We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good animation team”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Capovaticano Resort Thalasso&Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in San Nicolo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a one week in the end of July. Beautiful resort,but not easy to find,even with a good navigation. The room was large and tidy with modern,yet elegant style. The breakfast was standard continental fare. The Wi-Fi coverage was very bad both inside and outside the hotel.
We were half-board and the meals at dinner were very tasty. The restaurant has high- quality cusine. The hotel is classified 4* and it's quite make this grade. Nice pool with sea water,but the beach is composed of pebbles,not sand! It's generally uncomfortable to walk on the stones,so I would recommend to buy plastic/rubber shoes. The Tyrrhenian sea is just crystal clear, a natural swimming pool . Reception staff is unhelpful and unfriendly,the check in and check out process is extremly slow. I have to mention,that room distribution manager Iconio was professional and well trained. There is a sauna ,hammam and indoor swimming pool,BUT there is EXTRA charge to use it! Excellent animation team,special thanks to Alessandro and Alessia and Icaro.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank massimomanilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPOVATICANORESORT, Direttore generale at Capovaticano Resort Thalasso&Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Massimomanilo,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor and for selecting MGallery Capovaticano Resort for your holidays in Calabria.

We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better,
You will be happy to know that as a result of guest feedback like yours, we have implemented the following changes at the front office:
- quicker arrival process
- before the departure day, the front office associates received a re fresh training regarding procedures in order to reduce the check -out time.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Gabriel Tadros
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 809 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

rooms are really top notch
food was very good as there was enough choice of healthy and good tasting local varieties
lovely setting- seamlessly blended into the landscape,
seaside was spectacular - no reason anymore to go to the Caraibes -
everything was outstanding
only service: was ok, nothing special

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank m11artina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPOVATICANORESORT, Direttore generale at Capovaticano Resort Thalasso&Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear m11artina,

Thank You for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is set with an outstanding infrastructure which can please any demading customer, however the facility is run by an invisible management which is not supporting a very good willing staff who is sometimes not able to cope with the situation , and this is a pity for such an expected high class hotel.
The place is mainly looking after family with children , and might not be so romantic for young couples at least for the dinner part which is rather noisy.
The rooms are very spacious and clean , and offer an amazing level of comfort. However the hotel location is rather isolated and does not offer an extensive touristic attractvity.
A place to remember for short stay .

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RemiBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPOVATICANORESORT, Direttore generale at Capovaticano Resort Thalasso&Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Remi Brussels,

Thank you Sir, for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor.
We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better.
You will be happy to know that, as a result of guest feedback like yours, we have implemented the following changes:
- more head of departments are on duties meeting with guests.
- the Executive Chef is avaialble not only in the kitchen but also welcoming and explaining some traditional Calabrian dishes
- my self I'm available and as we met and shared our point of views, I'll be more on the floor as I really enjoy meeting with esteemed guests from different countries and where I can speak several languages as I do remember were speaking a lot.

we wish to welcome you back soon on another trip in Calabria, Italy or in one of our MGallery Hotels.

Kind regards,

Gabriel Tadros
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the facilities are mainly excellent. The rooms are modern and clean and the setting itself is lovely. If you like to be resort bound then the place has it all but don't expect good service. Most basic things you ask for are "not possible" or they simply say yes and then disappear .
If you are like me and wish to investigate the local towns then the location is poor. I soon became sick of the drive back up a very steep and winding road.
There were a few staff who were helpful and friendly but unfortunately they were a drastic minority.
Hated the bathroom towels and the wifi system is rubbish.
Overall would not recommend

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 314John_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPOVATICANORESORT, Direttore generale at Capovaticano Resort Thalasso&Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear 314 John_H,

We thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at MGallery Capovaticano Resort

However, we were sorry to learn that you didn’t enjoy your experience in the area and the associates in the property.

Please rest assured that this situation is certainly not representative of our standard of service.

We really look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a not too distant future in order for us to restore the last impression.

Yours faithfully,

Gabriel Tadros
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

A clean, well presented resort with well maintained rooms and pool. Unfortunately the service was incredibly disappointing and left a bitter taste in our mouths. Staff were rude, unapproachable and unwilling to help. Any request, even a small simple one was responded to with contempt. There were a few staff members who were an exception to this experience and the house keeping staff were fantastic and very friendly. The children's facilities were average and staff friendly. We will staying here again purely because the service does not match the price tag and made it very unpleasant for us...and we are pretty easy going Australians who Italian backgrounds who understand Italian!!

Room Tip: Any rooms near the pool will be disturbed by loud music until at least 11:30pm. This prevented my c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPOVATICANORESORT, Direttore generale at Capovaticano Resort Thalasso&Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Anthony D,

Thank you for your kind and clear comments.
We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better.
You will be happy to know that as a result of guest feed back like yours we have implemented the following changes:
- training more dedicated for personnel at service in the restaurant.
- training for bar and cocktails
- reviewed prices at the restaurant.
Awaiting the pleasure of welcoming you back soon on your next trip in Calabria.
kindest regards,

Gabriel Tadros
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Excellent resort.Beautiful Beach. Good food. Friendly staff..what else could you ask for?
Its located about 30-40 mins away from Tropea and you will have to drive down. No nearby restaurants that you could go to if you get bored with the buffet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank ndiwas7370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPOVATICANORESORT, Direttore generale at Capovaticano Resort Thalasso&Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Ndiwas 7370
My associates and my self would like to thank you for having chosen our property in order to relax and spend a great time with us.
We are awaiting your next visit to us whenever you will be crossing by our area in Calabria.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

That is not easy to find this hotel if you travel by car on your own. Get a good navigation application to your iPhone or Android before going there. Prepare for poor roads if you travel from Tropea. However the resort is stunningly beautiful and definitely worth driving on poor winding country roads!

As soon as you get inside the gate you find yourself in a seaside paradise: phenomenal landscape, terrific sea, marvellous beach with thick sand that is not sticky to everything, thalassic pools, attentive staff, cosy rooms. Sunset I have seen from my balcony was one of the best in my life. A view of sun setting down behind the volcano of Stromboli is worth experiencing.

During the check in we were offered a welcome drink. After that we got a small house tour from reception employee and a guided walk to our room. The room was nicely decorated with a large balcony and a sea view. The hotel features a large thalasso centre with lots of different pools with seawater, hammam, sauna and relaxing areas. Access is paid however if you pay a treatment then access to thalasso for 2 hours would be included automatically. Strong massage was not so strong as I expected, but it was very relaxing and healthy to my sun died after a week in Italy skin.

That I like the most is seaside pool and amazing beach. The Tyrrhenian Sea is so beautiful that you may just lie on the sand and watch the sea all day long. Especially if the pool and a cosy bar is several meters away.

There is not a lot of dining options except hotel. One may drive to Tropea for a dinner, but hotel’s restaurant was brilliant: god wine selection, nicely presented tasty food, attentive service. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful with a live cooking station that provides fresh sausages and omelette. The hotel is worth a special visit. Will undoubtedly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Usenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPOVATICANORESORT, Direttore generale at Capovaticano Resort Thalasso&Spa - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Usenko,
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Nicolo
0.6 mi away
Villaggio Il Gabbiano
Villaggio Il Gabbiano
#2 of 9 in San Nicolo
281 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villaggio Club Baia del Sole
1 mi away
Hotel Village Eden
Hotel Village Eden
#2 of 20 in Tropea
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Resort Tonicello
Hotel Resort Tonicello
#10 of 20 in Capo Vaticano
256 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
#1 of 20 in Tropea
293 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel  La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#1 of 20 in Capo Vaticano
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capovaticano Resort Thalasso&Spa - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capovaticano Resort Thalasso&Spa - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Localita Tono | Frazione San Nicolò, 89866 San Nicolo, Ricadi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Ricadi > San Nicolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in San Nicolo
Price Range: $188 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capovaticano Resort Thalasso&Spa - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ancients knew Capo Vaticano with the name of "Taurianum Promontorium", a name which, in Roman times, was changed to "Capo Vaticano". Vatican comes from "Vaticinium", Latin for oracle and response. According to the Legend, in a cave of the promontory of Capo Vaticano lived the Prophetess Manto, who gave advice and responses to mariners as to know the Will of the Gods before they would face the dangerous waters between Scylla and Charybdis. From the Prophetess, the rock "Mantineo" (from the greek "manteuo" give responses),which is located 200 meters off the Cape, takes its name. Located at the very south end of the Italian peninsula, in one of the most exclusive destinations of the beautiful "Costa degli Dei", Capovaticano Resort Thalasso & Spa is nestled in the heart of the stunning scenery, facing the Aeolian Islands and the volcano Stromboli. The enticing, untouched nature and crystal clear waters make the Resort the ideal destination for those who love relaxation and water sports. The modern and minimal design, that inspires serenity, exalts the spacious 123 rooms all equipped with large terraces. At the Wellness Centre, Thalassa Sea & Spa, you will discover the benefits of thalassotherapy and you will benefit from personalized treatments. Once your energy is rediscovered, you will taste the refined cuisine of the restaurants "Mantineo" and "Stromboli". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capovaticano Resort Thalasso&Spa - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capovaticano Resort Thalasso&Spa - MGallery By Sofitel Calabria/San Nicolo, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing