We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing & Tranquil Stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Part of the welcoming committee.. They are always on the look out for visitors and carrots!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Part of the welcoming committee.. They are always on the look out for visitors and carrots!!
Come join us...and relax :) 'Franks Cottage'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Part of the welcoming committee.. They are always on the look out for visitors and carrots!!
Come join us...and relax :)
'Franks Cottage'
A peek at the newly designed twin bedroom
Country kitchen - seating for 6 and looks out into the green fields. HIghchair also available
The road outside the cottage - perfect for a walk or a cycle
The other part of the welcoming committee enjoying a sunny day
Traffic :)
Shower room - with electric shower
Utility room - with washer/dryer, cleaning supplies and hi-vis vests!
Relaxing by the fire with a glass of wine and a dvd!
The cosy sitting room with wood burning stove (including a starter supply of turf from our bog)
The double bedroom is roomy enough to add a single bed or a cot or toddler bed!
Lovely snow....
Can you find the pot of gold at the end of this rainbow?
The loft area of the sitting room.
Beach at Louisburg, Co Mayo
Enniscrone
Cliffs of Moher, Co Clare....do-able as a long day out (2 1/2 - 3 hour drive) well worth the visit
Strokestown Gardens
Beach at Enniscrone
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Charlestown, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
12annemar...
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing & Tranquil Stay”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed in this beautiful little cottage as a group of 4 friends. Our stay was perfect. From the homemade scones on arrival to the little touches around the cottage. We booked here to unwind,relax and to catch up with each other and also to celebrate a birthday. The beds were so comfortable with everyone having a great nights sleep. The peace and quiet is unreal here. We used the cottage as a based to travel across to Westport and Achill and after a long drive back we were able to unwind and relax. We also made two new friends the Donkeys. We loved everything about this cottage and it's home from home feel. It is fully stocked with cutlery and utensilies which allows you to cook up a storm. Shower is fab and the whole place is just lovely. Thank you and hopefully we get to visit here again from Wicklow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. It's great to hear that not only did you enjoy your stay but that you used it as a base to explore all tnat Co Mayo has to offer. We hope you will visit again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonSte...
Stevenage
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Peace and rest.”
Reviewed January 6, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

What I loved about Franks cottage was the peace and quiet of the setting. The cottage is equipped with everything you need to have a home from home.
The bed even has an electric blanket to make it extra cosy. With the radio on and the fire keeping us warm and relaxed we enjoyed eating the homemade soda bread and marmalade. The nearest shop/ pub is at the end of the road approximately 2 miles away. My favourite part of the stay was the arrival of the two donkeys Chop and Sugar in the morning. They were a delight as was our stay here too!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that the cottage was just what you needed! We look forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2016
Thank you Elaine for the lovely review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
flowerbom...
1 review
“Loved every bit off my stay in franks cottage”
Reviewed July 21, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

Had a lovely time here such a fab part of the country,if its quiet time you are looking for this is this place not far from nearest town loads to do.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesBl...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent - clean, nicely furnished, welcoming, homey”
Reviewed December 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A beautiful holiday cottage in a rural location. The cottage is beautifully furnished, clean, comfortable and well equipped. The booking process was efficient, the owner very welcoming and helpful. We had a wonderful visit to Ireland.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melodye H
Rileyville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“let down”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Frank's Cottage, I expected more from the reviews. The donkey's Chip and Sugar were sweet as well as the horse Billy. By far the best part of the stay. The living room furniture has a smell to them. The beds were hard, with just a comforter. They say towels are included, 2 towels for 2 people for 1 week is not enough. There was mold around the shower stall, a drip in the toilet, the sink drainer in the kitchen was just nasty, and were the sponges. We made sure to wash the dishes before using. The kitchen sink not very clean, and stained. The heat was controlled, 3 hours in the am and 3 hours in the pm. ( Which was ok since we were gone most of the day.) Overall my daughter and I were very disappointed. For the price of the rent, the cottage should be much more inviting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The animals
Liked least: the smell of the living room furniture and towels (rough as a cobb)
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2015
Thank you for your review and I am very sorry you felt "let down" by the property. We take all our reviews very seriously and will address each issue you raised.

The beds are good quality mattresses and come with duvets (which is customary ) as well as electric blankets. There are also blankets in the blanket box.

In Ireland moat homes and hotels would have heating on a timer for a specified number of hours. There was a wood burning stove and Seamus gave you an unlimited free supply of turf, which you utilised.

In each of the two bedrooms there were two sets of towels. If you needed more, you could have asked or washed in the machine as you did with your other items. There were two unused towels left in the cottage.

With regard to the cleaning I am assured that the property was clean. The bathroom shower mold was painted overy as the stain will not come out.

Seamus was next door to the property and would have been more than willing to assist with any concern's you had. We are sorry to hear after the fact of your difficulties. In our information booklet we include an invitation to contact us if anything isn't to your satisfaction. We hope you will come back know another time.

We are happy you enjoyed the animals!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xErin0309...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed September 10, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Myself, my partner and our wee girl recently stayed at Frank's Cottage for a couple of days. We loved every minute of it, our wee girl loved the donkeys and the horse!
During our stay we visited Clew Bay near Westport which was lovely - the beach was gorgeous and the water was so clear.
We would definetely recommend this cottage and hope to be back some time in the future for a second visit!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing