We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent ambiance,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Trinidad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent ambiance,”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

This is the ideal resort for when you want to get away from business stress. You open your doors to the beautiful view of sea and coconut trees swaying in the wind, and sea sporting activities. Amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your short, but very sweet, comments!
It was a pleasure to be of service to you and we look forward to easing your stresses soon again!

Warmest wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    434
    229
    103
    63
See reviews for
420
595
37
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We loved this property - absolutely beautiful!

We did find that the front-desk staff was not always receptive or friendly but the bell boy was quick to get our luggage to our room.

The concierge was pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful.

We ordered room service to our room only once - misunderstanding - she thought we gave her another room number - we waited a fairly long time to get our meal...

We had breakfast included in our package - and I will say, we thought what they offered for the first meal - was absolutely wonderful - loved the fresh pineapple.

Because the property was so large - and our room was at the far end of the property - we found we 'walked' a lot to get where we wanted - next time, we would ask for a room facing the water and a little closer to everything.

The gift shops were nice too - not so touristry and the ladies were pleasant.

I loved the lady that serves the coffee in the coffee shop - she was just so pleasant and very interested in anything you had to say - very personable.

Privacy, if you want privacy and if you wanted to be around people, it was available.

All in all though, we were very happy with this hotel - it is truly beautiful!

Room Tip: Make sure that you have a room that is not at the far end of the property - other than that, the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate the time you took to share such a detailed review of your stay with us.
Since our resort does not offer many stories, the property streches out along the coastline, which may take some walking depending on the rooms you are in. Our bellmen would have been happy to shuttle you to your room via our buggies to ease the walking.
We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time and certainliy look forward to being of service to you soon again.
Warmest regards,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Magdalena is soo beautifullll!!! Check In was a breeze, the receptionist was not as pleasant as she should be but the bell boy was quick to cart us and our luggage to our room. Service was wonderful, other than the receptionist the staff were soo warm and welcoming, veryyy friendly and willing to assist, there is this one hostess who is at the pembois restaurant she assists with seating guests at breakfast time this woman was the absolute besttt I regret not getting her name.The food was great! Towels were plentiful at the time we were there. Our room was cleaned on time. My mini get away was the best ever!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. It was indeed a pleasure to be of service to you and we hope to welcome you soon again to our side of paradise.
Warm and sunny wishes from Tobago,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I have done a lot of traveling and visited the Carribean several times,however Tobago is by far my best experience! The Magdalena is a fabulous hotel,lovely secluded location on the Atlantic side of Tobago,great for the breeze,the beach was pleasant and the waves not too fierce,so we were able to go in the sea and explore the rock pools safely.
Every member of staff made our holiday so enjoyable, always polite.helpful,friendly, made an effort every day to ensure we were enjoying our holiday and took time to chat.Special mention to Ricardo on Guest Services who arranged our car hire and Stephanie from Robinson Crusoe Bar who chatted and refereed the children's pool game! Assistant hotel Manager Steve took time to chat to us throughout our stay.
We had a beautiful sea facing room,with a jacuzzi,serviced each day by our friendly maid.
We stayed on a half board basis,the food was excellent,with lots of variety,each night a different theme. A lovely relaxed atmosphere in beautiful surroundings.
Please ignor any bad reviews,this is probably one of the best hotels on the island and is definately worth a visit. We would certainly return.
Thank you to all the wonderful staff at the Magdalena.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 181,the end of the hotel block near the tennis courts, very quiet,nice walk along...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews with us. We do apologize for the wait at the beginning of your stay as we were quite busy and our bellmen were indisposed at the time. We are happy to hear that the rest of your stay was an enjoyable one and that our team members went the extra mile to ensure you have a wonderful stay. Thank you for also taking the time to mention them.
We do hope to welcome you soon again!
Warm wishes from Tobago!
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHAMP FLEURS NA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I decided to get away for my birthday. Three days Two nights at the Magdalena Grand in Plantations, with two of my best friends, on arrival check in was extremely easy, but we had a 25 minute wait for bell boy to cart us to our rooms. Didn't get our welcome drink. But the rest of our stay was relaxing and enjoyable, I had the Adult Only pool right outside my room, sea weed on the beach was cleaned everyday. Colin in Salaka Grill was incredibly helpful and fun. Ainka our server for breakfast was a breath of fresh air. Breakfast was amazing, a wide selection both healthy and spoilt. The chef makes omlets on the spot, different types breads, cheeses, meats, veggies and jams. The pools were great and clean. The staff was friendly. I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trini_Randy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for choosing the Magdalena Grand to celebrate your birthday.
We also appreciate that you mentioned a few of our team members who made your stay more memorable. We are truly proud of our team here! We will be sure to pass along your wonderful comments to them.
We do hope to welcome you soon again. If there is anything we can do to make your stay more memorable please do not hestate to let us know.

We remain at your service.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I spent 4 days at this hotel during a vacation period on the island last August. The food was awesome and deserves 5 stars. The service was not. I travelled with my grandchildren and their room was not cleaned for 2 days. Then, the hotel could not supply enough towels for the guests. When I complained to the manager, she really apologized and made amends. The building and surroundings were beautiful but the service was definitely not up to par. I do hope that the shortcoming has been rectified by now. Enjoy the food!

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms facing the ocean were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you for sharing your reviews from August 2013. I assure you since your last stay a lot has changed. Having opened in 2012, our August 2013 was our first expereince of the summer-vacationers, and we admit that we were not as prepared as we would have like to be. However, 8 months have since passed and we have done quite a lot to improve our services to our guests. We do hope that we would have the opportunity to be of service to you again and to welcome you back to our side of paradise.

We remain at your service.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The service we got at breakfast was excellent... We all felt like so at home here at Magdelena. Camille, Nadia, Anika and Olivia treated us like family... Can't wait to return.... Btw if you're looking to get the best Bentley made, you have to check out Colin...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Idrissma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to mention our team members. We will be sure to pass along your kind compliments to them.

It would be wonderful to welcome you soon again! If there is anything we can do to assist with your next visit please do not hesitate to let us know.

We remain at your service.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
4.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
244 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
3.2 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Property: Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing