We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well balanced price performance ratio”
Review of Kast Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kast Guesthouse
Muenchen
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Well balanced price performance ratio”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Kast Guesthouse at Snaefellsnes. The whole location is simple, nice and new. Our room was quite spacious and comfortable. You have wifi access in the main building and they have their own hot pot. The breakfast buffet is sufficient and good. Furthermore the view on the ocean is beautiful. We would stay again at this guesthouse on our next trip to Iceland.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrickMuenchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    39
    24
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

New, clean accommodation. Don't miss an opportunity to buy their bread - the best in Iceland !!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EliB964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stopped here for the night and were not disappointed!!! The rooms were super clean, the price was reasonable, and the food delicious. The owner was very helpful in giving us directions and advice for hiking in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trufflestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Stayed there one night on tour throughout Iceland. This is a motel with little charm but is clean and located in convenient area for sites. The biggest disappointment was that we requested and paid extra for a three-person room. The room was really meant for two. It was not possible for person furthest from door to get out of room without stepping on another bed.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank olgajane50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Wow! My friend and I had our own rental car and were out for a drive to check out the Snaefellsnes Peninsula. We decided to call it a day and saw a sign for the Kast Guesthouse. We stopped in and asked for "sleeping bag" accommodations since we had our own sleep gear with us. The price was good and the room had an ensuite toilet and shower. We spent an hour or so in the rustic hot tub in the horse pasture nearby. It was cold outside, but the water was SUPER warm. The host was lovely. We asked him quite a few questions about the area and the culture. He had made a delicious soup for dinner. And he pointed out a few nice areas for short hikes. I would most definitely stay here again if I were in the neighborhood!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RunsAmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is a brand new place (opened 2011) in the middle of the countryside on the Snæfellsnes peninsula (west Iceland). Just drive along highway 54 and it's clearly signposted. The whole place is painted white (even inside the rooms), so it easy to spot from a distance. The rooms are quite basic and small, really just beds and a bathroom (en suite) - but it's excellent value for money (especially at Icelandic prices). There's no TV, but you can get wireless internet. There is a central restaurant where they serve a nice breakfast and optional dinner. The place has a few technical flaws (e.g. toilet seats coming undone), but the owners seem to be working hard to fix these things before the next season.

The surroundings themselves (generally treeless) are quite beautiful. You can easily start walking to the mountain (there's a nice waterfall at the base) which is literally just behind the hotel. It is a very rural location, so you'd need a car if you need to do shopping (closest villages are Búðir and Vegamót). From the front you can see the sea in the distance. There is apparently a swimming pool in a nearby building, but we arrived too late in the summer and it was closed. They have outdoor hot tubs (geothermally heated), but they are not luxurious. In fact, they are made of rather rough concrete... but they are quite warm. So, if you are adventurous you can go to the hot tub at midnight (it is never locked) and lay back and look at the stars and the mountains.

I would recommend this place for families. It is an excellent base of exploration for west Iceland. Snæfellsjökull mountain (the big one) is just a short drive away, and there are some very nice towns and villages, and numerous walking trails.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snaefellsbaer
5.5 mi away
Hotel Budir
Hotel Budir
#1 of 1 in Budir
669 reviews
14.5 mi away
Fosshotel Hellnar
Fosshotel Hellnar
#1 of 1 in Hellnar
451 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Framnes
Hotel Framnes
#1 of 1 in Grundarfjorour
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Langaholt
Langaholt
#1 of 1 in Snaefellsbaer
137 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel Olafsvik
Hotel Olafsvik
#1 of 1 in Olafsvik
131 reviews
3.6 mi away
Guesthouse Hof
Guesthouse Hof
#2 of 4 in Snaefellsbaer
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kast Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kast Guesthouse

Property: Kast Guesthouse
Address: Lysudalur, Snaefellsbaer 356, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Snaefellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Snaefellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the quiet countryside of the Snæfellsnes Peninsula, this family-run guest house is 45 minutes’ drive from Stykkisholmur town centre. It offers free Wi-Fi everywhere, along with an on-site restaurant and bar. The bright, simply decorated rooms at Kast Guesthouse all have wooden floors and views of the surrounding nature (mountains or ocean). Guests can choose rooms with either private or shared bathroom facilities. Communal areas include a TV lounge and furnished, outdoor terrace with a BBQ. Guesthouse Kast staff arranges fishing licenses, as well as horse riding tours and hiking trips. A swimming pool with naturally carbonated geothermal water is just 1 minute away, while Snæfellsjokull National Park is 30 minutes from the property. Reykjavik is a 2-hour drive away. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kast Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kast Guesthouse Iceland/Snaefellsbaer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing