We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Nearby Hotels
$99
$91
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$169
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$303
$273
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$135
$108
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$188
$149
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blue Haven Hotel(Bacolet Bay)
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Acajou Hotel(Grande Riviere)
$141
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mt Plaisir Estate Hotel(Grande Riviere)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,520)
Filter reviews
1,520 results
Traveler rating
607
484
248
111
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
484
248
111
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatlantic sidethe fine dining restaurantrobinson crusoepigeon pointpiano barmain poolevening buffettobago plantationssalaka grillfree shuttlemagdalena grandhalf boardocean frontswim up bartennis courtsall inclusive packagelocal dishes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
995 - 1,000 of 1,520 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Spent a week at this Resort, Location is great right on the beach, but be careful on the beach, water is very rough. Service is very slowwwww and poor, Restaurants are very very pricy for meals, around $60 US per person per meal. We went to Pigeon point to eat at night. Colours Restaurant and Coco Cafe prices are good. Always negotiate the taxi price before going to your destination.

Room Tip: most rooms face to ocean.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfranco4223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Our management team has taken your comments into consideration and have already begun to address the issues mentioned.

The Magdalena Grand is pleased to provide our guests with a selection of 4 dining options - Robinson Cruose Pub, Pembois Restaurant and Terrace, Kali'na, and Salaka Grill. These restaurants, with the exception of Pembois, offers an a la carte menu with prices starting from TT $45 / US $7.00.

While we are located on the Atlantic side of the island and the water is a bit choppy depending on the season you visit, the resort offers a complimentary shuttle service to Pigeon Point Beach where guests can enjoy the Caribbean side of the island, and visit areas such as the Buccoo Reef and the Nylon Pool.

We do hope that we would have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the near future and to provide you with the quality of service that is expected at the Magdalena Grand.

Best regards,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We had initially booked another hotel but due to a missed flight and other complications, we were left literally stranded at 1AM. With no place to stay, we called many places and everything was booked. We finally called Magdalena and were told to come right over. I can't say enough about this place. Our room was really nice with a view of the gardens and the ocean. The staff was very friendly and extremely accommodating. It was my husband's birthday and without even requesting anything, at breakfast he was brought a lovely glass of Champagne and a slice of cake with a candle. All the wait staff appeared and sang Happy Birthday to him. The main pool has a swim-up bar, overlooks the ocean and has a constant cool breeze. The breakfast buffet which was included with our room was really good with a large selection of breakfast and brunch items. Everything was very fresh and replaced at frequent intervals. We had dinner one night in their gourmet restaurant. Service was impeccable and the food was excellent. We do not ordinarily do buffets but due to lack of a reservation, we tried the dinner buffet one evening. Each night they have various themes and we went to the Seafood Buffet. Very well done with a huge assortment. The resort is beautiful, the staff is overly accommodating and I would highly recommend Magdalena for a romantic getaway to a vacation with children. Thy even have a large playground for the kiddies.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rm. 135. Nice ocean view, ground level, quiet but close enough to the main bldg. To be very convenient.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roe46412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! It was certainly our pleasure to be of service to you and your husband during your visit to Tobago.
We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was such a memorable one and that your husband enjoyed his birthday celebrations.
We look forward to your return in the near future and to celebrating many more special occassions with us!

Warmest regards,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Overall this place is nice but don't expect prompt service. I had to ask for face towels multiple times before getting any. They were not being replaced with daily house keeping services. Wifi in room doesn't always work. Maintenance is slow....our tub wouldn't drain well and we had to ask twice for this to be repaired. Front desk only answers phone about 50 percent Of the time. Breakfast buffet is good.

Sea is choppy on this side and no good place to snorkel.

We wish we would have stayed at coco reef even though it is more expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wood_jk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Our management team has taken your comments into consideration and have already begun to address the issues mentioned.

While we are located on the Atlantic side of the island and the water is a bit choppy depending on the season you visit, the resort offers a complimentary shuttle service to Pigeon Point Beach where guests can enjoy the Caribbean side of the island, and visit areas such as the Buccoo Reef and the Nylon Pool.

We do hope that we would have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the near future and to provide you with the quality of service that is expected at the Magdalena Grand.

Best regards,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed here 28 Jan-1 Feb as the final phase of a 3-week tour of T&T. We were fairly tired from trekking and sightseeing, so this was the perfect way to relax. We were on half-board, a better option than all-inclusive, since breakfasts and dinners are so huge that you don't need lunch, and the happy hour is sufficient for just a couple of drinks. We ate twice at the Kalina, a gourmet restaurant, once at the Pembois buffet, with a wide choice, and once outside at the Salaka Grill, which was a mistake because the wind was so strong it blew our food cold and whisked our napkins away. The pool is magnificent, and the grounds are extensive. Hotel offers free bike use, and we spent a pleasant morning riding around the large estate. Signs say that cyclists should not use the golf pathways, but these provide the best route and there were few golfers around, so no-one seemed to mind. At the west end there is a large mangrove swamp with boarded walkways leading to a remote inlet. We have only two criticisms:
1. Beaches in T&T are all public, so the one in front is not the hotel's responsibility. Nevertheless, a lot of rubbish from this blows over into the hotel's grounds, and they should give the whole area a thorough clean-up.
2. Most evenings the entertainment was lovely (gentle piano, low-volume steel pan) but on Friday the hotel ran an event in the bar with the volume turned full-blast. It was more like a rave in the park than entertainment for young families and mature couples - no wonder there was no-one there! I complained next day to the management about this, as we could hear the bass beat from our room.

Room Tip: We had a one-bedroomed suite, well worth the extra (342/343). It's important to get the top floor, though, because at ground level the balcony jacuzzi is visible from outside. On the other hand, rooms at the far end of the extensive complex are further away when the bar thumps.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time at the Magdalena Grand.

Unfortunately, since we are on the Atlantic side of the island, the currents and the tide brings in quite a lot of seaweed during various serious. We do have a team that goes out on to the beach to clean up, however it is sometimes a challenge due to the frequency in which it occurs.

Our management team is please to advise that your suggestions are being looked into as ways to continuously improve our services to you.

We do hope to welcome you soon again.

Best wishes,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Great location & facilities with golf, tennis, pool, beach, restaurants, set in over 700 acres. All rooms overlook the sea, stretched out either side of the main pool area. Certainly the best on the islandv Coco Reef and Blue Haven. It's very good but not outstanding, service is fine if sometimes a little slow, rooms are clean and tidy. The complex is now Government ownded when Hilton pulled out and it closed. It's had a facelift before reopening and with direct flights from Sweden and the USA you can find it swamped by tour golf groups and "all inclusive" holiday makers. Still, it's good and you'll need a car to get about and they are not cheap.

Room Tip: Rooms are ground and 1st floor - ask for the 1st floor, away from the central complex. There are two small pools either side of the centre, aim near them.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tekels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews with us.
We always enjoy hearing from our past guests and about their stay at the Magdalena Grand.
We hope we can welcome you soon again to our side of paradise.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews