We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveler rating
57
3
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
3
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful placelovely poololive oilmany thanksfarmhouselaurawineswinerytowerestatevillavignamarcotastingcharmweekguests
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 61 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed five nights at Petrolo in the Vigna house as part of our 3 week vacation through Italy and France. Our family of seven voted Vigna house our favorite location and the first place we would come back to visit again. The house is situated in the middle of an olive grove with beautiful views of the Tuscan countryside out each of the many windows. The five bedrooms comfortably accomadated 5 adults and 2 teens w/ multiple bathrooms and showers. Marco and Nada supplied us with information on the nearby villages and restaurants, power cord adapters and other miscellaneous needs. They were very responsive to our requests and quite friendly. The set up a tour of the Petrolo winery and referred us to someone who provided a Tuscan cooking lesson in our Vigna kitchen. The kitchen is well supplied and spacious enough to cook a 4 course Italian meal from scratch for seven people. We cooked daily at the house.

The location is very convenient as it is about 45 minutes from Florence and Sienna and 30 minutes from Arezzo.

The farmhouse is old, though clean and well maintained. When we had a problem with the water supply in one of the bathrooms, Marco was out soon to remedy the situation. There is a weathered picnic table outside that was the sight of our breakfasts and dinners - quiet, peaceful w/ spectacular views. The breezes that blow though the house are great. We needed to set doorstops up in many of the doors as the wind coming up the hillside fills the house with refreshing breeze.

The pool is about 50 meters from the Vigna house and is shared w/ the Ferriale house next door. Very lovely, just had to watch out for the wasps that like to drink from the pool. Marco was headed out to deal with them as we were leaving.

Overall, this house is a great value with a convenient location. It is a farmhouse (built in the 19th century) so don't expect luxury appointments. It is a clean, comfortable and spacious Tuscan country home. We hope to return to Petrolo Vigna house in the not distant future.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesmmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Villa is OK inside and matches the photos online, but does appear quite run down. We had several problems while we were there, fridge door falling off, leaking showers, loos that would flush properly, no ironing board and a cooker that wasn't designed for 10 and seems to cook by candle power!
I was there with my extended family which included 2 children and we were shocked when we arrived as the downstairs apartment is being used as a work/ building storage area and looks a complete wreck from outside.

There is no internet point at the villa only up at the main house, about 300m walk uphill on a dirt road, which was really inconvenient as we wanted to research the local area.

Beautiful area and pool is lovely, staff were quite helpful, but I don't think it was great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FerryGirl4512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petrolo, Front Office Manager at Petrolo, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2010

Dear Ferrygirl,
Thanks for leaving us your comments that are always appreciated although I feel compelled to leave an answer.
We are always very willing to meet any demands from our guests and solve any problems may occur during any stay which we always keep highly in consideration.
Our farmhouse Vigna is keeping its original rural country character yet very much connected to the local famers lifestyle were the storage shed is still used to guarantee the work in the fields.
We are sorry if you didn't feel the house as comfortable as you were expecting and would have run to cover any inconvenience if we had've been warned.

-Indoors the house keeps its original country character. We have been doing some renewals on the house and bathrooms in the past, making it more comfortable. Extra space was added to the kitchen which is fully equipped.
-Iron board is provided, I understand it may not have been left in the house then, probably we wanted to change it, but as we are very willing to be helpful, if known we would have promtly given one.
- Except our main Villa,our farmhouses are advertised with free internet access only at 200mt from the house, not inside. We have decided to put internet access there were it's more accessible from all our different properties.

Please be assured we'll gladly answer any other comments on need.
we always remain at your disposal,
Regards,

Marco
Tenuta di Petrolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2008

We rented the villa Petrolo with 24 guests for a week for our wedding in April.

The villa and some of the people who run it are featured in Jamie Oliver's "Jamie's Italy" cookbook. The villa itself is huge.. perhaps a little run down but that's part of the character. It was very comfortable and the facilities were good.

The estate produces olive oil and wine, both of which are made available to the guests.

The location is great for exploring Tuscany.. a good central location between Florence, Arezzo, Siena, and the Chianti hills.

The people really make it though... Marco and Nada went out of their way to help us during the stay as well as organising a wedding reception with little more than half a dozen emails and half an hour sitting down with the cook... the food was amazing and a bargain too.

Also.. we found and booked the villa through another website (which I will not name) which listed hundreds of villas available for rent in Tuscany, and which had obscured the real name and instead called it "Villa Petra"... no doubt to stop you googling it and finding the estate's own website. It was only afterwards we discovered its real name and website. If were booking it again I would do it direct on Petrolo's website and avoid the middle man as they did not reply to my emails once they had taken our deposit.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NickD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2007

Had a wonderful time staying at Costa on the Fattoria Petrolo estate. House was beautiful and welcoming. Views were gorgeous, and behind the house and up a STEEP hill is a historic tower you can climb and see an even more amazing view. Centrally located between Florence, Sienna, and the wine region to the South- @ 45 min.s in any direction. It is about a half hour walk down into the local small town, and you can even take a train from Florence or Rome to the station in Mercatale/Valdarno, and a taxi from there to the house (still recommended to rent a car somewhere as it is isolated). Unfortunately did not have a chance to use the private pool, but spent every morning by its side sipping coffee, soaking in the sun, and planning the day's activities.

Management was incredible- doing whatever they could to make the stay a memorable experience. Also enjoyed the excellent wine they make on premises. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Robert004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2004

The house is part of a winery estate, Petrolo.

They have several rentals ranging from 4 people to 20+ in the main villa. We rented “Fierele I” for 1400 Euros (plus 13 Euro per person cleaning fee) which was the top floor of one of the houses – had 5 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms as well as a large kitchen/dining room and a separate living room. It was in a remote part of the estate reached by a dirt road. There was an apartment on the ground floor that was vacant during our visit and another rental next door – but we only saw the next door people once during our visit. The house was rustic (i.e. not very fancy but had everything we needed), kitchen well supplied with equipment and a small refrigerator.
We especially enjoyed the area around the house – vineyards, a small “forest” and a pond. There was also a swimming pool although most of us just sat next to it as it was still pretty cold in May.

The estate is 5 min from Mercatale a small town with a small grocery store, fruit/veg stand, butcher and a bakery.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank S_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews