We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel on Tobago?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
London, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best hotel on Tobago?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed at the Magdalena from Christmas Day to New Year’s Day. Whilst I appreciate that this is one of the busiest time of the year for hotels, they should be capable of resourcing for this time. Our stay didn’t start off well. We had to wait over an hour before we could check into our room – after 5 pm. When we got into the room, the air conditioning controls didn’t work and the AC was freezing and could not be adjusted. We reported this immediately but it took several hours for anyone to come and fix it. Although the room and bathroom were spacious with both a shower cubicle and bath – the water was not hot enough for a bath and then when I tried to have a shower, the handle came off in my hand. At least the hotel found us another room fairly quickly and gave us a complimentary meal in the ‘fine dining’ restaurant to compensate. Although when we did eat there, the a la carte menu was off and there was only a set menu available. And the other bars and restaurants often ran out of food and drinks on the menu – when they should have been able to stock for the busy period. Although the reception and concierge staff were friendly and helpful, the restaurant staff were very slow. And the cleaning of the rooms was poor. We returned to our room several times after 5 pm to find the room not cleaned. And when they did clean it, the service was very slapdash. They forgot to replace towels, didn’t clean the coffee pot etc. And the water in the bathroom was rarely hot – just about luke warm.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellwhynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

Unfortunately we experienced a few unforseen challenges during the month of December which resulted in your unpleasant guest experience.
We sincerely apologize for this and wish to advise that we have since adressed these issues to better accommodate our guests needs.

We do hope that you would provide us with another opportunity to be of service to you. Please let us know of your return and we would ensure that your stay is indeed a memorable one.

Warmest regards from all of us at the Magdalena Grand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    426
    222
    100
    61
See reviews for
408
583
37
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

The hotel has very good facilities and rooms are comfortable. From check-in onwards (it took them 2 hours to give me a room) unfriendliness and unprofessionalism of staff was everywhere. Golf course and swimming pools are acceptable but the beach is not since the sea is usually rough. All in all poor value for money so I do not think I will go back to this resort

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Arturito_Bxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your comments are of great value to us and we appreciate you taking the time to share with us.

During your visit the resort was operating at full capacity which resulted in a few challenges. We are pleased to advise that we have since addressed these issues to better accommodate our guests needs.

It is indeed unfortunate that we were not able to exceed your expectations, but we sincerely hope that you would allow us with the opportunity to be of service in the near future and to provide you with quality of customer service and level of facilities that is customary at the Magdalena Grand.

Although the resort is situated along the Atlantic coast, we are delighted to offer our guests a complimentary daily shuttle to Pigeon Point Beach. The shuttle departs the resort twice daily and returns twice daily. Our beach also provides guests with a unique experience as many Hawksbill and Leatherback Turltes nest on our beach.

We do hope to see you in the near future. Please let us know of your return and we would ensure your stay is a truly memorable one.

Warmest regards,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taplow UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

First impressions of frontage, reception area, excellent. We checked in and were asked to take a seat and were promptly forgotten about. Eventually after approximately 25 minutes I went up and asked when we would be shown our room (you would never find it on your own at first) to be greeted by surprise that we were still sitting there. Our cases were where they were left after we got out of the taxi. We had been travelling door to door around 12 hours. Room/bathroom was spacious and bed very comfortable. One day our room was not serviced until I rang reception at 1800. Another day bathroom was serviced but bed not made, so rather than cause a fuss I made it myself. Hand towels were not replaced and although on arrival there was a face cloth, we never saw one again after was taken.. Food was mediocre, An American couple after a Tex Mex buffet told staff he was paying the bill under sufferance as the food was not good especially considering the price. Very little going on in the evening. One evening there was a DJ in the pub, but it was so loud you could not talk, people were just walking in the door and walking straight out. Only one couple were brave enough to stay. On a Friday a couple were billed as entertaining in the pub but it did not start until 2200 (advertised) but 2230 according to staff. On a Sunday a B-B-Q was advertised (to sit round the pool enjoy the B-B-Q and listen to the entertainment). We were waiting for them to set up - after all the name B-B-Q suggests an outdoor event - upon asking when the B-B-Q would start we were told it was a buffet inside!! Maybe as airline staff we are spoiled as we obviously travel a lot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sunshine123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your reviews on your stay. It is only with your feedback can we improve of services to our guests.

We regret that your experience did not exceed your expectations and truly apologize for this.
During your stay the resort was operating at maximum capacity and as a result we were faced with a few unexpected challenges. We are happy to report that we have since addressed these issues to better serve our guests.

The resort offers a varity of daily and evening activities such as live entertainment in the Tavaco Lounge, The Grand Tobago Night which offers a cultural showcasing, Manager's Cocktails, Fire Fridays, Shipwreck Saturdays, Jazzy Sundays, to name a few.

Our Poolside BBQ Brunch is generally held around the poolside, however the location of the BBQ buffet line is changed depending on the weather. It is unfortunate that you did not have the opportunity to dine around the poolside, however we do hope this can be facilitated during your next visit.

We wish to thank you once again and hope that we would have the opportunity to be of service in the near future and to provide you with a truly memorable experience.

Best regards,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel is very well maintained and in a gorgeous location! It would be even better if it was on the Carribbean side of the island rather than the Atlantic so you could comfortably swim in the sea everyday. whilst we were there The atlantic side is extremely rough and has alot of jellyfish! They have alot to do around the hotel - tennis, golf, spa, etc - you won't be bored at all if you want to relax. There is no hot water when you shower which was annoying - its luke warm.

The service and planning is really where it is all going wrong for them... though I do have to mention 3 members of staff that were AMAZING to us and really helped us. Tony who seats you in the main Breakfast/Restaurant area, Afiya and the bar tender in the more sophisticated bar in the hotel - really did go that extra mile for us and just give us service with a smile!

Staff are around for extremely long periods of time which may compensate for service without a smile or eye contact but it's almost like they are doing you a favour by being there. Because you don't get the eye contact you don't even know if they have heard what you asked for - they don't think ahead. An exmaple would be - I asked a lady who served us lunch one day if she had chilli sauce, unfortunately she didn't. When we went back the next day, I didn't ask for Chilli sauce but after I had finished my lunch, I asked when will you have chilli sauce and she said we have it today but you didn't ask for it?! I hope I'm not the only one that thinks situations like that are strange!
Watch out for Kervin at breakfast - he's the miserable omlett maker and actually quite rude.

If you're going all inclusive here it's quite confusing to get your head around. Not all people are on all inclusive so they actually create bills for all meals and drinks then if you're all inclusive you don't pay for anything however, there are the luxurious options where if you're not switched on, you will be charged for! ie when dining at the nicer restaurant in the hotel, we asked for water and were charged for a bottle of mineral water without being warned. It doesn't matter about the cost so much but it's just the principle of constantly having to think about have I been charged additional! (coming from a not-regular all inclusive holiday maker)

The check out process was a nightmare - we had been overcharged and it took an age to sort out, the staff on the desk dont appear to be trained to deal with anything out of the norm. The manager came over and was helpfull trying to resolve the issue - however it didnt become uncomfortabe for me as she became frustrated with her staff and i repeated observed her rolling her eyes...not the kind of service you would expect from a 4 star.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leena_lakhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.
We are truly sorry for the experience you had with us and the inconveniences caused.
During your stay, December 2013, the hotel was operating at full capacity and as such we experienced a few challenges within the operations of the resort.

Rest assured, we have since addressed these issues and are now better equipped to serve you.

We do hope that you would provide us with another opportunity to be of service and to deliver the quality customer service that is expected at the Magdalena Grand.

Best wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at the Magdalena Grand recently, its a splendid hotel in a great location. I would very much like to commend the staff on their excellent hospitality. The were efficient, friendly and very polite. I would single out Stephanie at the Robinson Crusoe Pub. She always had a welcoming smile and a lovely gentle manner.
The hotel is situated right on the beach in beautiful Tobago and is an excellent destination for a Caribbean holiday. There is a lot to do and see on the Island, one need never be bored. The Rainforest walks and golf are two I would recommend. The diving and various other water sports are also excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, had great sea views, and wonderful birdsong to greet the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJH481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are pleased that you had such an amazing time on our island. The rainforest walks and dive sites are among our favorites as well!
Thank you also for taking the time to mention our staff. We will be sure to pass along your kind compliments to them.

We hope to see you soon again!

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We just came back from Tobago. We stayed there for 12 nights; couple + 7 months baby.
Overall the hotel is very grand and the rooms are spacious and beautiful. All rooms have outdoor terrace / balcony overlooking the see. Every room in a hotel has a see view. Ground floor rooms have terraces. The hotel has 3 main restaurant and a pub + a nice pool bar. The pool is very large. Pool furniture and sun lounges are all new and there are a lot of it all around pool, beach, terraces.
Free (patchy) wifi throughout the hotel and in all rooms.

Drawbacks;
The big drawback for us was the fact that you cant swim in the see. The beach of the hotel is nice but its always windy and the see is too rough for swimming. One could have a dip in the see but the waves and currents are very strong and if you are expecting a nice calm Caribbean beach with palm trees you will not have that here. However, best calm beaches are 10-15 minutes drive away and very easy to find (see my review of Tobago). Its also VERY windy ALWAYS at the hotel. its sort of nice to have a breeze but it can be very strong at times.

We generally enjoyed the food at the hotel. We tried all the restaurants for food. The grill is by far the best food and the only place that actually serves fresh fish but go there for lunch because the dinner menu does not have daily fish special. Average dinner for 2 about 100 USD with 1 glass of wine.

The buffet is extensive and i usually hate buffet food but its fine here. The quality of food is good and the options are extensive. The atmosphere is non existing, which is a shame as it could be nice with very little improvement; lower lighting, tablecloths. If you are paying for buffet separate it is approximately USD 50 per person, which i think is quite a lot considering its a buffet.

Kalina is a shambles - DO NOT GO there. The hostess at the front tells you that its full at 9 p.m. unless you have reservation even though the place is half empty and no one eats at 9p.m. The menu is set and cost 66 USD per person excluding wine; all food is imported (smoked salmon, duck, lamb etc..); the main course options are meat, chicken, one fish (mahi mahi) and pasta with lobster BUT there is never lobster at the last minute they come up and tell you that lobster finished and is it OK they substitute lobster for prawn! No its not OK. The policy of the hotel is that guests staying on full board can eat at any restaurant; so i imagine most go for the "fancy" option of Kalina and of course everyone will order lobster since its a set menu BUT there is never lobster and if i am paying 65 USD for dinner per person on a set menu i expect much much better food.
Seriously the food is better in the buffet.

The pub has lovely views and is a great place for sunset drinks.

There are better options for dinner outside of the hotel but generally speaking food in Tobago is not the strong point. For whatever reason they try to do "fancy" food when their see is full of fish and see food. Fresh fish simply grilled would be so much better. (we eat out most nights and we did not find any restaurants that did great fish and simple menu)

Service: a lot of people complain about the service. And yes it can be patchy at times but generally the people are lovely and they REALLY try to do their best. Service in restaurants can be slow at times but its the Caribbean time; housekeeping is so so. When they are busy sometimes rooms dont get cleaned till 6p.m but its OK generally. Front desk was always nice to us and we loved both Ricardo and Michelle for their help with anything we needed.

We used babysitting for our 7 months old baby and Stephanie was assigned to us. She is a treasure! We loved her and she is a professional baby nurse. We would leave our baby with her for the whole day and I felt really assured that baby was well cared for. Cost 8 USD per hour which is so reasonable. The hotel made special food for baby and they always were happy to give us extra napkins or anything we needed. Special thank you to Kiev, Author, Leon for making our stay easy.

I did have one major incident with Tony and although i made a formal complaint (he bumped (hard) into me what felt like on purpose and never even said sorry) i never heard from hotel management.

Generally this hotel is far above the rest on Tobago. But it is owned by the government so the motivation is on the personal level only. They dont even get tips or service charge. But the people are still super nice and really try to be helpful.

Only other viable alternative is Blue Water Inn which is gorgeous but a very different type of a hotel (boutique and intimate with wonderful beach but nothing else much).

Thank you Magdalena for a great stay we loved it and hope to be back.

Room Tip: suite that have an outdoor jacuzzi. We preferred ground floor rooms better. The closer you are to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annabelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to share your reviews with us. It was certainly a pleasure to be of service to you and your family.

While our resort is located on the Atlantic side of the island, which means there is always a cool breeze and a slight wave, there are some season in which the water is rougher than usual, such as December - April. Due to this we are happy to provide a complimentary daily shuttle service to Pigeon Point Beach, which allows our guests with a choice of two beaches while on vacation with us.

We appreciate your comments on our various dining facilities and would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your attempt to dine at Kali'na, however reservations are required and although the restaurant may not appear to be filled at the time, we werein fact holding a table for persons that have made reservations.
We also wish to advise that since our main supplies are shipped from Trinidad, there are the rear instances whereby we may not have an item in stock. While we do apologize for this, our waiters are advised of same and inform our guests accordingly and offered a substitute which is recommended by our Chef.
Our guests dining on half board are presented with a set menu, however there is also the option to dine from the a la carte menu at an additional cost.
Please also note that our team members are provided with service charge and tips are entirely up to the guests discretion.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback. Our mangement team would review the complaint made with regards to Tony. We would also be certain to pass along your kind compliments to Stephanie and the rest of the team.

We look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arouca trinidad
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I had the opportunity once again to visit this hotel over this past weekend. I visited with my job and planned meetings to be held at this very hotel. The staff was very helpful and accommodating.Any last minute request, they helped me with smilimg faces. I would like to higly recommend this hotel whether it be business or pleasure. As usual the rooms were clean and modern and surroundings beautiful. Richard Carrington, Tony at pembois, Marilyn,Saheeda,Ronaldo,Nyron,Hollis Moore,Darren, Sharlene, Merlin thank you very much for your help. Beautiful staff of magdalena.

Room Tip: Request 1st floor or second floor rooms. You get better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kemba M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Kemba,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on our page! We are very proud of our team and would definitely mention your kind words to them.

It was a pleasure to be of service and we do hope to see you soon again in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
4.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
4.4 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
3.8 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Property: Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing