We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Fan of this Farinata!”
Review of L'Antica Farinata

L'Antica Farinata
Ranked #13 of 65 Restaurants in Ovada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 4, 2018

I'm a lover of farinata so when I recently went to visit my family in Ovada, my cousin and a couple of his friends brought me out for dinner to L'Antica Farinata and I became an immediate fan.
There were 4 of us and I ordered "farinata with gorgonzola" with a nice beer. The meal was absolutely delicious! And the beer was very good too. (Unfortunately I can't remember the name of the beer I ordered.)
All the dishes I saw the others eating looked equally as mouth-watering. All the food at L'Antica Farinata was obviously fresh and made from scratch.
Next time I'm in Ovada I'm definitely going back to L'Antica Farinata for dinner. I have to try more of the wonderful eats on the menu! The service was also very friendly and prompt and the prices were inexpensive especially compared to other restaurants in Italy. I recommend trying this place if you're in Ovada .

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlwayInLoveWithItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 86 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

The staff were very helpful in explaining the different local dishes to us.

We had farinata with artichokes and the local variety of pizza. Both were yummy and plenty.

There is a wide choice of beer (bottled as well as on tap) from an Italian brewery I had not heard of before. The Amber Ale I picked was excellent.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Philipp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2017

This ‘Farinata’ stand was the last in the long chain of various traditional crafts and trades presented at the
Medieval feast in Ventimiglia Alta (the Old Town). And it was the one that attracted the most visitors!
‘Farinata’ in Italian Liguria is basically the same as ‘Socca’ in Nice – sort of large pancakes of chickpea flour
seasoned with all sorts of local herbs and spices. The generous vendors served me such a big helping that I
would have quite a problem dealing with it, if it were not for their red ‘Barbieri’ wine!
By the way, the wine was incredibly cheap – 1 euro / glass, while the food made me a whole 5 euro poorer!
P.S. The owner is called no less than Ivan Boccaccio, and he speaks very sensible English

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MuscoviteVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Antica Farinata also viewed

Ovada, Province of Alessandria
 
Ovada, Province of Alessandria
Ovada, Province of Alessandria
 
Ovada, Province of Alessandria
Ovada, Province of Alessandria
 

Been to L'Antica Farinata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing