We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monforte d'Alba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Case della Saracca
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at Le Case della Saracca on our honeymoon in October 2011 and highly recommend it.

Monforte d'Alba is a charming medieval town, and Le Case della Saracca is a delightful place to stay. Each room in this restored building is unique, all with old-world charm and modern amenities. We chose "camera di camiot," a two-level room with two balconies and great views.

Our host, Guilio, was friendly, spoke fluent English, and treated us to a welcome drink and hors d'oevres in the wine bar on our first evening. We decided to stay and eat at his restaurant. The setting was fun, with several levels of narrow spaces, each with one or two tables, connected by a spiral staircase, and the food--traditional Piemontese fare--was very good. Guilio was very helpful, providing directions, making dining recommendations, and arranging wine tours for us.

We would stay here again, without hesitation.

Room Tip: Arrive early! Giulio will give you a tour and let you pick the room you want. Each room is unique...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyousTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
51
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here two nights while we were on vacation in Italy, and it was a memorable and wonderful stay. The owner, Julio, was very accommodating and hospitable. He spoke good English and so did his wait staff in the attached wine bar/restaurant, making our stay relaxed, easy and very comfortable.

The property is a medieval building that was restored and in my opinion, it was done very tastefully. The medieval feel was preserved while modern touches and facilities were incorporated without being intrusive. Julio showed us two rooms and we got to pick the one we liked. The room we chose had a bathroom where all of the walls were glass, so that the original stone walls were visible and gave the room a very unique look and feel. All of the plumbing and lighting were modern, so we didn't have to suffer from the usual "rustic experience with the rustic room" experience that you sometimes get with these old buildings.

The room also came with a bowl full of fresh fruit, as well as a well stocked pantry (biscuits, jam, coffee, tea, etc.) and small refrigerator full of juices and sparkling/still water. We were pleased to find out that everything was complimentary and we took full advantage of them. This was definitely a nice touch for us.

The owner also runs a restaurant and wine bar in the same building, and we can tell that he likes his wines. He has two full cellars and many more bottles ready to be consumed. We were welcomed by a complimentary glass of sparkling. We did eat in the restaurant on our first night as we had arrived a little later in the evening, and we thought that the food was very good. The server spoke English and also helped us understand the menu, which helped greatly.

If we had spent more time in the area, we would have loved to explore the town and hang out more in the evenings in the wine bar, but alas our busy touring schedules wouldn't allow us that luxury.

We toured the nearby areas of Barolo, Bra and dined in Alba (La Libre) and Pollenzo (Guido). Monforte D'Alba was convenient to most all of these locations.

We highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The top level rooms apparently have a great view of the city, but there are only a few rooms availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snk325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

You know you love a place when you walk in and the first thing you say to each other is "when can we come back"! That is the reaction that my husband and I had to Le Case della Saracca.

There is not much I can add to the previous reviews which were spot on, and the reason we decided stay here.

I wanted to add some pictures, although they really do not do the place justice at all.

Also, the owner is opening a fab wine bar/osteria next door that is designed above and beyond the rooms with glass staircases, tiny nooks for two, and a beautiful wine cave.

  • Liked — Everything different!
  • Disliked — Nothing (although we would have liked a cd player)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

The owner of this property has renovated several old buildings in this scenic small, hillside town into a rustic warren of modern comfort. Walls have been left the original stone or brick (and in some places, the actual rock of the hillside); floors are cement, polished old wood or clear glass walkways on the upper floors. One chamber off the hallway is lit with candles each evening. The rustic but polished furniture adds to the charm. Several rooms (including ours) have their own balconies. But amidst this is everything modern - motion detector lighting, individual heat controls, comfortable beds, fully-equipped bathrooms with good ventilation and drainage, good lighting throughout, and even an electric tea kettle!

Add to this unusual lodging the wonderful views from the windows and balconies in this lovely town.

Then add the most helpful, personable and kind B&B owner I have ever met. Not only did he welcome us with wine from his cantina, but he made restaurant and winery reservations for us, and confirmed each of them for us, made sure we had extremely explicit directions, and even led us to the wineries. After each meal or visit, he asked us what we thought. Our communications with him prior to the trip were prompt and (again) helpful.

I feel like I have to say something less-positive so I don't sound like I'm making this all up! There is no hot breakfast, other than tea and instant coffee with the tea kettle (the basket of fruit is replenished daily). We really enjoyed going each morning to the bar/cafe in the piazza for cappuccino and brioche for breakfast, but not everyone would like that. Oh, and get specific directions to get to Le Case from the owner, or use mappy.com (that worked for us).

The pictures on the website, for once, are not as good as reality! Obviously, I can't say enough wonderful about this place; it is unique and a special, special find.

  • Liked — The owner
  • Disliked — Having to leave it...
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lexma90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monforte d'Alba
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Beccaris
Hotel Villa Beccaris
#1 of 3 in Monforte d'Alba
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Da Felicin
Da Felicin
#2 of 3 in Monforte d'Alba
166 reviews
1.7 mi away
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
#1 of 2 in Serralunga d'Alba
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Le Torri - Hotel
Le Torri - Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castiglione Falletto
160 reviews
4.0 mi away
Corte Gondina Boutique Hotel
14.5 mi away
Relais San Maurizio
Relais San Maurizio
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano Belbo
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Case della Saracca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Case della Saracca

Property: Le Case della Saracca
Address: Via Cavour Perno 5, 12065 Monforte d'Alba, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Monforte d'Alba
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monforte d'Alba
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Le Case Della Saracca Hotel Monforte d`Alba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing