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

As with the previous writer I stayed in this hotel as part of a Saga Italian Splendours tour. What a disappointment it proved to be. It felt as though we were there under sufference, the food was awful and seemed it was put together on a very tight budget. Definitely not up to Saga's usual standard of hotel. The bedroom had a dirty carpet and old fittings, everything felt very tired. The worse thing was the appalling smell which greeted us when we first arrived, it was like sewage. The pool smelt too, so much so that I wouldn't have dared swim in there. The only saving grace was the view from the balcony but it was miles from anywhere so couldn't escape!

Room Tip: Try and get an updated room - if there are any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank watkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demidoff01, Direttore at Demidoff Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Many thanks for sending your comments after your stay in our Hotel.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the position in the green and the view from the balcony. Actually, we are only 7,5 miles far from Florence city center, not so far!
About food: we are sorry that you did not like it. usually we receive good appreciation. we use fresh food, local, and the taste may seem different compared to the food of supermarkets.
We are sorry about the room where you stayed: probably the carpet was stained. classic rooms will be renovated during winter (we have already started) . we have almost completed the restoration of the rooms, and we are very sorry you had some discomfort.
Sorry for the bad smell: we had some problems with our equipment, but they have been fixed.
We hope to meet you again at the Demidoff Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at the Demidoff as part of Saga Italian Splendors trip. Room was dirty, fittings were very jaded, whole room needed a good update. Food was very poor, beware if you are vegetarian!
However view from balcony was lovely and outside seating area great. Pity management can't get hotel rooms and menus sorted.

Room Tip: Check room before you move in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vincent511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demidoff01, Direttore at Demidoff Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Many thanks for sending your comments after your stay in our Hotel.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the view and the outside seating are. About the room where you stayed: probably the carpet is stained. Classic rooms will be renovated during winter. we have almost completed the restoration of the rooms, and we are very sorry you had some discomfort. Hope to see you again. We hope to host you again, warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here as part of Cosmos tour. It is way out in nowhere land. Once you get there, you are confined to the hotel. It does have a very nice fitness center and also free WIFI, you must like them on Facebook to get it. It also has a swimming pool, you can get towels in the front desk. Their breakfast is wonderful, very good selection of bread, eggs, sausage, bacon etc. Their dinner was part of our tour package, it was ok, very tasty. The staff is very nice and polite. The rooms very clean, we had a beautiful view of the mountain side. We had a balcony with chairs to sit out side. Really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank botis626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

A good hotel although rather isolated in the hills above Florence. Decent sized indoor swimming pool and sauna. Rooms have good big balconies and views over the hills (except some single rooms). Food was adequate but not exceptional - we were part of a SAGA tour with restricted menus so perhaps not the same standard as individual guests.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pratolino
Hotel Europa Signa
#4 of 4 in Signa
486 reviews
Hotel Grifone Firenze
#243 of 410 in Florence
561 reviews
Together Florence Inn
#291 of 410 in Florence
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel First
#6 of 8 in Calenzano
550 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#93 of 410 in Florence
1,098 reviews
Diva Hotel
#285 of 410 in Florence
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demidoff Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demidoff Country Resort

Address: Via della Lupaia 1556, 50036 Pratolino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Pratolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pratolino
Price Range: $61 - $672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Demidoff Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern building, completely immersed in the nature, with view over Florence. Rooms in contemporary style and in the bathroom, soft towels and natural courtesy kit. Large living rooms, Lounge Bar with charming fireplace. Restaurant InCollina and Gastronomic Restaurant 1556. Heated pool and fitness room. Congress Centre. Free transfer service to Florence (25 min). Outdoor sport activities and water sports on Bilancino Lake. Golf course. Wine, typical food and olive oil tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Demidoff Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Demidoff Country Hotel Pratolino
Demidoff Hotel Pratolino
Demidoff Country Resort Province Of Florence/Pratolino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing