We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castello dell'Oscano
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Domo(Perugia)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveler rating
95
75
29
20
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
75
29
20
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsantique furnitureroom was largevilla adaenjoyed our staytrufflecastleumbriahillcomfort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 239 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2010

I make a habit of staying at historic places and castles, so not new to the ups and downs of these properties. And I have not yet found one I had a problem with. Until now that is.
With the exception of one of the night staff, who tried hard, the staff were curt bordering on rude. The room was cold and dirty, there was plaster falling from the ceiling and laying on the floor; the bath was moldy, there were spiders I killed over the course of our stay. I have pics to document, no kidding. The floors in the common areas creaked with each step. The pics on our walls were duplicates of each other, that was just funny but illustrates the lack of attention to furnishings. The coffee maker was covered with greasy dust. The fixtures in the bath were tarnished. Our expensive room was behind the night clerk's office, so VERY noisy. They blocked the driveway to the front door of the hotel when people were trying to check out during a down pour, so we had to either wait the 45 mins for them to lift the gate or get soaking wet taking suitcases to the distant parking lot. The WIFI was 'broke' I could go on, but you get the idea. TripAdvisor should reevaluate its relationship with this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RoseannH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Located in the midst of the Umbrian mountains near Perugia, the castello is a historic accommodation. Given such, we were not expecting much comfort, but the room was nicely decorated and we slept well. Our room was in the Villa Ada, which is an adjacent building and cheaper. Breakfast is in the castle. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The premises is quite large, and is overtly beautiful. A gem for guests who like the quiet countryside.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowDog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff were very helpful, kind and friendly. It is perhaps true that the hotel rooms need up-dating, but our room was big and spacious and very clean with nice furniture. Their service including food is just right; not too much, not too posh, but decent and civilized. Our room was called Villa Aida and it was not next to any rooms; it was quiet and we did not have to worry about our baby son disturbing other guests. We initially booked the Mill (apartment) and asked them to change it to a room in the castle. There is no point staying in this hotel unless you stay in the castle. They also have special deals and it is worth asking them what they can offer even after you arrive. It would be nice if they acquire more high chairs for babies.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We stayed 3 nights in Villa Ada and loved every minute. Set in the midst of beautiful shady green forested grounds, the "castle" is a bit hokey but fun. View from the terrace is beautiful. Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Rooms were standard 4-star with a/c and well worth the last-minute rate we paid. (We had a look at suites in the castle, which were more impressive but a bit overpriced and we decided to pass). It's a bit of a hike to get to the pool - but it is a really lovely pool and we enjoyed spending time there. (Maybe it has been worked on since the older reviews on this site were written, otherwise I can't understand all the negatives!). We also enjoyed just sitting outside on the grounds by the villa and snacking or drinking some wine in the shade of the forest.
We had one dinner in the restaurant, because the setting is so pretty - but found it a bit too expensive and pretentious for our taste. Way better to take a run through the forest to the little lake down the road where all the locals eat pizza en masse with their children. On the other hand, the hotel breakfast was excellent.
The drive from the hotel into Perugia is easy and gets you into the city from a good direction to go straight into one of the big parking lots. All in all, a pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SVMH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

If you go get the tower room. It is the only room with direct roof top access. You have an ante-chamber as well as your room and the castle roof is your porch. It is a fairytale nestled away in the forgotten hills and mountains of central Italy. Be sure you know exactly how to get there before setting out on your journey to save yourself some aggravation. Get there early and take it all in. is a most spectacular adventure. Make it once in your life. ...Enjoy

Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
Thank wtewelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews