We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special occasion”
Review of Petrolo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Petrolo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My family and I went to Petrolo to celebrate my 50th birthday in mid-September. We stayed in the Vigna house. The whole experience was incredibly relaxing. You are literally in the middle of a field of vines. The house itself is clean and rustic and rather basic but it goes so wonderfully well with the overall setting. The peacefulness and the raw beauty of the surrounding landscape is so soothing. We were only five people but could easily have been five more given the five bedrooms. We stocked up at the excellent Coop supermarket in Montevarchi and stayed in the house two out of five nights. For the other three we got very good recommendations. We were exceptionally well taken care of by Marco and Nada and you really get a sense of being a valued guest. This is not a hotel but the help we got with transports, reservations and advice was better than what you get from most concierge desks. When Nada and Marco were off, head winemaker Stefano pitched in. This is a truly family-run place and you feel it as a guest. Thanks to all of you. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulf P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 53 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Petrolo is an excellent place to stay: the location is fantastic; the people friendly and more than helpful; the view and sorroundings are breath taking; everything is clean so you feel at home; you have everything you need for a long stay... The only thing that is not so good and might have you waking up a bit crooked are the beds. The mattresses are quite terrible. Also, if you are thinking of a long stay, be aware of the very high prices for cleaning - around 18 euros/hour!!!! We stayed 2 weeks and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hedonistic3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoDOrazio, Responsabile reception at Petrolo, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thanks for this review Hedonistic3. Changing the mattresses will be my priority this year! I'm sorry you think the cleanings are costly. For us is difficult to find a good compromize between the cost of work and what is perceived by our guest as a right price. Your review will be a mean of deeper thought on how to work around thiese costs. I hope to offer you another lovely experience at Petrolo without shadows! Take care to you and your lovely family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Petrolo for a week this July. My husband and I and eight friends rented farmhouse Vigna and it was beautiful. We loved it! With five bedrooms and four bathrooms it was perfect for ten people to share. The view from our bedroom and bathroom were spectacular! Every morning I woke up to a view of vineyards, olive groves and the rolling hills in the distance. The kitchen was great for cooking and there is a BBQ beside the villa that we used a couple of times. There is also a lovely pool.....although it is shared with the villa down the hill, but that didn't bother us. The villa is about a 45 minute drive south of Florence, which makes it a great location for sightseeing in Tuscany. Marco was a very gracious and helpful host. We were fortunate to have Marco take us on a very informative tour of the winery. We got to see where they produce their wine and even got a tasting! I would recommend Vigna for a family or a group of friends who want to relax, drink great wine and get a feel for what it's like to live in beautiful Tuscany.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macnaugl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Beyond words…the Tuscan wedding and destination we dreamt about.
In fact we don’t know where to start. It was all perfect, everything from beginning to end was perfect so we have to start somewhere. And by the way nothing we say will do justice to our experience at Petrolo.
We are from Europe, live in the US, and were looking for the perfect place for a truly Tuscan romantic wedding, accommodating family, friends and kids from around the world in the same place for a week – for a party, a celebration, relaxation, bonding (around 65 adults and 10 kids). We could not have chosen a better place! Accommodated it all!
We planned the wedding (July 2012) and the whole week at Petrolo from the US by looking around on the internet. Petrolo with its beautiful surroundings and amenities (and there are a lot) looked perfect. But dealing with the kindness, flexibility and service-mindedness of the staff, Marco and Nada, really settled the deal for us. Probably we interchanged 100 mails between them and us about practicalities. They responded to all of them kindly and in depth and guided us in direction of whatever we might have needed, be that a wedding planner, music, lighting, extra accommodation, pizza party, a tasting of the estates own very, very good selection of wine (read the reviews online).
So, we had the opportunity to stay at the estate the week ahead and get to know it a bit more. That was perfect and we just got to love the place more. When everyone arrived we had the whole estate for ourselves. The way it is arranged allowed for everyone to stay close, maintain some privacy and yet enjoy great times together at the main villa surrounded by the olive groves and vineyards and beauty of the landscape.
After the wedding everyone hung around the pool, the fountain, the terrace, the tennis courts and enjoyed the wines the scenery and the local food. We should mention that attractions like Florence, Sienna, Montepulciano and Montalcino are just within a short driving distance.
And by the way we had the most amazing housekeeping all week, Sandra and her colleagues. Sandra made sure everything was perfect in the villa, was always around to help and was always really helpful!
So again – where to start – we have so much to say: the staff just wanted to help with whatever issue you may have when arranging a wedding and really wanted to help us realize our dream. The surroundings speak for themselves. Tuscany, Chianti hills, tennis courts, vineyards, swimming pools, local wines, rusticness of the place – did we leave out anything – we hope not, team Petrolo deserve it! Would we do it again – si!
D&A

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Our expectations were high. And, although understated, the beauty and tranquility of the farm and the countryside deeply ingrained our lasting impressions. Marco and Nada nurture the experience with insightful recommendations and assistance. Marco's energy and help, even to the point of loading firewood in the massive fireplace, is remarkable.

The famous "Tuscan Sun," for us, was no more striking than seeing its rays stream through the kitchen windows in the morning, glowing golden warmth across the terracotta-tiled floor. We can still see and feel the mornings in Petrolo.

Finally, we must give kudos to Giuzzy's cooking. Food appreciation played a large role in our decision to visit Tuscany. Giuzzy first introduced us to the cuisine. What a delight.

We have visited many places, but our Petrolo experience is and always will be special.

Will and Maureen Hier

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Almost hate to tell anyone about this place because we want to keep it for ourselves. But we owe it to them for providing us with the most amazing wedding. The staff took care of everything for 27 guests. The food the villa chefs prepared was out of this world. But the cake stole the show. After 3 hours of eating with everyone claiming to be full, the cake came out. There was nothing left of it. Was the most relaxing trip of my life (keep in mind that this was our wedding).

The villa is spectacular. Rustic but comfortable. The surrounding area was wonderful and not as touristy as the west side of Tuscany. Good restaurants and friendly people. Check out Montevarchi and Arrezo. Not touristy and not as many people here speak English which was a good sign for us. You will need a car and biking is not a great option here. Two weeks prior, David Cameron, the UK PM was a guest. We mentioned that we were staying at the Villa Petrolo to a couple of people in town and their demeanor changed. We were treated like royalty from that point on.

Also keep in mind that this is a working vineyard. They also bottle olive oil and harvest figs. Everything the Villa offers was fantastic. Look no further and book a stay. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arqtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

A little bit of heaven in an vineyard. We had a wonderful time, with six, seven' eight or so people going in an out of the farmhouse. Plenty of dishes. kitchen ware, firewood for the wonderful fireplace in the kitchen, linens, and help from the front office.
The farmhouse accommodates 10 easily. But, Marco and Nada are the true stars, with all of their help, good recommendations, just everything. All of the small towns near by are worth spending time in, along with fine restaurants. The view from the wine fields is spectacular, as was the tour Marco took us on in the winery. Such an education. Learning about the olive groves and seeing the farmers do all their work was so interesting.
The breeze coming though the house was wonderful, and every view really breath taking. We had pheasants, fox, deer and piggies; They were a hoot. Big and little.
Petrolo is a real working farm, and makes you appreciate all the work it takes.
We had an unfortunate accident with one of our group, in another Italian town, and the front desk could not have been more helpful. All in all, a wonderful place to stay, enjoy being with family and friends, recoup, strike out to all of Tuscany, and to get to know something of how wonderful the Italian people are.
We would all go back in an New York Minute! Hooray for Petrolo, their wine, olive oil and honey!

Room Tip: Next to the kitchen,, the best. The walls are very thick, so noise is not a problem. All rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank marilyn f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Petrolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petrolo

Address: Via Petrolo 30, 52021 Mercatale Valdarno, Bucine, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Bucine > Mercatale Valdarno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Mercatale Valdarno
Price Range: $134 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petrolo owns lovely farm holiday houses and an XVIII century Villa ideal for large groups, events and celebrations. Petrolo is in the south-eastern side of the Chianti hills and dominates the panorama of the Valdarno valley. Between 30 to 50 km from Florence, Siena and Arezzo, Petrolo is placed in an area full of charm, the ideal base for discovering Tuscan renowned history, art, food and wine. Perfect location to relax soaking-in the unaffected natural comfort of our countryside, among vineyards and olive groves, maybe diving in our swimming pools or getting to the near Thermal Baths. Petrolo is a winery passionately producing award-winning wines and organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil. Landmark of the estate is the medieval watchtower of Galatrona while precious renaissance works by Giovanni Della Robbia can be found in the old Parish Church of Galatrona, facing Villa Petrolo. We are pleased to offer to our guests a visit of our winery with tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Petrolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Di Petrolo Hotel Mercatale Valdarno
Petrolo Mercatale Valdarno, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing