We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Tobago but cant swim in the see”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
london
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Tobago but cant swim in the see”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We just came back from Tobago. We stayed there for 12 nights; couple + 7 months baby.
Overall the hotel is very grand and the rooms are spacious and beautiful. All rooms have outdoor terrace / balcony overlooking the see. Every room in a hotel has a see view. Ground floor rooms have terraces. The hotel has 3 main restaurant and a pub + a nice pool bar. The pool is very large. Pool furniture and sun lounges are all new and there are a lot of it all around pool, beach, terraces.
Free (patchy) wifi throughout the hotel and in all rooms.

Drawbacks;
The big drawback for us was the fact that you cant swim in the see. The beach of the hotel is nice but its always windy and the see is too rough for swimming. One could have a dip in the see but the waves and currents are very strong and if you are expecting a nice calm Caribbean beach with palm trees you will not have that here. However, best calm beaches are 10-15 minutes drive away and very easy to find (see my review of Tobago). Its also VERY windy ALWAYS at the hotel. its sort of nice to have a breeze but it can be very strong at times.

We generally enjoyed the food at the hotel. We tried all the restaurants for food. The grill is by far the best food and the only place that actually serves fresh fish but go there for lunch because the dinner menu does not have daily fish special. Average dinner for 2 about 100 USD with 1 glass of wine.

The buffet is extensive and i usually hate buffet food but its fine here. The quality of food is good and the options are extensive. The atmosphere is non existing, which is a shame as it could be nice with very little improvement; lower lighting, tablecloths. If you are paying for buffet separate it is approximately USD 50 per person, which i think is quite a lot considering its a buffet.

Kalina is a shambles - DO NOT GO there. The hostess at the front tells you that its full at 9 p.m. unless you have reservation even though the place is half empty and no one eats at 9p.m. The menu is set and cost 66 USD per person excluding wine; all food is imported (smoked salmon, duck, lamb etc..); the main course options are meat, chicken, one fish (mahi mahi) and pasta with lobster BUT there is never lobster at the last minute they come up and tell you that lobster finished and is it OK they substitute lobster for prawn! No its not OK. The policy of the hotel is that guests staying on full board can eat at any restaurant; so i imagine most go for the "fancy" option of Kalina and of course everyone will order lobster since its a set menu BUT there is never lobster and if i am paying 65 USD for dinner per person on a set menu i expect much much better food.
Seriously the food is better in the buffet.

The pub has lovely views and is a great place for sunset drinks.

There are better options for dinner outside of the hotel but generally speaking food in Tobago is not the strong point. For whatever reason they try to do "fancy" food when their see is full of fish and see food. Fresh fish simply grilled would be so much better. (we eat out most nights and we did not find any restaurants that did great fish and simple menu)

Service: a lot of people complain about the service. And yes it can be patchy at times but generally the people are lovely and they REALLY try to do their best. Service in restaurants can be slow at times but its the Caribbean time; housekeeping is so so. When they are busy sometimes rooms dont get cleaned till 6p.m but its OK generally. Front desk was always nice to us and we loved both Ricardo and Michelle for their help with anything we needed.

We used babysitting for our 7 months old baby and Stephanie was assigned to us. She is a treasure! We loved her and she is a professional baby nurse. We would leave our baby with her for the whole day and I felt really assured that baby was well cared for. Cost 8 USD per hour which is so reasonable. The hotel made special food for baby and they always were happy to give us extra napkins or anything we needed. Special thank you to Kiev, Author, Leon for making our stay easy.

I did have one major incident with Tony and although i made a formal complaint (he bumped (hard) into me what felt like on purpose and never even said sorry) i never heard from hotel management.

Generally this hotel is far above the rest on Tobago. But it is owned by the government so the motivation is on the personal level only. They dont even get tips or service charge. But the people are still super nice and really try to be helpful.

Only other viable alternative is Blue Water Inn which is gorgeous but a very different type of a hotel (boutique and intimate with wonderful beach but nothing else much).

Thank you Magdalena for a great stay we loved it and hope to be back.

Room Tip: suite that have an outdoor jacuzzi. We preferred ground floor rooms better. The closer you are to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annabelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to share your reviews with us. It was certainly a pleasure to be of service to you and your family.

While our resort is located on the Atlantic side of the island, which means there is always a cool breeze and a slight wave, there are some season in which the water is rougher than usual, such as December - April. Due to this we are happy to provide a complimentary daily shuttle service to Pigeon Point Beach, which allows our guests with a choice of two beaches while on vacation with us.

We appreciate your comments on our various dining facilities and would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your attempt to dine at Kali'na, however reservations are required and although the restaurant may not appear to be filled at the time, we werein fact holding a table for persons that have made reservations.
We also wish to advise that since our main supplies are shipped from Trinidad, there are the rear instances whereby we may not have an item in stock. While we do apologize for this, our waiters are advised of same and inform our guests accordingly and offered a substitute which is recommended by our Chef.
Our guests dining on half board are presented with a set menu, however there is also the option to dine from the a la carte menu at an additional cost.
Please also note that our team members are provided with service charge and tips are entirely up to the guests discretion.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback. Our mangement team would review the complaint made with regards to Tony. We would also be certain to pass along your kind compliments to Stephanie and the rest of the team.

We look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    439
    230
    103
    65
See reviews for
422
599
37
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
arouca trinidad
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I had the opportunity once again to visit this hotel over this past weekend. I visited with my job and planned meetings to be held at this very hotel. The staff was very helpful and accommodating.Any last minute request, they helped me with smilimg faces. I would like to higly recommend this hotel whether it be business or pleasure. As usual the rooms were clean and modern and surroundings beautiful. Richard Carrington, Tony at pembois, Marilyn,Saheeda,Ronaldo,Nyron,Hollis Moore,Darren, Sharlene, Merlin thank you very much for your help. Beautiful staff of magdalena.

Room Tip: Request 1st floor or second floor rooms. You get better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kemba M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Kemba,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on our page! We are very proud of our team and would definitely mention your kind words to them.

It was a pleasure to be of service and we do hope to see you soon again in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was our second visit to Magdalena Grand Beach Resort. Our first visit was in February 2013 to attend a wedding. We had such a wonderful time we decided to return to "Paradise" for two weeks. Although our second visit was in October 2013 and this is a belated review, we felt it important to record our experience.

As at our previous visit we were greeted by the reception staff, given a complimentary drink, and shown to our room via the buggy which makes getting to the room hassle free.

As the resort is located on the Atlantic side there is always a cool breeze. There are various pools, and the swim-up bar is popular with all visitors.

The Management and staff are excellent throughout the hotel and go the "extra mile" to ensure your stay is perfect in every way. Information is readily available and taxis arrive promptly.

A wonderful relaxing holiday, beautiful scenery and the view from outside the "Robinson Crusoe Pub" in the evenings is spectacular, especially as the sun is setting. The Tavaco Lounge Bar is very comfortable with music most evenings to suit all tastes.

The Kalina Restaurant is a wonderful dining experience where the Chefs and Staff pay particular attention to detail.

The pool area is very relaxing with the "icing on the cake" for me being the Sunday Caribbean music around the pool.

Our suite was well located, close to the adult pool.

We had such a wonderful time that we are planning our return trip in September this year with our family.

I also recommend "Tobago Treasures" the hotel shop which is tastefully stocked with a large selection of items.

Room Tip: An upper floor sea facing room gives excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 46BillandBridie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your kind comments were certainly appreciated and we wish to thank you for sharing your reviews with us and the world.

We are pleased that you have selected our resort for your second visit to the island. That truly means a lot to us and we are delighted to be of assistance.

We can't wait for your third visit!!! Hope to see you soon again.

Warmest regards,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

With my wife I checked into the Magdalena Grand Beach Resort Hotel late afternoon on 1st January 2014 after the 9 hour Monarch flight from London Gatwick. After receiving our room keys for room 356 reception staff then realised they had double booked the room so we were asked to accept an alternative ground floor room with a rather limited ocean view for the 1st night whilst the problem was sorted out. Somewhat initially apprehensive that we wouldn't actually get moved we remained patient and agreed to let the reception team sort the problem out over night. After talking further with a member of the senior reception team just after breakfast the next morning we left it to Sasha Smith to do the best she could for us. Sasha really came up trumps as she elected to block out another higher level room in the south wing for us to move into later in the day. Allowing time for the existing guests to depart Sasha had upgraded us to a suite for the remaining 6 nights of our holiday. Although we would have been disappointed not to have had a room with a reasonable sea view, and it is true most of the 90% of the rooms do have good ocean rooms, we were delighted to find that the good will gesture made up for our initial disappointment on arrival. Admittedly we had to be patient whilst those guests departing the suite took their time doing so and we then had to allow housekeeping time to service the rooms etc it was well worth the wait as room 279, a bedroom, was linked to room 278, an adjoining sitting and dining room which included a Jucuzzi on the outside balcony. The sea views from both rooms were probably the best that we could have wished for which is all that we expected. What we also liked is that we were on a half board package and the policy at the Magdalena Grand Beach Resort policy allowed us to eat where we wanted within the resort. We were not restricted to the main buffet dinner restaurant every night and did in fact eat more in the hotel pub and even the Kalina A La Carte restaurant more than once. In the evening we did eat more out of the buffet restaurant as we prefer to be served seated at a table which is just our individual preference. Although service speed could have been improved at times we were on holiday and had no problem 'chilling out' Tobago style. Some of the staff were more outgoing than others but in all honesty nobody was disrespectful at all. I work in hospitality myself and to be quiet frank the international mix of clients, cultures and anticipated demands from guests could be overpowering to many service staff irrespective of where you might be in the world. We definitely enjoyed our stay in Tobago and at the Magdalena Grand Beach Resort. We were most impressed by the attitude and efforts made by Sasha Smith to resolve our initial disappointment and felt she did so extremely professionally and patiently through to a satisfactory outcome. We enjoyed the variety of Caribbean cocktails that were available in the Robinson Crusoe pub and Piano bar. In our case the half board package suited us, even after paying for all drinks and extras, but if needed there is an All-Inclusive option at the Magdalena Grand Beach Resort. At the end of the day nothing would put us off returning to this resort hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room 132. Although next to the free Childrens Club rooms which wasn't a problem the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NOSBORN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed review of your stay with us.
It was certainly a pleasure to be of service to you and we are positive your review would assist other potential visitors in selecting our resort for their Tobago vacation.

We will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to the team, especially Sasha. We always try to go above and beyond to assist our guests and we are delighted that we were able to be of assistance to you.

We do hope to welcome you soon again to our side of paradise.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have read some of the previous reviews and I can't believe we were in the same place. I was warmly greeted when I arrived with a welcome drink and smiles from everyone. Beautiful Christmas tree, gorgeous view of the ocean and pool from the lobby, a great beginning.
The room was spacious and comfortable. Loved the bed and snuggly comforter. Beautiful bathroom with tub and shower, granite tops, lovely touches and decor. No problem with linens or towels as others have mentioned. Had a coffee pot and a frig so I could stay in if I wanted. There was a line for breakfast but it went quickly and there was a wide variety of foods. Another line for the omelet station but totally worth it. Lunch at the pool area (Salaka) was busy but didn't take too long, enjoyed it - great view of the beach - has a pizza oven and wide variety so you don't get bored eating there often. There are 2 bars in the pool area :-) There's a pirate bar and a piano bar open in the evenings. Both are excellent! Bartenders are friendly, will talk if you want (happily tell you the history, hot spots, give advise on what to do on the island) or leave you alone if you prefer. Have special nights like Jazzy Sunday in the piano bar which is a lot of fun. Hans, Sonya, Stephanie, Zsa Zsa and Kevin - I will be back to see you!! Dinner had theme nights also - nice variety, no boredom. Had one night in the fancy restaurant, Kalina, wow that was awesome!!! in every way.
They had just re-opened the golf course which has a restaurant and bar. Within walking distance of the hotel and a great place to get away for breakfast, lunch or just drinks. I don't golf but the course looked amazing!
I enjoyed every minute and will definately return.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies/patios facing the ocean which is awesome! Rooms at the far ends can be quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orlandosue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful comments and for sharing your experience with the world on Trip Advisor!

It was a pleasure to be of service and we hope to welcome you soon again.

Sunny wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over New Year for a friend's wedding. The hotel itself is lovely, nice airy rooms, all with sea views, and a large pool overlooking the ocean with lots of room for sunbathers and a swim up bar. You could not ask for much more here other than a drastic improvement on the service. All but a couple of the waiting staff could barely raise a smile or a hello. We waited over an hour on one occasion to get a drink at the Salaka Grill, and 2 hours for food, and in the process they both lost our order and got the order totally wrong. At the wedding, the staff had a totally no can do attitude, when the free bar ended at 9pm, they refused to serve paid drinks in the wedding venue and couldn't be bothered to tell us where we could get drinks instead. We did not end up paying for the lunch but would rather have had decent service and paid for it. It must be a fairly common occurrence as other couples we were with ended up being given free dinners and wine to make up for the poor service. It's a shame as its a beautiful setting but they need some serious training in customer service. They may not want to put a smile on their faces but in the service industry, that's what it's all about.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beetroothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews with us.
We do apologize for the inconveniences casued during your stay. December was in fact one of the most busiest periods for us and as a result of the full occupancy levels we unfortunately faced a couple of challenges. You would be pleased to know that we have since addressed these issues and are looking forward to being of service to you soon again with hopes of providing you with the quality service that is our usual standard.

With regards to the restaurants, we encourage all our guests to make reservations to avoid the wait and to assist our team to be of better service to you.

We certainly hope to welcome you soon again.

Sunny wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely stay at Magdalena grand beach & Golf resort in tobago. As a golfer I really enjoyed the course and experience at the resort however,while we had wait for a table some times in the restaurant as it was really busy the staff were always helpful and tried to help. Special thanks to Kevin, Robyn,Hans and Hollis stars for sure.. Will return..no hole in one this trip
Great destination and island








Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Neil,

It is indeed a pleasure to hear from you and to read about your wonderful stay at our resort. We are very proud of our team members and will be sure to pass your comments along to them.
We apologize for the wait in the restaurants, but you are correct, we were quiet busy during the period of your visit. Our guests are encouraged to make reservations to avoid waiting for a table.
We do hope that we would have the opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.

Warmest regards until we meet again,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
4.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
248 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.9 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
440 reviews
3.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Property: Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing