We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Grand Holiday!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Just returned from a lovely week at Magdalena Grand Resort. The hotel itself is absolutely stunning and its ideal location adds to the beauty of our holiday. But first things first...We arrived on Wednesday 11th December after 48 hour journey so you can imagine how tired and zoned out we were. Check in was at lightning speed but we for some reason we had an impression we already should know everything as our questions about hotel's services and rules came as a surprise to the Ladies behind the desk (or maybe they were just as tired as we were?). A lovely gentleman took our luggage to our room and kindly explained everything (wifi access, TV channels, air con...). Room was nice and clean and pleasantly cool (outside around 29 degrees) with standard refreshments like coffee and tea, bathroom supplied with toiletries and fluffy towels (the only thing missing in our opinion was a light bathrobe which would be nice after having a shower). Room was spacious and nicely decorated with wifi and large TV. Outside patio area was big enough to enjoy warm evenings and you could leave hotel through little gate instead of walking through the whole building (great!). Outside Magdalena has a nice big swimming pool and private beach with lots of sun loungers so there was no need to fight for them. There was also swimming pool available for adults only. Our holiday package included meals but there was some confusion on a first night as we were presented with a bill and been put into slightly embarrassing position as we didn't take any cash with us to the restaurant. Luckily after a conversation the issue was solved. We thoroughly enjoyed food at Pembois Buffet and all Staff was extremely nice to us. There was huge variety of food for breakfast (from cereal to hot, local stuff). Magdalena Grand offers also bike rental (free) although bikes need some maintenance. There is small shop with basic groceries (snacks, drinks, cigarettes and toiletries), shop with souvenirs and another one with clothes (great bikinis!). For the ones who cannot live without exercise there is 24h gym.
Summarising...
Downsides:
- Housekeeping- we stayed for 7 days and our room was "missed" twice. We had to go to the main desk to ask for toilet roll :D Refreshments in room (coffee and tea) were not top up regularly as well as toiletries (it wasn't a massive issue but you would expect this from 4* hotel and quite frankly we didn't take any thinking they will be available for us)
- Messy grounds- it was a great shame that beautiful beaches were full of rubbish (papers, plastic bottles and caps...). As it is very windy island we understand it’s difficult to keep on top of flying stuff (and in all defence there was a team of people cleaning every morning!) but maybe bit more attention is needed.
- Wrong information- we were informed when we checked in that our "meal plan" includes one soft drink. When we checked out we were charged for those. Also (at the very beginning and only for a minute or two) we had an impression that we weren't the most valuable clients due to having "meal plan". We've won this holiday and had no say in what was included or not.

Positives:
EVERYTHING ELSE!
We had wonderful break at Magdalena Grand and could not wish for better holiday. Staff was very friendly to us and all small issues were fixed ASAP.
We hope to visit Magdalena once again and would definitely recommend this resort!
Thank You Magdalena Grand!
Daria and Kris from 152

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DariaSzmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review! We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us. All your comments have been taken into consideration and you would be pleased to know that we are working on amending all the negatives you listed.
We are happy there were more positives during your stay, and we do hope that we would have the opporunity to provide you with a fully positive vacation during your next visit.

Until then, we'll be sending warm wishes to you!

Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    432
    229
    103
    62
See reviews for
419
593
37
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

(Wed. 18th).
My husband and I are currently here for our anniversary in room 238. For our second return trip, I am unhappy that some problems we encountered before are still here. The hotel cannot be beaten for its beauty and aesthetic value but the quality of some of the services remain lacking. Getting to the root of issues takes too long. So far problems encountered include long wait for check-in (which was somewhat compensated), problems with plumbing, in-adequate housekeeping, and disturbing noises last night including a party in the ballroom opposite our room which contributed to my lack of sleep. This is unacceptable and as paying customers we are extremely displeased with how we are dealt with. We are currently awaiting the intervention of the manager.

Update: Met with the manager some hours later who was very cordial and professional. Offered us compensation which ensured that our trip ended on a good note. However, the potential for this hotel excelling on a world-wide stage is within grasp, once the right persons are able to get it together and work on its human resource management.

For beauty and ambience....5 stars

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spiceisland16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and your update on your experience. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us, and hope that we would have the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Please let us know of your return and we would ensure it is indeed a memorable one.

Wishing you a happy holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2013

it simply beautiful. Relaxing, serene, clean and the staff is extremely pleasant, courteous. Excellent customer service skills. Well trained. The food is great. This is the perfect place for just about anything. AWESOME, well done PLantation

Room Tip: All the room overlook the ocean, so there is no bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tash H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your reviews are greatly appreciated. Short and sweet! With your simple feedback you have helped share our resort and our beautiful island of Tobago with the world! Thank you for this.

We hope to welcome you soon again!

Until then, we'll be sending warm wishes to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

A magnificent resort! Friendly staff, clean and safe facilities, terrific pool. American buffet breakfast was a great way to start the day - you name it - they had it - plus local dishes [try some pepper sauce on your scrambled eggs!! just a little will do it] LARGE, clean rooms with all the nice things you'd expect in a high end resort. [Shop the internet for some great deals]. King size bed was as comfortable as mine at home. Be sure to stop at the 'PUB' for a drink before heading out for the evening. Zsa Zsa will fill you in on 'Sunday School' and 'The Shade!'

Room Tip: ALL the rooms have balconies that overlook the Bay - great way to wake up in the morning! The hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMagicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Your comments help the world learn more about us and Tobago.
We hope that we would have the opportunity to be of service to you soon again.
Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed at hotel and paid a lot for it. Hotel and grounds really nice. Bit remote. Staff on whole are atrocious. Lazy doesn't even sum it up. They look at you like you are a piece of dirt and don't engage in conversation at all. Most too busy on their phone behind bar to serve you. No smiles at all. Management are aware of problem as they have a book full of complaints. The locals also aware of problem as we got in taxi one day and the taxI driver asked how we found the customer service. . .we said it was poor and he replied that he had heard that about the hotel and it isn't good enough. It is a real shame as people Will come to Tobago and he they stay at this place they Will think that the people of Tobago are unfriendly and not welcoming but that is not the case. Tobago is a lovely island and the locals are lovely. Can recommend Ali baba tours and hardplay fishing.. .lovely people, great fun. . .and Sunday school is great too. Go to Tobago by all means, take some cash as bit pricey, experience the island but unless you are sado masachistic don't stay at the magdalena. Coco reef hotel much better and good service. Also as magdalena on Atlantic side too windy and can't swim in the beautiful Caribbean sea. . .recommend staying Caribbean side.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kickback2252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your reviews. It is indeed unfortunate that your experience with us was not our usual customary stardard of customer service. We do apologize for this but you would be pleased to know that we have recently invested in our staff members through an on going customer service training program.

We understand the importance of customer service and hope that we would have to opportunity to provide you with the quality service deserved.

Please let us know of your return and we would ensure it is indeed a memorable one.

Wishing you warm wishes for the holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I have just stayed at the Magdalena Grand Beach Resort and have had the most amazing stay. The pools were amazing, and the location directly on a quiet beach was spectacular. The staff were attentive and keep the hotel in a wonderful and very clean condition. The restaurants served the best food on the island. All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Tobago!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonHolidaymaker87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your comments are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to post them on our page.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again to our side of paradise.

Wishing you a very happy holiday!

Warmest wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I was a guest at the Magdalena Grand from Friday 22nd November to Sunday 24th November. 2013.

Upon returning home, I discovered I was mistakenly charged an additional $1880. I reported this incident on Monday 25th November, 2013.

The hotel has shown no concern or urgency in dealing with THEIR MISTAKE that I discovered. After TWENTY TWO days, and numerous phone calls and emails later - I have been informed today that they have no records of the transaction and I have now been told to go through the bank.

I am very puzzled as to how this situation has taken so long to resolve. The poor record keeping, the lengthy time taken to get a response, and the general lack of courtesy that has been shown to me are ample reasons for me to not return.

Please note - Beautiful surrounding and amenities are nothing without quality service!

I have tried for a long time to deal with this situation privately and in house, but I have finally had enough.

My advice to potential guests is to stay away!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jarryd_Haynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Mr Haynes,

We thank you for sharing your review on both our Facebook page and our Trip Advisor page, however as mentioned, our team was reviewing your complaint and attempting to locate the funds you claimed were deducted from you account.

Our research showed that it was not an error on the hotel's side, but it was an error on the bank's side in which the funds were deducted from your account, but never showed up in our accounts.
Although you were informed to speak with the bank directly as the matter was out of our hands, our team assisted you by contacting the bank on your behalf and the problem was rectified.

We do hope that we would have the opportunity to be of service to you again and we wish you a very happy holiday.

Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
4.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
3.2 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Property: Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing