We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed for the weekend of November 22-24 to attend a friend’s wedding and I must say the place is absolutely fabulous.

The rooms are quite nice (stayed in a std room) and if I had to complain I would say the shower was a bit small but everything was layed out extremely well – they even had a back door which leads right out to the beach or to the adult pool to the side which you can access during the night – even though a bit cold. It has internet access via LAN or WiFi, a safe, a mini-fridge, complimentary tea/coffee and even a mini-sewing kit which I thought was very nice.

Had a run in the morning on the North side (South side is small and not very flat) which has about a mile of beach extending beyond the property boundary but stopped at around 800m (where I couldn’t see the sand.)Along the way there’s a river also. On the edge of the South side there’s also an area of beach guarded by some rocks where the kids can bathe without the large waves.

Breakfast is amazing – they have a great variety, from “American Style” to local “Trini” favourites and the fruits are of a high quality. The pool while only 1m deep had one of the best seaviews from the water. The service was also very good, and as a Trinidadian accustomed to substandard service that is saying a lot.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 155 on the South side which was ideally situated right next to the car park, in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ordained_Saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you had the opportunity to visit with us for your friend's wedding, and even had a little time for yourself to enjoy the ocean breeze on your morning runs along the beach. There's no better way to start the day!

We hope to welcome you again in the very near future!

Sunny wishes!
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

979 - 985 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

Just got back from a 3 night stay at the Magdalena Grand,and it was an amazing weekend,my grandson was not ready to come back home as yet,wanted to stay another day,everyone had a great time.
The rooms were perfect,loved my king size bed and the balcony to the sea.
Most appealing were the three pools,and not forgetting the most pleasant staff ever!! the assistant manager was really helpful and friendly,also the food was excellent ,great variety.The grounds are well kept,and the surrounds clean,looking forward for another time out at this haven.

Room Tip: Our room was on the south side,very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Ingrid,

It truly was a delight to have you and your grandson visit with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews.
It's always important to take time out of our busy schedules to unwind and enjoy life. We're happy you have found your haven in us and we look forward to welcoming you both soon again.

Sunny regards,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great place. Especially for the family. Friendly staff but can do a little more with regards to the house keeping. Definitely won't be my last time. Variety of food. Caters for all. Halal meats available. Just make sure to ask!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotscorp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was indeed wonderful to hear from you. Your comments were short and sweet, but certainly shared your views of our resort. You would be happy to know that your feedback regarding housekeeping has been noted and is being addressed.

We definitely look forward to being of service to you soon again.

Warmest regards,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here during November 2013 and, whilst it was the rainy season, we still managed to get well tanned. The first great thing about the Magdalena is that rooms all face the ocean so you don’t have to worry about a room looking onto the car park! The whole hotel, pools, terraces, rooms, beach, all face east and so you get the cooling trade winds. The rooms are decent sized with a good bathroom and shower and plenty of storage space; and all have balconies with a table and chairs. It was actually really lovely to sleep without the air-con and with the windows open, listening to the breaking waves, and in the morning the waking birds. Pretty good Wi-Fi is provided in the room for those who cannot let go of work though it is amazing how after a few days work becomes less important! You also have the pelicans flying and diving for fish, and the frigate birds with their 2 metre wing spans floating and gliding above.
The staff are great and very helpful and very cheerful. In most of the bars and restaurants you can eat inside with relatively mild air-con or outside in the cooling breezes, we ate almost entirely outside, from breakfast to dinner – the breeze keeps the mozzies away.
The main dining area is mostly buffet style breakfast, lunch and dinner but is very well prepared and tasty and a large selection of dishes to choose from, both hot and cold. The food was predominantly a mixture of Caribbean and Indian and the dishes were constantly being replenished.
The open air bar, open during the day, provided simple meals such as soups, pizzas, sandwiches and burgers, again all prepared on site. Pity this bar is closed in the evenings as it would be a lovely place for evening drinks.
The beaches either side of the central block are a bit on the shallow side – you really need to go the Caribbean side of the island to be able to swim and snorkel in deeper waters. There are plenty of sun loungers all along the gardens on either side as well as all around the pool in the centre so sun lounger bagging is totally unnecessary – how wonderful!
And for golfers there is a very good golf par 72 course which was in the process of being given a good revamp which it needed. There is another par 72 course a few miles away which is also worth tackling.
Tobago is a very nice and beautiful island and it is worth exploring a bit either with an organised tour or get a taxi driver to take you – it’s not too expensive and they are all good guides.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the sea, so no worries there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rumlimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your visit with us and we do hope that we would have the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Please let us know of your return and we would be certain to ensure your stay is just as memorable as your first visit.

Warmest regards,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Recently back from a 4 night stay at this hotel whilst in Trinidad and Tobago on holidays.
The hotel and grounds are beautiful, the location is Ok but need a car if you want to wander off and see the sights of the beautiful island.

The pros.

Kudos to the excellent staff who clearly enjoy their jobs
The check in was great -no delays friendly informative and helpful staff
We were transported to our room by golf cart which was a wonderful experience and a lovely touch
The room was clean and spotless and the sea views were stunning we felt right at home and very comfortable
The buffet breakfast was just Ok in that after 2 days it seem too repetitive with 2-3 added dishes, loved that we could have omelets made!
The Robinson Crusoe bar was fantastic and the staff there were friendly and excellent at all times we visited. The food served there was great
The cafe just infront of the main entrance was good for a coffee or a snack and just chilling out. The waitress was fantastic!
We hired a car and it was easy to get around to go do some sightseeing and visiting lovely beaches on the island so did not need to use the free shuttle

The cons........
On 2 out of 4 times housekeeping forgot to leave us towels
The inroom safe was broken on arrival and it took about 2 hours to get it sorted
The housekeeping was generally late! on one day we had to phone up after 4 pm to ask for housekeeping service to clean the room! this I believe was unacceptable, even worst was that we were told that there were lots of rooms to be cleaned and there was a staff shortage......this needs to be addressed
We had dinner 1 night in the buffet restaurant the food was not great and was way too pricey!!! also it was advertised as a caribbean buffet but apart from about 2 dishes there was nothing Caribbean about it!
I believe that every room should have a complimentary bottle of water maybe not everyday but at least on arrival! we have stayed in various hotels all over the world and most give you water daily and a complemetary fruit basket on your first day!
The golf course was still been re-done and all the holes were not open however I am not sure that this was noted on the website when we booked


All in all a beautiful experience however there are some small touches lacking and these should be addressed

Room Tip: Higher floors have less a/c noise and the north rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Londonjudy2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews on our Trip Advisor page.
We sincerely appreciate your feedback and have taken your comments to assist us in upgrading our services to our guests. It is only with your reviews are we able to improve on our services and provide complete guest satisfaction.

We certainly hope that we would have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the near future.

Please feel free to let us know of your next visit and we would ensure your stay in a memorable one.

Warmest wishes,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Magdalena Grand and what a wonderful week it was. The hotel is very spacious and clean and the rooms are so well designed with a staggered bedroom and large balcony layout, that the chance of noise from another room is minimal. The views of the sea are lovely and the staff and management were always incredibly helpful and went out of their way to meet our needs, especially John and Lorenzo. The food in the 3 restaurants that we dined in was very good indeed… especially the amazing and comprehensive complimentary breakfast buffet each morning and the buffet dinners in the evening. We have stayed in many hotels around the world and this rates amongst the best for its relaxed, intimate and warm atmosphere. Thank you everyone….. we would definitely stay there again if we venture back to Tobago.

Room Tip: Stayed in a suite in the north wing. Very quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Bob,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us!

It was such a pleasure to be of service and we certainly hope that you do venture back to this side of globe and visit with us in the near future.

Sunny wishes from Tobago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Going to Tobago was never at the Top of my List at any time, but my Husband surprised me with a weekend in Tobago for our Anniversary, to stay at the Magdalena Resort and I must say, it was nothing short of a 'Five Star Service Hotel'. The rooms are all Ocean View from what I gather, the Beach is calm, many a pool and Spa to choose from, they are all conveniently located, the Buffet for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner are too much of variety to mention. I will recommend this facility to everyone who would like to experience an International Service in a Local environment. Hats off to The Management and Staff at The Magdalena Beach Resort!!!!!!

Room Tip: Higher Floors have Less A/C unit Noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soraya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear Soraya,

We are thrilled to read your wonderful comment on your experience at the Magdalena Grand Beach Resort. We certainly strive to provide our guests with quality service and a memorable vacation. It was a pleasure to be of service to you and we look forward to having you with us soon again.

Warmest regards,
Magdalena Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
4.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
252 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
3.9 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range: $211 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing