We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mountain Treasure”

Agriturismo Villa Cuiano
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Villa Cuiano
Irvine, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Mountain Treasure”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

For your Tuscan farm vacation I highly recommend Agriturismo Villa Cuiano located just east of Cortona. This is "deep Italy" in a forested hillside accessed by a twisty dirt road. Secluded and peaceful, the buildings show the artisanal care taken by their restorer inside and out. The interiors are classic Tuscan with exposed beams, terracotta tile floors and gorgeous tiled bathrooms and kitchens with the all the amenities. Even some of furniture handcrafted by the owner's artisan father. Outside there is a pool with marvelous views of the surrounding mountains and valleys. Also a large BBQ and a tiny playground for the kids. Your gracious host Franco is helpful and fluent in English. If you like natural beauty and serenity this is your place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edward p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My family has stayed here before, & visiting this time with friends we had a brilliant time, as ever.
The setting is beautiful, the flats delightful & comfortable, & Franco is the best of hosts, so helpful and thoughtful.
I would recommend a stay at Cuiano to anyone, it is always such a good experience.

Room Tip: The flats are of various sizes and some can be connected, before we have had a large family group, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTB139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinach, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

...in wonderful surroundings. Up a steep road, the group of apartments is secluded with great views at the hills around. The swimming pool is great -but not fenced off, so not so easy to let young kids run around. Breakfast was fine, evening meals were extremely generous. No shopping and other facilities in the immediate area, but the wonderful cities to visit at an hour's distance more than compensate. It was a great location for a group of families with young kids to go on holiday together.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baselrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The location is one of the best things about Villa Cuiano. It is away from everything, 5-10mins. drive to the nearest little town where you can buy supplies (except on Wed. and Sun.!), and a longer beautiful drive to any of the hillside Etruscan villages. The villa itself was well maintained and fit our 2 families (total 12 persons) fine, though we spent 90% of our time outside at/near the pool. Plenty of space and moveable outdoor furniture for breakfast, drinks, dinner, etc. We even used the BBQ (next to the pizza oven which we were tempted to use but didn't due to our ignorance on how to use it) for dinner once, and when it got cool in the late evening we used it as a 'campfire' (using wood collected from the area by our kids). Nothing to complain about at all. Franco, his parents, and other staff were so friendly and welcoming! We loved the week we spent here and would love to do so again!

Room Tip: The lower unit has an AWESOME view from the bathroom with tub, but the upper unit has larger bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TikiTolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We have just had the best possible two weeks at Villa Cuiano. It is a beautiful old Tuscan farmhouse wonderfully well converted into comfortable and well appointed apartments. Franco Cinaglio, the owner, is charming and so helpful all the time and he worked constantly and tirelessly to ensure that we had a wonderful and relaxing time. We were 24, grandparents, parents and 14 young, ranging from 20 to 4 years, and everyone had the most wonderful time in this glorious and peaceful setting in the Tuscan hills above Mercatale di Cortona. Maria and Franco cooked some wonderful meals for us - the food and wine were utterly delicious. There was a very good and scenically beautiful golf course 45 minutes away and tennis courts in the village. From the Villa we could easily visit some of the wonderful towns and cities of Tuscany and Umbria such as nearby Cortona, Arezzo, Montepulciano, Perugia, Assisi, Gubbio and more. The children all loved being near Lake Trasimeno although they all had the best fun of all in the Villa's own lovely and spotlessly clean swimming pool. We all had the best time possible and would rate Villa Cuiano and Franco Cinaglia as high as we possibly can and thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Most have a lovely view and none is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Franco, the owner of this beautiful villa, is a phenomenal property manager, and a very friendly guide. He takes very good care of the property, and is always available for questions, help, or suggestions of what to do in the area. The villa is way up high on the mountain, which makes for some adventurous driving, but once you are there, the views are breathtaking. The villa itself is spacious, with modern appliances, running water, shower, and toilet. It comes with a full kitchen. It is altogether very romantic, but would also be a great place for a big group. We would definitely come back again, and next time we will bring the whole family!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

We rented Villa Cuiano for a family reunion and it was the best villa I have ever rented -- in terms of the accommodations, amenities and the thoughtful concern and attention demonstrated by Franco, the property owner. We have rented villas in France, Italy, Mexico and several Caribbean islands and this one excelled in all regards.

There were 18 of us ranging in age from 9-65 yrs. and there was plenty to do both on and off the property for everyone in the party. The descriptions of the accommodations and property are very accurate (not always true with all property descriptions) and each apartment was outfitted with all the basics that you would need. The furnishings were tasteful and the architecture beautiful. The family would split up and day trip and then end up around the pool (which really had enough chairs,lounges, tables for 18!) watching the sunset and trading stories of our day.

The grounds are extensive and well manicured. It is a working farm and we always had a few friendly, well behaved dogs and cats roaming around which was a great plus for the kids. We'd wake up early some days to the sounds of tractors or roosters but it really just fed into the ambiance. If you don't enjoy that, Florence or Siena may be more to your liking.

Franco was just the most gracious and concerned (yet not intrusive) host. He was tremendously helpful in terms of directions, suggestions and knowledge or the area. Perhaps most telling was his reaction when one of our youngest was ill. When we asked if there was a doctor or clinic, he phoned his personal physician, made an appointment and went with the child and her parents to the doctor to act as interpreter. That type of thoughtfulness transcends a dollar value and we greatly appreciated it.

To celebrate the birthday of one of our family, Franco arranged to have a dinner prepared at the villa in an adjacent room which can accommodate 40. We had an absolutely terrific, reasonably priced 6 course meal (I think 6-- we were provided with wine as well as the meal which results in a somewhat clouded memory) that featured local specialties. In keeping with his attention to detail, Franco asked for a list of any allergies we may have so that the cook could avoid those ingredients.

The location, while about 20-30 minutes from truly major highways, was very good. Among our group, trips were made to Siena, Assisi, Montepulciano, Montalcino, Pienza, Orvieto,Civita di Bagnoregio (great by the way), Montone (another little known great hill town. Very close by (15 minutes) was Cortona and Castiglione del Lago (20 minutes) on Lake Trasimeno.

This is absolutely a great rental. Leasing all the apartments and the separate 3 bedroom house as a unit is a great way for the whole group to be together while still having privacy. I would not hesitate to rent a single unit either since the set up is such that you would not feel intruded upon. We look forward to another trip to Villa Cuiano.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellesleywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mercatale
1.5 mi away
Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle
13.2 mi away
Agriturismo Pratovalle
Agriturismo Pratovalle
#11 of 76 in Cortona
42 reviews
7.7 mi away
Antica Quercia Verde
Antica Quercia Verde
#15 of 76 in Cortona
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Il Giardino di Romi
Il Giardino di Romi
#1 of 1 in Mercatale
12 reviews
10.3 mi away
Casa Rancacci
Casa Rancacci
#2 of 2 in Mercatale
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Villa Cuiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Villa Cuiano

Property: Agriturismo Villa Cuiano
Address: Via Pietro da Cortona 17, 52044 Mercatale, Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona > Mercatale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Mercatale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Agriturismo Villa Cuiano 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High on a hilltop near Cortona on the eastern edge of Tuscany, Villa Cuiano is a sprawling farmhouse with marvelous panoramic views of the Niccone Valley and the distant mountains of Umbria. The farmhouse has been divided into 5 apartments (La Loggia, La Stalletta, La Stalla, La Loggetta, La Cantina) and a detached hamlet Casa Luca, each decorated in traditional Tuscan style. Stone fireplaces, cotta floors and dark chestnut-beamed ceilings lend an authentic, welcoming air to the accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Agriturismo Villa Cuiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Villa Cuiano Italy/Mercatale, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing