We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday venue very English”
Review of Hotel Galeazzi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Galeazzi
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Holiday venue very English”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The 4 of us went to this hotel for a week in early October 2013 . Our rooms were all on the front with balconies and on the 4th. floor.They were clean,tidy and pleasant with a wooden vaulted ceiling. The on suit was good with a shower,toilet,bidet and large heated towel rail. The towel rail was never even warm despite reporting it several times and the water was at best tepid, which made showering not as enjoyable as it should be.
The food was excellent at all with the addition of lunch time sandwiches,fruit biscuits,crisps and a carton of fruit juice as an added bonus.
The staff were excellent,young and chatty.
The main drawback to this hotel is its location on a main road which is noisey late into the night and again early morning.We hoped by being on the 4th. floor we would not be troubled but this was not the case and resorted to ear plugs. It is between Garcon Riviera and Salo neither which could be described as vibrant .
Visiting the other side of the lake and the South end made us realise that we were in a good resort if all you want is to get away from it all and cruise the lake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank edco2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    67
    23
    17
    5
See reviews for
44
138
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke On Trent
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We've just had a week at the Galeazzi through Inghams and can't believe how they can do the package for the price. The hotel is comfortable and the staff can't help you enough. The hotel is run on a ski style chalet hotel basis so there is a 3 course meal (with menu choices the evening before) and a good choice of (virtually unlimited) wine every night except one which is the staff night off. The food was excellent, and the portion size was more than enough for me.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IanBStokeonTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

From initial warm welcome and then meeting Rosanna - who is patient, personable and knowledgable, she seems to have instilled these attributes into all her staff. All have been so amenable, not just front facing staff. The chefs should be complimented, we have eaten so well (and plentiful). There was a veg issue part way through one evening, however we were well informed and some lovely spinach was presented, as promised, minutes later. Lots of thoughtful touches - home made cakes for afternoon tea. I can whole heartedly recommend the Galeazzi.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Millermobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

food was ok but not if you are a normal eater,portions were small, they need to do more shopping,one day they run out of bacon then on another night dinner was served to some people with veg and others had to go without because they had run out, water was never hot,room 106 every time you had a shower the floor got flooded, I told them but nothing was done, I would not go back to this hotel and would not recommend it

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happydazEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Galeazzi on the 18th September, today I have booked for ten days the same time next year, yes its that good! My husband an I have traveled the world but have never booked to go to the same place a year later. Rosanna and every single one of her staff are wonderful, we never had to see one grumpy face all the time we where there and it was genuine smiley faces.
The food was lovely more international than Italian but at such a high standard it didn't matter, we chose to have lunch out during the day to eat Italian food. We saw but we didn't have the afternoon tea because the food was so plentiful we wouldn't have managed dinner.Neil was a sweetheart but everybody did everything to make our stay the best it could be. So thank you all for a wonderful holiday and we couldn't be more delighted to see you next year!
Fairyel and Mike Herridge

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Fairy989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have just returned from an excellent holiday at Lake Garda at the Galeazzi Hotel, Gardonne Riviera, Lake Garda. The Hotel was excellent. I would recommend this for a great holiday. The food was excellent and it was Full Board Plus (ie there was afternoon tea, packed lunch, and tea/coffee all day if you wanted it). Aperitif and canapés, and wine at dinner were also included in the excellent price. The staff were very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chrissiewells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Well what a lovely surprise when we arrived. Very pretty and so clean. The grounds are immaculate and the rooms are comfy with great beds! I haven't been on a hotel holiday for 5 years after lots of bad experiences but this has restored my faith. The staff are wonderful and the manager makes you feel as if you are a guest in her own home. Loved the chalet style, which skiers will be familiar with, the food was consistently good with plenty of free flowing wine! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will return. The road is noisy but it is the main road round the lake but it wasn't a problem. Within walking distance of Salo and Gardone and bus stops are very convenient. 'Charming' would sum it up for me!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 866Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barbarano di Salo
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone
Grand Hotel Gardone
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
1,131 reviews
1.0 mi away
Salo' du Parc Hotel
Salo' du Parc Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salo
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace
Hotel Savoy Palace
#6 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bellerive
Hotel Bellerive
#4 of 16 in Salo
229 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aromi Piccolo Hotel
Aromi Piccolo Hotel
#1 of 16 in Salo
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Duomo Salo
Hotel Duomo Salo
#13 of 16 in Salo
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galeazzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galeazzi

Property: Hotel Galeazzi
Address: Via Trento 17, 25087 Barbarano di Salo, Salo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Salo > Barbarano di Salo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Barbarano di Salo
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galeazzi 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Hotel Galeazzi is conveniently located just five minutes' walk from the lakeside and lido and seven minutes' walk to the village centre and the landing stage. From here you can catch one of the many boats that criss-cross the lake to explore other resorts and enjoy the sensational scenery, which is seen to its best effect from the water.The comfortable bedrooms all have private en suite facilities, most have balcony and some have superb lake views. The hotel is set in its own garden and there's a good sized swimming-pool with plenty of sun-loungers.The Chalet Hotel Galeazzi will be run in the same style as our other popular Chalet Hotels, with all the added value extras such as free afternoon tea and free wine with dinner that have made them so popular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Galeazzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galeazzi Hotel Barbarano Di Salò
Hotel Galeazzi Italy/Lake Garda - Salo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing