We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would I go again? I CERTAINLY WOULD”
Review of Hotel Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Caribe
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castelletto
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked with National holidays to go to Lake Garda. We did not which hotel we were staying in until we got on the coach. I had been doing some research on trip advisor and noted 2 hotels National had used in Lake Garda. One with good reviews and the Hotel Caribe with bad reviews so I feared the worst when were told we were going to the hotel Caribe. I am doing this review because I think it is important that anyone reading reviews gets a honest assessment. This is mine. The hotel was great. Clean rooms with fantastic views. Cleaned every day with clean towels. the TV's DO have English channels, BBC1 BBC2 and CNN news. The staff could not be any better than what they were. Helpful, friendly, and very focused on the needs of there guests. The standard, choice, and type of food that was available, and the service of it, in my opinion could have been better.There was a cold salad bar were you helped yourself and included on it were the only vegatables available at meal times . For example brussell sprouts, cauliflower, carrots and leeks. All cold, needless to say not many were eaten. Having said that there was hot soup every night, 2 pasta's, and usually 1 type of meat e.g turkey with fried potatoes. I never went hungry and really enjoyed this part of the meal. Also the service could have been more fluent and the sweet was served late every night. The young lady who served in the bar needs a special mention because she was fantastic. Overall great holiday. Thanks to a great crowd on the bus, the drivers Mark, and Terry with his wide range of informative knowledge and sense of humour, and to all the staff at the Hotel Caribe for making it a special holiday to remember. Now for some practical info for the journey. There are no kettles in the rooms so if you like a cuppa when you first get up, take a travel kettle. Also your overnight bags you take to use in the hotel in France on the first night and on the return jourey home is packed in the coach boot until you reach the hotel in France so you can pack drinks and snacks in there for the onward journey from France. You can also buy certain cold drinks on the coach. If you get the chance, go, and hope they are going to the hotel Caribe. One final thing if they do a optional trip to Verona it is worth paying the money to go.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to have a great lake view Third floor is the top floor
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Travlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Caribe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 281 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

As part of a wonderful National Holidays trip to Lake Garda and Venice we had a lovely stay at the Hotel Caribe. Our room was clean, warm and comfortable, with a balcony overlooking lake Garda.The room was cleaned daily and the food was great and plentiful. There was a wait to be served between courses which we think is a nice relaxed way to eat but some guests were a little impatient, Nevertheless the staff remained cheerful and polite throughout the complaints. The young woman who served our drinks at the bar was particularly delightful and the bar prices were very reasonable. It was a great holiday; we had two fantastic coach drivers and our trips were very enjoyable. We would recommend this trip it was grand!

Room Tip: from what we could tell all rooms are good
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wendy1953186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in march with national holidays the weather was cold but did not spoil our holiday, the food was alright pleanty of it, and hotel staff were pleasant, rooms were cleaned daily towels and sheets also changed every day, the trips were really good and venice is a deffinete must do, our coach drivers uncle fester(terry) and carol(marc) were the best so funny and kept us well informed of all places we travelled, eeeeeyyyy they were really funny, highly recommend this trip with national holidays one word PERFECT

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sortieyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

stayed here with national holidays for my honeymoon.basil fawlty runs this place.got here late on the first night but credit to the staff they stayed and cooked for us.next morning all the national travellers were sat 8 to a table whilst the german tourists had there own tables (2 to a table).this didnt bother all the english because we were all having a laugh whilst the germans were as miserable as sin.food on the second night was a shambles.we sat down for dinner at 7 o clock and didnt recieve our starter till 7.45.our free bar started at 8 and we wasnt missing out on that so as soon as ourmain arrived we ate that and went to the bar.the trips run by national took us to venice,garda town and malcesine and were fantastic.chris and wayne the drivers were hilarious and contributed to the enjoyment of our trip.im not going to slag the hotel off because all we could do was laugh at the way it was run.would definitely reccomend this trip because national dont usually stay here but if they do again..........................you cant help but laugh

Room Tip: most rooms are lake view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

After two long days of travel we arrived at hotel caribe only to be told "no room at the inn" so after two attemps at placing us we finally had a room apiece 2k from hotel 12.30.am 3 hours after arriving.fourth day given rooms in caribe.service in resteraunt worse than disgusting. 45min wait for starter.did not wait for main meal. to angry.same on second night.noticed all Germans waited on hand and foot.English ignored at best drivers deliberately ignored.staff in reception and bar great.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank driver261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were doing a bit of research before travelling and it seems that National Holidays normally use the Virgillio Hotel and the Caribe is a back up. The driver also said that it was unfortunate that we were staying there! How right he was.

We were on our honeymoon after marrying the week earlier and had requested through National Holidays that we have a balcony room. I know nothing is guaranteed but it’s not much to ask for such a special occasion. The request was not even of the check in reception sheet. 2 couples we travelled with very kindly offered us their room which had a stunning view of the lake.

The hotel is situated right on the lake with stunning views but you could not get anywhere by foot. We walked an hour in one direction as was told there was a small town but we never found it. There were no bars or shops anywhere near so you are pretty much reliant on the hotel so it is a good job that the excursions were planned.

Now the biggest disgrace was the way the British were treated compared to the Germans. It was like we were 2nd class citizens. We could not believe what we were seeing. We were grouped onto tables of 8 people at the back of the restaurant with no views of the stunning lake yet the German guests had tables for 2 at the windows. They had service first whilst we had to wait, had leather menus when we had paper and were served differently (politely and professionally). Meals were thrown down and requests for drinks and service ignored. One guest asked for parmesan cheese for her pasta and was told no as they did not have it yet we later seen them collect a bowl from another table (you’ve guessed it, a German table).

Our driver kindly asked the head waiter if we could have a table for 2 as it was a special occasion and he reluctantly made us one up and told us we do not sit there tomorrow! The head waiter was very rude.

The gala night was a farce aswell. The Brits were politely queuing for a glass of Prosecco yet the German guests walked straight up to the front and the staff just served them with nothing said. The food was chosen for you on this evening and was pretty bad.

Food the other nights was ok but was pretty much the same meat with a different sauce each night. The pasta course was good. Continental breakfast was poor with very basic offering. No eggs or hot selection. I don’t expect an English breakfast but this wasn’t good at all. The coffee and the fresh bread made up for it!

The bar area was nice with plenty of seating inside and out but one bar lady on her own struggling to serve 50 people on an all inclusive basis! The ‘all inclusive’ isn’t what you would expect either with only wine, lager, tea, coffee and cola included. No spirits and only for 3 hours per evening for 3 evenings (we were there for 4). The restaurant cleverly took forever to serve which meant you lost 30 minutes of the ‘all inclusive’ bar anyway!

Overall, we really enjoyed our honeymoon especially as Lake Garda is gorgeous and the trip to Venice and but the hotel was a let down. I don’t moan unnecessarily and I am always fair on my reviews but this hotel could have been much better.

Do not go if you are British. National Holidays- take note and don’t let your guests stay here.

Room Tip: Say you are German!!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dannylang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

hotel booked as part of a national holidays trip. stayed there for 4 nights with my mum. beautiful views of the lake and surrounding mountains. facilities very clean but for some reason the double bed in our room was made from 2 singles put together!! waiters in hotel were reasonable (if a little slow) but their grasp of english was basic at best. food was not great as all vegetables were served stone cold!!! no allowances were made for vegetarians and choices were limited. no flexibility with meal times if we were late coming back from trips out. coffee, tea and other drinks were served from machines. no tea or coffee facilties in room either. furniture in room reminded me of student accomodation! nearest village was 2km away. beds were firm (maybe too firm for my tastes) and our balcony overlooked a flat roof!!!!!! female receptionist on duty was very rude and had a bad attitude problem. she wouldnt allow me to settle my bill for drinks until after dinner on the last night. so called Gala dinner on last night merely consisted of a free glass of wine before dinner and staff werent happy to discover that one of my fellow diners was a vegetarian and offered her fish as an alternative to the main meat course. however due to the price i paid for the holiday the hotel was ok. however i wouldnt go back there again.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the lake as the views are amazing!!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CGoodm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelletto
17.1 mi away
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#8 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
405 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel la Rotonda
Hotel la Rotonda
#1 of 1 in Gardola
220 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Rosmari
Hotel Rosmari
#19 of 29 in Brenzone
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hotel Ville Montefiori
Hotel Ville Montefiori
#19 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
502 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Brenzone
Hotel Brenzone
#2 of 29 in Brenzone
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Veronesi
Hotel Veronesi
#4 of 6 in Castelletto
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caribe

Address: Via Dante Alighieri 27 | Località Salto, 37010 Castelletto, Brenzone, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Brenzone > Castelletto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castelletto
Price Range: $74 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Caribe in Castelletto di Brenzone Gardalake. Hotel on the Gardalake stands in a delightful location opposite the lake. Nestled between an olive grove, sunny and sheltered from the winds. Offers ideal conditions for a wonderful holiday on Gardalake. The rooms are equipped with all comforts, private parking, garage, lake underpass for direct access to the beach, private pier. For sports enthusiasts there is the possibility of sailing, surfing, water skiing, mountain biking, tennis and paragliding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribe Brenzone/Castelletto, Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing