We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Surrey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Great location & facilities with golf, tennis, pool, beach, restaurants, set in over 700 acres. All rooms overlook the sea, stretched out either side of the main pool area. Certainly the best on the islandv Coco Reef and Blue Haven. It's very good but not outstanding, service is fine if sometimes a little slow, rooms are clean and tidy. The complex is now Government ownded when Hilton pulled out and it closed. It's had a facelift before reopening and with direct flights from Sweden and the USA you can find it swamped by tour golf groups and "all inclusive" holiday makers. Still, it's good and you'll need a car to get about and they are not cheap.

Room Tip: Rooms are ground and 1st floor - ask for the 1st floor, away from the central complex. There are two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tekels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews with us.
We always enjoy hearing from our past guests and about their stay at the Magdalena Grand.
We hope we can welcome you soon again to our side of paradise.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    426
    222
    100
    61
See reviews for
408
583
37
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Just returned from this lovely hotel after a 14 day holiday. The holiday we had here with our friends was the best to date in our winter Caribbean ventures.
Great hotel on it's own gated estate with all the facilities you could wish for. Good clean spacious rooms all with sea views. Great choices for dining and a superb choice of good food to cater for all tastes.
On arrival check in was quick, going All Inclusive is the best way to stay, you don't get a wrist band here you sign for all your food and drinks, which for the first couple of days seemed strange but soon you got used to it, none of which go onto you bill, there are certain items which are chargeable, premium brand drinks being one. We didn't get caught out with this but it would be good if you are not aware when ordering that you get told it will be chargeable.
All the ground floor rooms have their own outside seating area looking onto the beach with a gate which takes you out to the beach simple lovely touch.
Bear in mind if you have not been to the Caribbean before, the pace here is slow something some people fail to accept, just accept it your on holiday.
Back to the food-Pembois-Great for breakfast and buffet evening meal, superb choices. Kalina restaurant must be booked, the food here is to die for, dined here 3 times faultless. Salaka Grill for lunch or evening meal offered a good selection of dishes the only issue here was that the service was very poor, lots of staff around, but nothing seemed to happen, I know I've said before that you have to accept their slow pace but here it was at a standstill. Evening drinks in the bars are good with a excellent choice of cocktails for the ladies.
Overall this is the ideal hotel for a holiday-lovely location-great people-restful.
Bear in mind that this hotel is on the Atlantic coast so there always seems to be the Trade Winds blowing but this did keep the heat down to an acceptable level.
In conclusion-The Best Hotel in Tobago.
Thank You Magdalena for our wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Our room was 106 in the North Wing ground floor, couldn't fault its location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perek24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was such a joy to read your wonderful review - thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed description of your stay.

It was truly a pleasure to be of service to you! We will be sure to pass along your remarks to our Chef and the rest of the team.

If there is anything we can ever do to be of service in the future please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sunny wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary and wanted something special! Our room was on the 3rd floor with a lovely view of the ocean. Our room was very nice, clean, and comfortable. We had a wonderful breakfast every morning and the staff were always very helpful and pleasant. Mr. Moore was extremly wonderful in making our stay at the Magdalena very special! Thanks again to Mr. Moore and the entire staff !!!

Room Tip: Staying on the 3rd floor you have a great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bishop06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews with us. We are thrilled that you had such a memorable stay and that you chose the Magdalena Grand to celebrate your special occassion.

We will be sure to pass along your comments to Mr Moore and the rest of the team. We are quite proud of our team members and are pleased that they were able to make your stay more comfortable.

If there is anything we can do to be of assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sunny wishes from Tobago,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is a fabulous hotel in a great location with stunning sea views and a fantastic pool. The buffet was delectable. The staff were very helpful and accomodating. In particular Sasha went the extra mile to make our stay memorable

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view so the choice is easy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chan1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. We are always pleased to hear from our guests and to learn of their experience.

We will certainly pass your comments along to Sasha and the rest of the team.

We look forward to being of service to you in the near future and to providing you with another memorable vacation at the Magdalena Grand.

Best wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

You know what - I travel an awful lot - I have been to many places in the Caribbean - many places in the USA - Europe the Middle East - Far East and South America - sometimes for work sometimes for holiday. I am very familiar with Caribbean hotels - some are OK - some are far from OK - I always stay at least 4 star - so in short I know reasonably what to expect. Now this hotel has a lot going for it - the premises are generally pretty good - rooms are large and comfortable. The facilities are good - pool is great - gym is good - spa is good. Restaurants are OK and the food varies - 'al a carte' no problem booking in as many times as you want (which is great value if your all inclusive!) Bar's yes again very good - wines - spirits and beers - very good!
Beach holiday - no not really - if you want to swim in the sea - well this isn't the place - there is a prevailing wind blowing on shore - this means that the sea is invariably rough - so most people stay around the pool! Golf is (I am told) very good. SCUBA - yes a PADI 5 star facility on site - down side is that you have around a one and a half hour drive to the dive sites - which doesn't really appeal to me - however if you don't mind that - then it's good.
So what lets this hotel down? I have to say that it's the total lack of organisation - and that's such a shame! Some of the staff are great - example Colin and Sheril at the poolside grill and bar. Stephanie in the pub - Hans in the piano bar - Rachel in the 'al a carte' restaurant. I can't recommend anyone from the buffet unfortunately. Some of the staff will do as much as possible to help but this is totally let down by some of the others who - example - asked for some salt for the table - told - it's over there! Asked if I could have a large beer - no we don't do them - can I have two small beers then? No come back again! Ask for tea and a tea bag arrives - then ask for the cup - the cup arrives - then have to ask for water for the cup and the tea bag? Now seriously - come on guys - we are your guests and - OK - you may be having a bad day - but this is almost every day!!! Customer comes first! Want to play tennis? No problem - there is a coach - it took the hotel over a week to notify him - OK - but if your staying for just eleven nights? Same with the horse riding - also there were no bicycles available for over a week - despite requests for them!
Also had a problem with an Island tour too - I always attempt to go around the islands I visit - I booked a car and guide for the day - I like to hear about the history of the islands - about the history of plantations and treatment of the poor souls forced to work there - any military actions on land and sea - any interesting Flora and Fauna - and so on - our tour consisted of our driver/guide pipping his two tone horn and shouting to people that he knew - doing his shopping and chatting to his friends - if we hadn't asked to stop at certain places - I don't think he would have bothered - hopefully you will choose carefully and have a better experience?
So to summarise - you do get accustomed to the staff at this hotel - you learn that if you don't ask you wont get - even down to asking for more soap and toilet rolls in your room - don't bother to complain - the staff simply smile and say they will sort it out - they don't - SO - simply get on with it - we did - and at the end of the day - poor staff make it difficult - BUT - there are some good staff among them - you just have to look maybe a little hard!
Enjoy your stay - it's OK!

Room Tip: On the ground floor up to about room 160 there is noise from hotel machinery so you may be disturbed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bapsy3732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide such a detailed review of your stay. It is only with your feedback can we address our guests' concerns and work on ways of improvement.

We are pleased that your found our facilities comfortable and accommodating, and that your look the time to mention several of the team members that impacted your stay positively. We know that since we are on the Atlantic side of the island it sometimes mean that the water is a bit choppy, depending on the season you visit. However we do provide a complimentary shuttle to the Pigeon Point Beach so that our guests can also enjoy the Caribbean side, which offers calmer waters.

You would be happy to know that we have embarked on a training program with our team members, as we are aware that training must be an on-going activity. Your unfortunate experiences in the restaurants are certainly not the standard at the Magdalena Grand.

Pertaining to the activities, we had a few challenges in securing our new bicycles from Trinidad, and the delays were through no fault of the resort. We are pleased to advise that 12 brand new bikes are now on property and will be here for your future visits.
We are not certain what were your complaints with the horse back riding, however this is not a service that is offered by the resort. Our Guest Services desk would have been happy to book this tour for you. Similarly, with regard to the island tour. The tour guides hired will certainly take you to places of interest and provide you with details of the island's history and culture. If however you simply rented a car and a driver, then he would not have been capable to provide you with the knowledge you sought.

We do apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay with us, but hope that on your next visit to Tobago we would have the opportunity to be of service to you again and to provide you with the quality of service that is expected that the Magdalena Grand.

We remain at your service.

Best wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Over the last 17 years my husband, Kurt Regis and I have had several vacations and weekend getaways but our stay at your resort was by far the best. The surroundings was gorgeous, your staff was professional, courteous and friendly. I really rate this as one of the best places to stay. It even topped our Christmas vacation in Florida, a couple over a year ago and at that time I thought nothing could beat that. Keep the standard, looking forward to being back. A special mention of one young man at guest services, his name was Ricardo, thank you for facilitating the roses in the room. Great Job

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedchickC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests. Thank you for taking the time share such wonderful reviews and for also mentioning our team member, Ricardo. We will be certain to pass along your comments to him.

We hope to welcome you soon again to our side of paradise and to provide you with another wonderful vacation at the Magdalena Grand.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed at the Magdalena from Christmas Day to New Year’s Day. Whilst I appreciate that this is one of the busiest time of the year for hotels, they should be capable of resourcing for this time. Our stay didn’t start off well. We had to wait over an hour before we could check into our room – after 5 pm. When we got into the room, the air conditioning controls didn’t work and the AC was freezing and could not be adjusted. We reported this immediately but it took several hours for anyone to come and fix it. Although the room and bathroom were spacious with both a shower cubicle and bath – the water was not hot enough for a bath and then when I tried to have a shower, the handle came off in my hand. At least the hotel found us another room fairly quickly and gave us a complimentary meal in the ‘fine dining’ restaurant to compensate. Although when we did eat there, the a la carte menu was off and there was only a set menu available. And the other bars and restaurants often ran out of food and drinks on the menu – when they should have been able to stock for the busy period. Although the reception and concierge staff were friendly and helpful, the restaurant staff were very slow. And the cleaning of the rooms was poor. We returned to our room several times after 5 pm to find the room not cleaned. And when they did clean it, the service was very slapdash. They forgot to replace towels, didn’t clean the coffee pot etc. And the water in the bathroom was rarely hot – just about luke warm.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellwhynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

Unfortunately we experienced a few unforseen challenges during the month of December which resulted in your unpleasant guest experience.
We sincerely apologize for this and wish to advise that we have since adressed these issues to better accommodate our guests needs.

We do hope that you would provide us with another opportunity to be of service to you. Please let us know of your return and we would ensure that your stay is indeed a memorable one.

Warmest regards from all of us at the Magdalena Grand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
4.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
4.4 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
3.8 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Property: Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing