We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Nearby Hotels
Viola's Place(Lowlands)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,533)
Filter reviews
1,533 results
Traveler rating
616
488
248
111
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
616
488
248
111
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatlantic sidethe fine dining restaurantrobinson crusoepigeon pointpiano barmain poolevening buffettobago plantationssalaka grillfree shuttlemagdalena grandhalf boardocean frontswim up bartennis courtsall inclusive packagelocal dishes
Filter
Updating list...
892 - 897 of 1,533 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2014

If budget is important to you, do not book from the hotel but rather use a booking web site. The hotel do not charge your credit card until you check in and then at the currency rate at the time of check in. If this hotel has a regular all inclusive package that would be great, dinner was very expensive. I must say if you're looking for beach don't be fooled by the beach in name of hotel. It's not a bathing beach but the atlantic choppy water was not usable. But I must say the free breakfast was great, scrumptious and enjoyable. For this I thank the management of Magdalena for the complimentary breakfast. The rooms are big and airy, clean, please you could put a bottle of complimentary water in the empty fridge. I like the place but would only go back if they have a usable beach front and inclusive service. Hollis at the front desk was very patient as he listened to my complaints about having to pay at check in when I thought I had payed already at time of booking at which my credit card company is charging me for TT currency exchange. Magdalena no good on that.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBlessing2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. It is always wonderful to hear from our past guests and to learn of their experience with us.
We wish to advise that while we are on the Atlantic side of the island, which means that depending on the season which you visit, the water can be a bit rougher than others, we also offer a complimentary shuttle service to Pigeon Point Beach twice daily.

We are also pleased to provide our guests with a choice of 4 restaurants to chose from to dine. So whatever your budget or taste we are certain we can cater to your needs.
We also offer an All Inclusive Option should you prefer.

At the time of booking your confirmation letter would have stated exactly that we simply hold the card until arrival. We do apologize if you were not aware of this.

It was a pleasure to be of service to you and we hope that we can have the opporuntiy in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This visit was part of a business retreat -and the second since the hotel was renovated. While the last visit was very good, on this visit changes were observed- for the better. Quality of service was excellent . Though a little slow in the dining room at peak periods ,the staff were helpful, courteous, friendly and engaging . This applied throughout the hotel. The majority of staff encountered had a friendly greeting at every encounter and the level of staff training appears to have made a quantum leap.

The room was comfortable and spacious. Its distance from the main lobby was actually a positive as it created a sense of privacy. In fact that is one of its advantages and strong points- it never feels crowded, and the further away the room the greater the chance of having a satellite pool to oneself.

The food was always good although on some days it outdid itself in variety and quality. Unable to say whether value for money but any package which includes breakfast would be worth considering. The conference facilities were spacious and workable.

With the added free internet, and staff addressing any minor issue ,there was nothing to complain of ,and a lot to enjoy. This would be my pick of hotels for a short comfortable business or vacation visit to Tobago.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms can be far from the lobby. If this is an issue then let the reception staff know.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. It was a pleasure to be of service and we look forward to welcoming you soon again. Hopefully this time for vacation only. We are also happy to advise that all our rooms come with full buffet breakfast! See you soon!
Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel located within the beautiful Tobago Plantations. The grounds are well-maintained and the service at the hotel is excellent. The staff are super friendly and helpful and go out of their way to accomodate you, which is a rarity in Tobago, given its poor reputation for service. The breakfast buffet was very good and had a wide variety, which they changed every day, so you were never bored of eating the same thing. The buffet on evenings was also excellent. The pool is wonderful to swim in and had warm water which was a big plus for me! I didn't swim in the beach, which seemed bery rough, but it was lovely to go for walks along it.The bar service by the pool is also to be commended. My husband and I loved that we could go running through Tobago Plantations on evenings for exercise, as it is so scenic and relaxing. This hotel is definitely worth staying at.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We do hope that we can be of service to you soon again. Warm wishes until we meet again.

Regards,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a super week at Magdalena Grand. First and foremost we found everyone we were in contact with very helpful and friendly; Robyn, Ricardo, Kiel and Ana being just a few. We stayed on an all inclusive package, via BA, which worked well for us. It was slightly irksome to be asked to sign bills, which may have been required for internal control purposes. The staff displayed varying levels of competence with the billing system. That said, there was certainly no problem or disputes about supplementary payments when we checked out. There were water outages for two periods. The hotel circulated an explanatory note about this. I was ill on one of the days (I'm not attributing this to the hotel) and was particularly anxious about the lack of water on that occasion. The only other issue was a mixed experience at the golf course. With green fees, club hire and cost of buying some balls and tees (we took our own shoes), it was quite expensive. The overall experience did not meet our expectations. But for these issues, I'd have given an overall "Excellent"rating. To conclude on some more positives, there's some interesting wildlife and birds around the resort. we bought a book of local birds from the hotel shop and enjoyed doing a bit of light bird spotting. The business centre was available to us to print off our boarding passes and the wi-fi of good quality and reliable.The lunchtime entertainment jazz singer on Sunday evening were both excellent and seeing the pelican diving for fish as the sun came up and the evenings will be a lasting memory.

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe room with a larger bed. No room is more than a couple of minutes walk from the beach or facilities.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobsoundgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind compliments and taking the time to share your experience with us, and the rest of the world.

Thank you also for mentioning our team members who helped to make your stay more memorable. We are very proud of all of them and would be sure to pass along your comments to them.

We do aologize for the inconvenience with regards to the water supply. This was an island wide problem at the time, however we were pleased to ensure a steady supply of water to the resort, with minimum interruptions.

It was a pleasure to be of service to you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you soon again in the near future.

Warm and sunny wishes,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Choose this hotel to stay at for Tobago Jazz weekend. Although it was far from the jazz venue, it was great. The hotel was comfortable and the surroundings were fabulous. The pool was very nice, one level throughout for non-swimmers like myself. The beach not so good on that side though but the pool made up for that. Buffet breakfast and dinner was fantastic with a wide variety of food and desserts. The bartender at the pool bar was very helpful in assisting us with drinks selection. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blue64TrinidadWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for selecting our resort for your stay during the Tobago Jazz Experience!

It was a pleasure to be of service and we look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews