We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had an amazing time at the Magdalena Grand.
Loved the sea views & breeze off the ocean, never got tired of it.
The Rooms were huge & very clean,(housekeeping every other day) had a few problems with air-con but they were sorted immediately.
Food was amazing - such a variety even at breakfast, English, American & local (different things on each day). Kiev makes the BEST omelettes though :). Lots of new food (even shark) was cooked to perfection.
Choice of restaurant in the evening WOW! we never had a bad meal & portions are not small.
Cannot thanks the staff enough! My husband is disabled & they looked after him brilliantly. Thanks you Ainka & Misty for making us feel at home.
All-inclusive is excellent value & WE WILL BE RETURNING :)
if you check their site, everything is exactly as it states, which was surprising.
THANKS YOU STEVE FOR ALL YOUR HELP.
exchange rates change daily but we had 10$TT to £1 so was easy to work out cost.
when out you must use the free shuttle to pigeon point heritage park, its run from the hotel twice a day 9 & 11 returning to hotel 2 & 4 every day. this gives you another beach to try & even a glass bottomed boat trip into the Caribbean sea & a chance to STAND (yes stand) in the middle of it at a place called the nylon pool - its amazing & a must for everyone visiting the island.

Room Tip: if you have mobility issues ask for room near lobby as everything runs off that
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review with us. We love to hear when our guests have experienced the island's natural beauty, as you have. The Nylon Pool is one of our favorite places and a definite must to anyone visiting the island!

We look forward to welcoming you soon again to our side of paradise!

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    430
    223
    101
    62
See reviews for
413
587
37
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I had a really lovely time at Magdalena Grand. Would definitely return. Me and my 2 cousins enjoyed every minute of it, Omg the breeze is amazing but that's my only problem it makes the pool cold. I know there's nothing you could do about that! Breakfast was good thanks to Olivia made it special. Hoping there's a repeaters discounts for locals because it's the best In tobago and would love to return with my family members.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bajnathria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share you wonderful reviews with us!
It was a pleasure to be of service!

We always have wonderful offers. Please feel free to contact us at reservations@magdalenagrand.com to find out more about our specials to help you plan your next visit.

We remain at your service.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

PROS:
1) Welcome drink
2) Friendly bellboy- Kerry
3) Awesome, most friendly, fantastic breakfast staff- Camille, Sueann, Olivia, Emmanuel
4) After complaining about the remote room, we were placed in a really nice room with a great seaview from private balcony... the breeze was veryyy relaxing and calming!
5) Great housekeeping staff- friendly and kept rooms very very clean and smelling nice
6) Complimentary delicious Birthday cake for my mom's birthday- only after Ria Rowley (NOT HOLLIS) organized it for us (thanks Ria)
7) Hardworking security staff- always walking or driving about to ensure all is safe
8) Gym is really nice
9) Hardworking poolboy and pool staff- pools and surroundings were always very clean
10) Very friendly operations manager, Steve- tried making everyone, regardless of skin colour, feel comfortable

CONS:
1) Unfriendly check in/ front desk person- Hollis
2) We were placed in a remote room, far far away from civilisation- the main lobby and even the car park. Kerry had to come pick us up with lil cart to carry us to main lobby to have dinner.
3) Food and Beverage NIGHT staff are the absolute worsttt!!!!! especially Anderson and Kerline aka Ms Piggy.... bad image for the hotel!!!
4) Pub staff- colonial like
5) Locals and blacks are not treated properly compared to the light skinned people by the majority of staff!!! Furthermore, they are segregated!!!
6) Compound is very very dark... my mom stumbled and fell on the stairs!!!!
7) The sauna needs a facelift
8) The amenities according to room description are not in the room when you arrive. You have to demand it!
9) Food is very expensive.... it's cheaper to rent a car and buy out

Room Tip: High floor has a better view. Ask for a room near the main lobby and main pool, won't have to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winky200878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to share your review with us. Thank you for the positive points mentioned, as well as the negative notes shared. We are truly sorry that your experience did not exceed your expectations of the Magdalena Grand. Rest assured all your comments have been forwarded to our management team and we will be looking into each one.

We are pleased to state that our resort offers all oceanfront rooms, however we do not have many stories as other hotels, which means our rooms extend along the coast line. Due to this the walk to the main lobby may seem a bit far to some, but we have ensured that each area has their own pool and various activites at either end, such as the dive center and tennis courts. We are also happy to provide a complimentary pick up via golf buggy for those who request this.

We also comply with all safety standards and ensure our property is well-lit with adequate hand rails and bars. We are sorry to hear that your mom fell along the way, but we are certain our security team / first aiders were there to assist her during her time of need.

It is also very disappointing that you were led to believe that there is a difference in the level of service depending on a person's skin colour. We can assure you that this is not the case, nor do we segregate our guests. There are certainly no areas where this takes place, especially when most of our team members are of a darker complexion, and a great many of our guests are from Trinidad.

We are truly sorry that we were not able to provide you with the Grand experience that is typical at the Magdalena Grand. However, we hope to have another opportunity to be of service and offer the quality of customer service that we are known for. Please let us know of your return visit and we will ensure it is a memorable one.

We remain at your service.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed on AI basis and was pleasantly surprised by the value that this represented, particularly if you dine in the a la carte restaurants for dinner. Staff were - in the main - incredibly helpful and pleasant. And if you have any problems, just ask for Steve (the relatively new-to-this-hotel Operations Manager who was always available). Our room was perfectly fine - view of the beach/sea, super-efficient air conditioning, reasonably spacious, simply decorated. Breakfast had a good selection that was changed a little each day, and it was particularly pleasant to have breakfast outside and drink your coffee while watching pelicans dive into the sea and frigates gliding overhead.

While you're there, grab one of the free bikes and have a cycle around the resort - with a bit of patience you'll spot the caimans in the various ponds (they are definitely there) as well the odd iguana, lots of different herons, and even the occasional osprey.

The local beach is not as dirty as suggested by an earlier review - yes, there is stuff washed up but I've seen far worse in other island destinations (e.g. Dominican Republic). Hit the beach, turn left and just keep walking till you get to a spot you like. In any event, there is the free shuttle to Pigeon Point (2 out-bound and 2 return trips per day), and the beaches on the Caribbean coast are only a short taxi ride away (about £10 each way for the likes of Grafton Beach or Turtle Beach) .

Did scuba diving with the on-site dive team. Okay, there was an element of 'Tobago time' happening, which if you're a clock-watcher will cause you a bit of stress, but the dives were well organised, the kit was good, and - if you're new to diving or have had a break from it for a while - their practice pool is fabulous!

The one thing I'd warn against is the currency exchange at the hotel. The rate we got was 8.5 Dominican dollars to one pound sterling, when the real rate is closer to 10 - 10.5; so that represents a bit of a rip off at a margin of 15 to 20%! So change your money before you go over or do it at a bank when you get there.

All in all, not sure whether we'll be back in Tobago anytime soon, but would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomeOrAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us. It was indeed a pleasure to be of service to you. We admit that 'Tobago Time' is something some people find it hard to get used to, but it's important to remember that here in the Caribbean we like to take things slow and enjoy the simple pleasures of life. We encourage people to relax and unwind and just let the word go by. It's one of our charms :) We are delighted that you had the opportunity to visit us, and we hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

My experience at Magdalena was epic. I carried my friend for breakfast and it was his birthday. The team which included Valerie, Carle, Gissel, Theresa and Sueann made this day so wonderful. I would recommend anyone to this resort and i will surely return!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and for choosing the Magdalena Grand to celebrate such a special occassion. We were delighted to be of service and look forward to celebrating many more wonderful occassions with you! Visit us soon again!
Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

So Magdalena is a bit pricey for what they actually offer.

Perks: Breakfast included, partial sea view, bathtub and shower, seemingly nice facilities

Cons: A little far (but if you're from Trinidad, you'll come to know nothing is really 'far' in Tobago), sea blast floors, sea blast beds, small bathroom, far walk to the room, TOO MUCH WIND.

Here goes:

ROOM:
At first glance, Magdalena is this sprawling hotel, with an amazing pool deck. I should state there are two pools, the main one and the adults only pool which was located almost right outside our room. After checking in, we went to our room which even though we drove to the end of the car park, was still a good walk. On entering the room, it seemed small. Two double beds as requested, but the floor was sticky with sea blast, and the outer quilt of the bed as well. The bathrooms, although they have a shower and bathtub, are small for this reason. The view from the room, room 175 to be exact was lovely I must say. It was a partial sea view and was very relaxing.

POOL:
Like I mentioned there are two pools, the main one and an adults only pool. While both are kept very well, I should just mention probably my biggest problem with Magdalena. THE WIND! I know because of where they are located, they cannot do anything about this, but oh my goodness. The wind makes it IMPOSSIBLE to enjoy any of the pools because it is freezing cold ALWAYS - morning, noon and night. I felt as though I was in Chicago walking along the sea front at night. Bring a cardigan or hoodie!

BREAKFAST:
Breakfast was lovely I must say. Not gourmet, but buffet. They keep it very well stocked until the very end, which I very much appreciated. Luiz the manager made an effort to greet everyone at breakfast, and asked if we used Tripadvisor - Hi Luiz!

Overall:
Room - 5/10
Facilities - 8/10 but because of inability to use them: 4/10
Breakfast - 7/10
Location - 6/10

Hope this helps everyone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lobby/main pool area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews with us. We know that some of our rooms may seem a bit far from the main lobby, however this is because our resort runs along the coastline to ensure each guest is given an oceanview from their room. We do offer a complimentary pick up via our buggy for those who request it.

Our property also offers 4 swimming pools, and not 2 as stated in your review. We do admit that being on the Atlantic coastline can be a bit windy, but we offer a complimentary shuttle service to Pigeon Point Beach twice daily to allow our guests the best of both sides of the island.

We hope that we can have the opportunity to welcome you soon again. We remain at your service.
Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Overrated hotel in bad location. Very overpriced. We were five in a suite paying more than 500 USD per night and they refused to give us beds for our 3 kids, just a sofa bed and a roll away. The hotel has a bad, windy and dirty public beach. You are forced to take a shuttle to Crown Point to find better beaches. The shuttle driver was kind only to people who paid him tips. Location is bad, far from everything else and you are hostage to the hotel drivers who overcharge for any trips e.g. 50 USD round trip to the nearest restaurant. Breakfast was included but no fresh juice, only concentrate and the people making the omelettes do not know how to cook. Hotel restaurants are extremely overpriced and pretentious. Personnel are in general unkind and unhelpful. They would not refund entrance to the falls when we took the around the island tour and they were too lazy to help me with my computer when I could not access VPN. I would not go back or recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Please request your room has beds! (ours hadn't, only a sofa!!) first time we experienced this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review with us.

It is quite unfortunate that we were not able to provide you with a memorable experience, and that dispite our staff's assistance we were unable to accommodate your family comfortably.

We would like to state that on making your reservation you were aware that you booked a One Bedroom Suite, which consisted of either one king sized bed and a pull out sofa bed. On arrival to your room you informed the bellman that you were not happy with the sleeping arrangements.

Our bellman then showed you the One Bedroom Suite with the two double beds and the pull out sofa bed. You informed our bellman that you wanted two Deluxe Rooms - one with a king bed and the other with two double beds - however since we were operating at high occupancy, we were unable to provide you with a room different from what you originally booked.

You then chose to stay in the One Bedroom Suite with one king bed and one pull out sofa bed, instead of the room with the two double beds and the sofa bed, even though this was made available to you. This was your selection, but we also offered the roll-away bed to assist with the sleeping arrangements of your family of five. This was the arrangement that you agreed to after our team showed you other options to accommodate your family.

It is unfortunate that your review states that you did not receive beds in your room, especially since the pull out sofa bed was made up to look like the bed, and we provided an additional roll-away bed for your family. We even offered and a room with an additional bed, which you declined. We are sorry that we could not have met your needs, but hope that you would allow us another opportunity to provide your family with a more memorable stay.

Thank you again for choosing the Magdalena Grand.

Warmest wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
4.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
3.2 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Property: Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing