We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel & good relaxing holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived at the hotel by taxi and weren't disappointed! Nice drive of golf course & grounds leading up to the main hotel building. Check in was quick & efficient and being greeted with a hot towel & refreshing cocktail was a nice touch! The bell boy who helped us to our room (Avalon) was polite & knowledgable telling us about Tobago & the hotel. We were in room 240 which was on the first floor. Nice & spacious room with all the amenities that you need, fridge, safe, iron, hair dryer, tea/coffee making facilities. Tv with some English speaking cable channels, reception was slow and it tended to freeze on occasion. Bathroom was nice, clean & large with bath and a separate shower. Our toilet when flushed sometimes got stuck and you had to ensure the handle was put back up, apart from that no complaints at all. We had a great view of the ocean and you could see it while lying in bed which was lovely! Balcony was lovely & had table & chairs and was great to watch sunset with a cocktail.

3 pools, main one in the centre which was near the bar & restaurants, was the busiest, the water was clean but think it could do with being repainted especially by the swim up bar area. There are 2 "satellite" pools one on each side of the main one. We spent most of our time at the smaller pools as they were extremely quiet (it was pretty much like we had our own private pool - divine)! The beach was ok to walk along, quite a bit of debris and could benefit from a but of a clean. We read on tripadvisor that the sea was rough and it was a bit, but we still saw plenty of people in the sea. Loungers, POD's and rattan beds were comfortable and available at all times.

We stayed on an all inc basis and it was great value. The cocktails were great, piña coladas were our particular fave on an afternoon at the pool bar. Breakfast was lovely with lots to choose from, I'm always a sucker for omelettes, I'd give them a 7 out of 10. Lunch in the Pembois restaurant (made to order for lunch) (main restaurant - buffet in evenings) went a couple of times found it to be very nice! The staff are lovely and friendly! Lunch at the grill restaurant was always good & large portions! Staff here were a little more laid back. The pool bar tended by Kevin & Lennox was great! They were super efficient & polite, a great credit! When they weren't on duty the service wasn't as top notch, but still not terrible. The evening buffet at Pembois was good and there was always a lot of choice, lots of fresh food & local dishes, great, no chips in sight! I'm a bit of a chocoholic so there wasn't enough selection of desserts for me, but hey ho it saved me a few calories! Two visits to the fine dining restaurant was included, one of which we went to for my birthday & we got a bottle of prosecco with compliments. The options were good we thoroughly enjoyed the first time however on the second visit I think we chose the wrong things! The staff were amazing tho especially Emmanuel! Robinson Crusoe pub served food (just 6 things i think, we didn't sample any) drinks good & different cocktails available! The cocktail bar was always pretty empty apart from Sunday night when it comes alive with a local jazz band! Was a great night, Sonja & team were great!

Free Wi-Fi at the hotel was a nice touch. We got the free shuttle to pigeon point which was nice, from there you can go on various trips etc Nylon Pool, Buccoo Reef etc. Walked around the grounds.

It was all in all a lovely relaxing week away with nice surroundings, good food & drink! It was a nice quiet resort, busier over the weekend. We'd definitely recommend it!!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank dbjm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard S, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you for your very detailed review, we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. It was indeed a pleasure to host you. Hurry back!
Best wishes from the Magdalena family.................

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,109 - 1,115 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

If you want a really relaxing holiday- this is the place. By far the best resort in Tobago and one of the best in the Caribbean. Really friendly staff, excellent layout of hotel, safe and scenic surroundings in Tobago Plantations, nice rooms with great views of the Atlantic oceans. Gorgeous lobby. Spacious and people friendly pools. And the breakfast was good too. Beds are wonderful. Make sure you rent a bike and ride around. You should use a rental car here though as it is located a distance from the main road.
More Trinis should come here instead of half baked places around Store Bay.
So what if the beach is rough and sand a little dark. Just go Pigeon Point for a day and you will be fine.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have even better views. Only three/two storeys high though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vjktrinidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard S, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments; come and see us again very soon; we receive many accolades from our Trinidadian clientele and we appreciate the loyalty. Public holidays coming up this week! Hint! Hint!
Best wishes from the Magdalena family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

So we checked into the Magdalena Grand Beach Resort Hotel and on the counter of the reception desk is a TripAdvisor sign that proclaims that this hotel is rated 4.5 stars. WRONG!
As to the rooms, very nice. However, my wife and I are used to taking hot showers. We complained to the front desk each day that at best the shower was luke warm. The shower was never fixed. The attitude of the maintenance department was "oh, you want a HOT shower?" This is not camp; this is supposedly one of the finest resorts in the country. The sink in the bathroom was plugged-up the day we arrived. We called the maintenance department who sent up staff to repair the problem. The sink would drain for a few minutes and would again be clogged. We would complain again but to no avail. It was never really repaired. Our package included a daily breakfast which was good. Other meals taken at the property were average at best and very expensive. We were informed by some of the staff that the original owner of the property went bankrupt and that the government of Trinidad & Tobago had taken over and was running the place. This property could be really first class with the proper management but right now it has a long way to go. Hopefully a private owner/operator can turn this place around. The beach was really disgusting with debris all over. So when we were checking out of the hotel to go home the manager approached us and asked how we liked the hotel. We told her. She shrugged and walked away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wirggley's dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard S, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank you for your review. After a majority of very positive reviews for the last year we are particularly disappointed to see where we failed to meet your expectations. I am not in the habit of making lame excuses, we apologise sincerely and I do wish we had had the opportunity to meet with you in an attempt to rectify these issues. I can assure you your review has been sent to every manager this morning in order to ensure that we focus clearly on what you, the guest, are telling us.
Again my apologies and I hope we get an opportunity at some stage to prove to you that this is not our norm and we can, and do, do better than this on a daily basis.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

It starts well with the transfer from the airport taking about 10 minutes. The 2 bell hops gave us a friendly welcome as did the efficient Reception. We were soon in our room.
The room was large, spacious and well appointed. The bathroom was also large with a big tub. Toiletries were of good quality. The view from the private balcony through the palms to the ocean was stupendous. There was free Wi fi.

The bed was large and comfortable.

The whole hotel looked as if it had been freshly painted and everything was very clean

The choice in the buffet restaurant at breakfast and dinner was excellent and catered for all tastes. Breakfast on the terrace was often interesting with water pistols being provided to scare off the birds. Valerie served us most mornings with a beautiful smile.

The Salaka grill near the pool served large portions and we found that one meal was sufficient for the 2 of us.

The Kali`na restaurant was a little expensive but the food was very good.

The hotel faces the Atlantic Ocean and the sea was rarely calm. Few people swam in the sea but for those who like waves this was ideal. The swimming pools were clean.

Sun tanning was a pleasure as this hotel had the most comfortable loungers I have ever come across.No fighting for a good place as there were sun loungers by the pool, alongside the beach and sheltered by the palms. The cool breeze made life on the sun loungers very pleasant.

There were so few people on the beach that I expected Tom Hanks to appear as "The Castaway" at any moment.

To watch the numerous birds diving for fish was a strenuous activity. Indeed bird lovers would love the multitude of birds around the hotel.

The hotel is isolated. It is about 600 metres from the main and when you get there you have to take an expensive taxi. The hotel does run a free shuttle to Pigeon Point.
The hotel is very quiet in the evenings. There is some evening entertainment but it is limited and the hotel management needs to address this.

In short this is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting.The charming staff, we didn`t come across one without a smile and a warm welcome, made this a superb holiday.
When we have a really first class holiday we usually have a rule that we will not go back as the second visit is never as good. Perhaps we will break this rule next year.!

Room Tip: Select a room on the first or second floor as the view is better. Some rooms are a distance from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank williwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard S, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Your letter brought a smile to our faces; thank you so much for your generous comments. I will make sure Valerie sees your commendation. We have recently established an entertainment think tank so please rest assured we are working on providing some different entertainment offerings. We really hope you will make a second visit to see us................
Many thanks from the Magdalena family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We are enjoying our stay again this year. The pools are great as the depth is excellent for the kids. No complaint except that this year I didn't have my car so we had to walk into the hotel from the hi way. Taxis are to expensive to take into the hotel from the town. Some form of shuttle should be available from the hotel to the main gate/road. Mind you, we were able to walk the distance in the day but at night the way in is too dark to walk back.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Perry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard S, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for your review on this your second stay with us, we are indeed grateful you chose to return. Your remarks re a shuttle to the highway are noted however I must be upfront and say it is not our intention to offer a shuttle at this time. We do shuttle our guests to and from Pigeon Park Heritage Park several times a day and that will continue. Nevertheless when you return for your third stay (as we know you will!!) do talk to us and we will see if a solution can be found so you can enjoy your stay even more.

Best wishes and again thank you for making it Magdalena Grand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Took the family here for a week just to relax and it was very good. The breakfast service is excellent and the grounds are well maintained.

The location is ideal. I took my mountain bike and enjoyed riding the paths along the golf course at sunrise. In the evenings after a full day of soaking up Tobago, The Atlantic surf hummed in the background as the cool evening breezes cooled our sun kissed bodies.

The manager was very accessible and responsive.

The staff are world class when it comes to service, the bell hop greeted us at the front and he set a high standard of customer service that for me is now the benchmark.

This is our new Tobago vacation spot.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SupaDupaTrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard S, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for making it Magdalena Grand; we continue to welcome more and more guests from our sister island of Trinidad and our aim is to ensure you leave rest and relaxed so you will return to us, the preferred destination in Tobago..

Best wishes from the Magdalena Grand family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Formerly the Hilton hotel this resort has been fully refitted and re-launched as the Grand Beach resort...would not say it has a grand beach as the better beaches are on the other side of the island but they do offer a free shuttle bus service to pigeon point at 9 & 11am each day (well worth the trip) The hotel is very nice with good facilities and I can recommend the on-site dive school with the islands only custom made dive practice pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard S, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Many thanks for your review, we are especially pleased to hear your review of our five star PADI dive facility. I hope we can host you here again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
4.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
252 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
3.9 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range: $211 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing