We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveler rating
57
4
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
4
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful place lovely pool olive oil many thanks farmhouse laura wines winery tower estate villa vigna marco tasting charm week guests
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 62 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Petrolo is an excellent place to stay: the location is fantastic; the people friendly and more than helpful; the view and sorroundings are breath taking; everything is clean so you feel at home; you have everything you need for a long stay... The only thing that is not so good and might have you waking up a bit crooked are the beds. The mattresses are quite terrible. Also, if you are thinking of a long stay, be aware of the very high prices for cleaning - around 18 euros/hour!!!! We stayed 2 weeks and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hedonistic3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoDOrazio, Responsabile reception at Petrolo, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thanks for this review Hedonistic3. Changing the mattresses will be my priority this year! I'm sorry you think the cleanings are costly. For us is difficult to find a good compromize between the cost of work and what is perceived by our guest as a right price. Your review will be a mean of deeper thought on how to work around thiese costs. I hope to offer you another lovely experience at Petrolo without shadows! Take care to you and your lovely family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Petrolo for a week this July. My husband and I and eight friends rented farmhouse Vigna and it was beautiful. We loved it! With five bedrooms and four bathrooms it was perfect for ten people to share. The view from our bedroom and bathroom were spectacular! Every morning I woke up to a view of vineyards, olive groves and the rolling hills in the distance. The kitchen was great for cooking and there is a BBQ beside the villa that we used a couple of times. There is also a lovely pool.....although it is shared with the villa down the hill, but that didn't bother us. The villa is about a 45 minute drive south of Florence, which makes it a great location for sightseeing in Tuscany. Marco was a very gracious and helpful host. We were fortunate to have Marco take us on a very informative tour of the winery. We got to see where they produce their wine and even got a tasting! I would recommend Vigna for a family or a group of friends who want to relax, drink great wine and get a feel for what it's like to live in beautiful Tuscany.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macnaugl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Beyond words…the Tuscan wedding and destination we dreamt about.
In fact we don’t know where to start. It was all perfect, everything from beginning to end was perfect so we have to start somewhere. And by the way nothing we say will do justice to our experience at Petrolo.
We are from Europe, live in the US, and were looking for the perfect place for a truly Tuscan romantic wedding, accommodating family, friends and kids from around the world in the same place for a week – for a party, a celebration, relaxation, bonding (around 65 adults and 10 kids). We could not have chosen a better place! Accommodated it all!
We planned the wedding (July 2012) and the whole week at Petrolo from the US by looking around on the internet. Petrolo with its beautiful surroundings and amenities (and there are a lot) looked perfect. But dealing with the kindness, flexibility and service-mindedness of the staff, Marco and Nada, really settled the deal for us. Probably we interchanged 100 mails between them and us about practicalities. They responded to all of them kindly and in depth and guided us in direction of whatever we might have needed, be that a wedding planner, music, lighting, extra accommodation, pizza party, a tasting of the estates own very, very good selection of wine (read the reviews online).
So, we had the opportunity to stay at the estate the week ahead and get to know it a bit more. That was perfect and we just got to love the place more. When everyone arrived we had the whole estate for ourselves. The way it is arranged allowed for everyone to stay close, maintain some privacy and yet enjoy great times together at the main villa surrounded by the olive groves and vineyards and beauty of the landscape.
After the wedding everyone hung around the pool, the fountain, the terrace, the tennis courts and enjoyed the wines the scenery and the local food. We should mention that attractions like Florence, Sienna, Montepulciano and Montalcino are just within a short driving distance.
And by the way we had the most amazing housekeeping all week, Sandra and her colleagues. Sandra made sure everything was perfect in the villa, was always around to help and was always really helpful!
So again – where to start – we have so much to say: the staff just wanted to help with whatever issue you may have when arranging a wedding and really wanted to help us realize our dream. The surroundings speak for themselves. Tuscany, Chianti hills, tennis courts, vineyards, swimming pools, local wines, rusticness of the place – did we leave out anything – we hope not, team Petrolo deserve it! Would we do it again – si!
D&A

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Our expectations were high. And, although understated, the beauty and tranquility of the farm and the countryside deeply ingrained our lasting impressions. Marco and Nada nurture the experience with insightful recommendations and assistance. Marco's energy and help, even to the point of loading firewood in the massive fireplace, is remarkable.

The famous "Tuscan Sun," for us, was no more striking than seeing its rays stream through the kitchen windows in the morning, glowing golden warmth across the terracotta-tiled floor. We can still see and feel the mornings in Petrolo.

Finally, we must give kudos to Giuzzy's cooking. Food appreciation played a large role in our decision to visit Tuscany. Giuzzy first introduced us to the cuisine. What a delight.

We have visited many places, but our Petrolo experience is and always will be special.

Will and Maureen Hier

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Almost hate to tell anyone about this place because we want to keep it for ourselves. But we owe it to them for providing us with the most amazing wedding. The staff took care of everything for 27 guests. The food the villa chefs prepared was out of this world. But the cake stole the show. After 3 hours of eating with everyone claiming to be full, the cake came out. There was nothing left of it. Was the most relaxing trip of my life (keep in mind that this was our wedding).

The villa is spectacular. Rustic but comfortable. The surrounding area was wonderful and not as touristy as the west side of Tuscany. Good restaurants and friendly people. Check out Montevarchi and Arrezo. Not touristy and not as many people here speak English which was a good sign for us. You will need a car and biking is not a great option here. Two weeks prior, David Cameron, the UK PM was a guest. We mentioned that we were staying at the Villa Petrolo to a couple of people in town and their demeanor changed. We were treated like royalty from that point on.

Also keep in mind that this is a working vineyard. They also bottle olive oil and harvest figs. Everything the Villa offers was fantastic. Look no further and book a stay. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arqtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews