We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Haven Hotel(Bacolet Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Acajou Hotel(Grande Riviere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mt Plaisir Estate Hotel(Grande Riviere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,520)
Filter reviews
1,520 results
Traveler rating
607
484
248
111
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
484
248
111
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatlantic sidethe fine dining restaurantrobinson crusoepigeon pointpiano barmain poolevening buffettobago plantationssalaka grillfree shuttlemagdalena grandhalf boardocean frontswim up bartennis courtsall inclusive packagelocal dishes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,243 - 1,248 of 1,520 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were a group of 22 people, my husband and son flew in earlier than the rest of us and they were allowed to check in earlier than they should off. The food is awesome, and the breakfast is one of the best compare to other hotels. The view from the room(we were facing the ocean) is beautiful and the pool was mostly welcome by the younger kids. The weather was hot and the hotel shuttle was very nice, the driver was very friendly. On behalf of all of us I would like to say a special THANK YOU to the Manager Hollis and Hazel Taylor you guys were really great, we were given some extra complimentary time in one of the room since my cousin was recovering from an operation Also Thanks to the hotel restaurant manager he was very friendly and polite and met all our requests. Thank You Magdalena for making our holiday a memorable one. We are planning to visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angie512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joerg W, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for the time to post a review of your stay at the Magdalena Grand Beach Resort. All of us are thrilled to see that we succeeded in making your vacation such a success and I share your comments with all employees.

I gladly pass on your kind comments to Hazel, Hollis and the Restaurant Manager and we all look forward to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Magdalena Grand Tobago from the 6th to the 21st of March 2013. The hotel is in a lovely setting, a 750 acre estate comprising a championship golf course, private villas and of course the hotel itself. We were in room 334 which was a superior double on the top floor. The room was excellent, spacious and very clean. From the large balcony we had a good view of the sea. All rooms look seaward but the higher you are the better the view.

There is not as much to do on Tobago as on some other Caribbean islands but it is a very relaxed and friendly island. Likewise the hotel did not have a huge amount of activities going on but it certainly delivered what we needed, which was two weeks relaxing on a sun lounger, reading, sleeping, just switching off and re-charging the batteries. It’s quiet, you can walk for about 2 miles along the beach and guess what, no one will try to sell you anything !!

Being on the Atlantic side there was always a breeze, but far from being a problem it was actually a great benefit. Always lovely and warm, it kept the humidity down and the heat bearable, plus we never got bothered by any insects. We gave up using an anti-mosquito device in our room, it really wasn’t necessary when we where there.

There are three restaurants at the hotel. The main Pembois restaurant is mostly buffet style with the occasional themed evening. You can sit either inside or outside here. Food here is quite acceptable although nothing too exciting. Salaka is open air and used more for snacks at lunch time and is open Friday and Saturday evenings for dinner while Kalina is a franchised restaurant serving much better a la carte fair. If you are on an “all Inclusive” package, you get vouchers to dine here twice per week.

The all inclusive package is really worth it as the nearest restaurants are all a taxi ride away and prices for food and drinks at the hotel are quite high.

There are two main bars in the hotel, The Robinson Crusoe Pub which was a bit soulless and Tavaco, which was the only piano bar we know that doesn’t have a pianist !. A pity really because this was a nice cocktail lounge and could have been an excellent evening retreat. To be fair there was entertainment in here on Sunday evenings.

We saw the odd reviews of the staff being unfriendly but we didn’t find that at all. Most were very friendly but as always in life, you get back what you give out. So smile, engage with them, treat them in a friendly and respectful manner and that’s how they’ll treat you. A few staff stood out. Hans in Tavaco was a real asset. A very friendly guy who mixes a great cocktail, a superb brandy sour was my favourite, Jaleel was learning fast from Hans and Lennox was developing a pretty potent punch of his own (rum that is). And not to forget Kevin who kept us well watered at the pool bar.

Magdalena delivered for us and we would be happy to recommend it and to go there again.

Paul & Susie

Room Tip: To the right of the hotel has better views (when viewed from the sea)
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joerg W, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your detailled review on your recent stay at the Magdalena Grand Beach Resort.
It was a pleasure to receive your Trip Advisor posting this Morning. You certainly made my day and the entire staff of the hotel. I hope you won't mind us using your overall perception and observations as this is the exact concept that we are aiming to deliver.

The Kali'na restaurant is not actually franchised, we operate it ourselves. We take note of your suggestion to have a full-time piano player. I shall pass on your kind comments to Hans, Jaleel, Kevin and Lennox.

Please let me know, when you would like to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Postives :

- Good standard rooms, pool, restuarants, bar
- Nicely set along the Atlantic coast
- Welcome fruit and drink in the room were appreciated

Negatives :

- Large hotel that was pretty empty when we visited, therefore lacked a bit of atmosphere
- Cut off on its own plantation from the rest of Tobago. Didn't get a true sense of what Tobago is like until we left the Magdalena and went to stay in a much smaller place on the Caribbean coast
- I had pre-booked a taxi through the hotel to collect us after our flight over to Tobago from the UK. Taxi booking was confirmed by the hotel in an email. Taxi was not there to meet us and took me several (no doubt expensive) calls on my mobile to get arranged. We were about the last people to be collected at the airport which isn't ideal after c. 12 hours travelling.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camber74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joerg W, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you for your time and posting your ovservations. Let me apologise again in short coming in not having the transport available.
I am pleased to see that in general your stay was satisfactory and take note of your comments pertaining to atmosphere.

I hope, you will give us another opportunity to show to you that we can do better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Everything you would need for a relaxing holiday. Great location, friendly staff, good food spacious comfortable rooms and hot weather. Even the continuous wind was OK. Views from the rooms and hotel just like you see in the brochures. The fault with the hotel was the slow food and bad drinks service. It was a very quiet time in the hotel with only about a dozen tables at some sittimg, but it still took anything up to 30 minuites to get a meal and a drink. On one occasion we had started our main course before the first drink arrived!!
SHAME about the golf course. 18 great holes of great golf, some wonderful views over the water, need your thinking cap on for this course. Spoilt by the attitude of the pro shop staff, if you could find them. The course needed a lot of work done on it. The green staff were to be found asleep on their tractors or lounging in the trailers under the palm trees and on one occasion sitting watching a portable TV. We had booked 7 rounds of golf each and only managed to play all 18 holes once. The rest of the rounds some greens were unplayable as the watering system had been left on and the greens and approaches were flooded. We were unable to play a total of 25 greens over our 7 rounds of golf. We mentioned it to the staff on the first day it happened and they promised to notify the green staff manager. Obviously it had no effect!! The only day we putted out on all 18 greens the poorly mantained buggy blew a tyre (no tread on any tyre), and we had to wait 20 mins until two locals, who were playing behind us, to come along. They tryed to get someone from the clubhouse but no one answered the phone. They kindly gave us one of their buggies to conyinue playing. We did tell the hotel staff who said they would note it and tell the course manager.
Despite the problems with the golf I would recommend the hotel, but warn them of the slow service, and even tell golfers to try it out, but warn them of the shortcomings.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joerg W, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for taking the time to post comments on your vacation experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel, services and amenities for the most part. We take note of your remarks concerning the food and drinks service. These remarks are being incorporated in our on-going Training & Coaching programs throughout the hotel.

The golf course operation is not part of the Magdalena Grand Beach Resort Operation. However, golf is an important part of our destination offering. And as such, I have taken your paragraph on the golf and personally delievered it to the Golf Pro and re-emphasized the valuable points you raised. Let me also state, there are plans for the golf course to be improved and we expect to have very positive news in this regard shortly.

A sincere thanks for your frank comments and we appreciate very much your confidence in the hotel and the destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Lovely spot,great beach and pools, beautiful room, great breakfasts (lovely helpful staff), but wasted because of a grasping and mean attitude by the hotel's management. Polycotton sheets, poor room service, a stinking dead cow left rotting on the beach for 2 days. Not up to standard, and overpriced. Sad to see what could be a fabulous hotel being spoiled - no wonder it was almost empty.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventuresse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joerg W, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to express your views on your recent stay at our Resort. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the location, beach, pools, rooms, the breakfast buffet and found our staff helpful and friendly.

It is most unfortunate that you felt a mean and unfriendly managment attitude, I take this comment very seriously and have taken immediate steps to address this matter. Improvements are already been noticed. Our linen is 100% cotton and not Polycotton.

We were negatively impacted by two cows, being washed ashore during your stay. "A first time experience for the Resort in ten years", local authorities and the Environmental Department. Therefore, it took sometime to obtain a conscencus of opinion between the various authorities how to deal with this matter.

We strive to keep our hotel up to standard and offer value. The hotel business levels during the month of March are in excess of 65%. I hope you will give us another opportunity to prove that we can do better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews