We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Casa Sillara

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Orturano di Bagnone, Province of Massa Carrara, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TheMissin...
Guernsey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just spent a week at Casa Sillara - simply wonderful. The house is modern and beautiful but still has a rustic Italian feel about it. It is private with a gorgeous dining terrace over looking the Tuscan hills - we had some beautiful sunsets which made it even more enjoyable.

The living area is huge with lovely furnishings. The kitchen is spacious and well equipped, as is the Utility Room. The bedrooms are all en-suite and are bright and very comfortable.

The addition of a stunning swimming pool just makes this property not one to be missed.

If you want true Tuscan living then look no further than Casa Sillara. I would recommend hiring a car (we flew to Pisa about an hour and 10 minute drive) the coast is about an hour away and we went to Florence for the day which is well worth a visit. Bagnone (the local town) is small and traditional - there are a couple of coffee shops where you can watch the world go by - there is no rush in Tuscany! They have a small market on a Monday morning and there is a bakers and a couple of other shops. Vila Franca a short drive away has more shops and a big supermarket.

I can't wait to return.

Thank you!
.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Coming home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas...
1 review
“Idillic, peaceful and warm!”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is the second and hopefully not the last time that I stay in this modern and beautifully furnished house. A superb way to spend a week in the beautiful hills of Tuscany, the house is secluded and peaceful with amazing views, so if you just want to unwind you could spend the whole week taking in the views from the lovely new pool, or if you feel like exploring then there is so much to see, we went to Lucca, which was an inspiring and fun city and also the Cinque Terre, which has to be visited IMO.

There is a local market on the monday which is a pleasant walk to Bologna, we really enjoyed sampling the local produce and enjoying a meal in the house with the stunning views.

I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to see the real Italy from a comfortable and pleasant home in the hills!

Thank you for a wonderful trip!

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and know that you felt the house lived up to your expectations. I hope you will come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mctravele...
Athens, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful hillside retreat”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Casa Sillara presented a wonderful opportunity for rest and relaxation on a beautiful mountain. The recently completed pool was greatly appreciated during the sweltering heat wave that beset us. Orturano proved to be a wonderful "base camp" for day trips to the Ligurian coast, Lucca and other interesting Lunigiana locales. The owner thoughtfully provided a binder with a great deal of information regarding the local culture, restaurants, and destinations of interest. Furthermore, the local property manager was particularly helpful in providing suggestions that only an expat with ten years residence in Italy could provide! Rating is 4.5 out of 5 because the main floor guest bedroom was uncomfortably warm despite numerous fans. The main living area, kitchen and master bedroom, fortunately, have air conditioning. Highly recommend Casa Sillara.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2015
Thank you for your kind review our house, your comments are really important to us so we can rectify problems. I'm sorry you found one of the bedrooms too hot, it was excessively hot that week and unless curtains are kept drawn, the room can warm up. We will be installing suitable cooling equipment to that bedroom to ensure that doesn't happen again. We're so pleased you enjoyed the holiday. Best wishes Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing