We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill out!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Lovely hotel, there are adult only pools which are rarely used so it was like having a private pool.
ok so bar and food prices are definitely London not island and it's worth venturing out. The hotel is a little isolated which makes the all inclusive a good deal. Service is slow even by Caribbean standards but always charming.
Rooms are clean and well equipped, and it's very family friendly. The beach is sadly needs cleaning every day and a lot of debris washes up - but it is safe. The swimming is probably only recommende in the sea for those who are strong swimmers. Kite surfers use this part of the coast, which are great to watch. I would stay here again even though it's a bit of a couples hotel. I did meet other singles here and given I really wanted peace and quiet I definitely got it. This is not party central - that was a good thing.
Warning and room number ending 46-56 is opposite the hotel utility area and there is constant notice so avoid these if you want true peace (there are three floors of rooms).

Room Tip: 146-156, 246-256 and 346-356 Are noisy - I'm a city dweller so didn't bother me, but if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank light_traveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joerg W, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

many thanks for your time to post your review on your stay at the Magdalena Grand Beach Resort. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your experience generally. We take note of your comments regarding food and beverage pricing and constantly review to ensure that we are competitive. I am sure, you would appreciate that on an island location, you have to take into account shipping, local duties and taxes. Nonetheless, we look for ways to improve the situation.

Once again, thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,171 - 1,177 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you can't decide to stay at this hotel or the Coco Reef TRUST ME STAY HERE!!!!
We visited the Coco Reef (which we renamed Coco Teef!) and asked the staff to show us all types of rooms they have there. The rooms at Coco Teef are very dated and there is a smell of sewage throughout the hotel due to a flood a few years ago - we even heard one guest say she would have prefered to have stayed at home and wanted to leave!!
The "beach" (which looks amazing on their website) is a tiny strip of sand and not at all what is advertised on their website. The hotel pool is tiny and was dirty when we were there for a visit - lots of leaves in the pool.

The Magdalena is better value for money and the rooms and stunning views make your stay here worthwhile.
We did have to make a complaint regarding our room however, the hotel manager Vince was AMAZING and resolved our issue within 2 hours of meeting him. Everytime we saw him he would always ask how our stay was going and if there was anything he could do to help - really nice and helpful man which I have nothing but good things to say about.

Some of the staff could be more pleasant but people like Hollis, Kerry, Richard & Emmanuel (Fine dining) and Cutie more than made up for them.

Where possible book as all inclusive (which e did) as we heard it was quite expensive to eat out or in

Room Tip: This is a large hotel so try and get a room close to lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We ended up here by accident -- the Bacolet Beach Club would not honor our prepaid reservation and sent us here after we made a big stink. I agree with pretty much all the previous reviews -- its a nice property with expansive beachfront and nice pools. Rooms are well appointed and all have views. Service can be spotty, but its the Caribbean. Eat out when possible -- food at hotel is pricey and not the best. Overall a good experience. Biggest complaint -- our bed was very hard. Hotel looks like the photos on the internet but I could see how picky people could be disappointed in some service aspects. The property was recently converted from a Hilton property to an independent hotel so I am sure they are working on the wrinkles. Rent a car and explore the island. The Northside road is an adventure. Road to Hana type views through the tropical rain forest, gut wrenching one lane curves, goats and chickens and sometimes a cow in the road. Spectacular beaches. The beachside snack shack(Eula's -- I think) at Englishman's Bay has great local food -- fish or chicken served in curry sauce. Our best meal on the island aside from the delish burger w/garlic mayo at King's Bay Cafe (its on the map -- closed Wed and Thurs). Take Northside road through Charlotteville to the one lane, cliffside dirt road that leads to Pirate's Bay. We had the whole beach to ourselves one afternoon. If beaches and rustic charm are your thing Tobago is for you.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies and ocean views. Some on the first floor have outdoor jacuzzis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tabarber99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joerg W, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time and posting a review on your recent stay at the Magdalena Grand Beach Resort.
It is great to hear that in general you were satisfied with your stay and I have taken note of your observations in respect to the service. I have asked that our Training & Coaching programs are including such aspects as we strive to offer you a positive vacation experience and high levels of service for value.

Once again, thank you for your time and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Can't believe the variety of reviews of this hotel! People need to remember this is in the Caribbean and the pace of life is slower and after all we are there on holiday & go to chill out!! We found the staff very friendly during our stay & if we had to wait to be served it just meant longer to enjoy the views, sunshine & chill! We thought the food was excellent with a wide choice & particularly enjoyed the grand buffet with lots of local dishes to try.
This hotel provided us with everything we expect of a carribean holiday, & we came home feeling very relaxed.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Auntiesocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joerg W, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Guests,

we are thrilled to see that you have rated us with five out of five and that you had a great vacation experience with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The location of this hotel on the Atlantic beaches is very nice. The food is very good, the service is excellent. The property is very well maintained with 3 pools with ocean views. The beach is nice with many places to sit under the palm trees. I think that it is perhaps the best on the island. It is modern, clean and well equipped.

Room Tip: This is a very nice and modern and there is little to compare with it on Tobago. All of the rooms f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ignatsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joerg W, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are excited to see that you have rated us with five out of five points. You surely made our day and I have shared your kind comments with all our employees.

I appreciate you taking the time to share with us your observations - We value this feedback enormously.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is supposedly the best hotel on the island and is rated 4 star plus but I'm afraid I have to disagree. Some things about this stay were very pleasant but others let it down and whilst they didn't spoil the holiday they were enough to put us off the island in future. This hotel could quite easily regain its grade if improvements were made to the general attitude of staff from management down. A few of them shone (particularly Valerie, Hans,Saniccia and Robyn) but the majority don't seem to realise that the guests are paying their wages and they should at least appear to be interested in providing a service. I tried to get a meeting with the manager, Vince (--), but after a week of waiting it didn't materialise and I presumed he was no better than the rest .Beware - they tell you very little - you are supposed to find things out for yourself. One of the females on the concierge guest shouldn't be in that job she is so poor. Beware - on Wednesdays the only options for dining are room service or a "grand buffet" which was inferior to the normal buffet and not worth the money. On this evening both the other restaurants are closed. I have to say that breakfasts were very good but the Salaka restaurant in the evening is no better than a cafe and expensive and the gourmet restaurant Kalina is very pleasant but not worth paying extra for.Fortunately we were on B&B so could escape on several evenings to eat out and even after a £20 return taxi fare it was still cheaper and better. Take a tip - go B&B. Each day there was a leaflet describing activities the following day but usually no one knew even late the previous evening what was on nor at what time - often they didn't take place anyway due to lack of support. Caribbean hotels are quite expensive at this time of year, which we expect, but we would like to come away feeling it was money well spent.

Room Tip: Must be top floor for a good seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank henhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joerg W, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you for taking the time to post comments on your vacation experience. I have passed on your kind comments to Valerie, Hans, Saniccia and Robyn and I am pleased to see that they were able to make a difference to your overall time at the resort.

It is most unfortunate that you felt an unfriendly attitude from our managers and employees. I take this very seriously and have taken immediate action to address this matter by incorporating it in our current training & coaching programs. I am happy to say that some improvement has already been noticed.

I take specific note of your comments regarding the selection of restaurants and their price level as well as the Daily Activities.

We are proud to offer a positive vacation experience and high levels of service for value. Obviously, this was not the case during your visit.
I do hope that you give us another chance to prove to you that we can deliver much better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We only went for a week (thank goodness) because we experienced the worst service ever experienced in any hotel we have stayed in. On the positive side the bedrooms were well appointed and the food was generally ok. Most staff are lazy and we experienced problems on every meal except 2. Getting cutlery and tea at breakfast proved problematic every day in most cases we had to go to the counter to be handed it. In the evenings service was slow with a less than 50% chance of getting what you ask for without chasing. If you are a wine drinker there is no choice in the buffet restaurant (1 white and 1 red). The swimming pool has enough beds but very few umbrellas so you find yourself moving with the sun. The towel staff are only at their post some of the time so towels only get booked in sometimes and when you return them you get into trouble for not doing it yourself. I had arguments with staff on 3 occassions and could not get through to them that the system doesnt work. Management are very illusive probably worried that someone is going to complain. I could carry on with other problems. All in all a terrible time was had by us and we definately will not be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Poolejacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joerg W, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your time to write on your recent experience at the Magdalena Grand Beach Resort. We are pleased to learn that you found your accommodation satisfactory.

It is disappointing to learn, that we did not live up to your service expectations in many ways. We take note of your comments in detail and have included them in our Training & Coaching programs.

We hope that you will give us a second chance to prove to you that we can do much better.
Generally speaking, we strive to provide the highest standard of service to all our guests; obviously we missed the mark with you on this occasion.

Once again, thanks for your valuable time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
4.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
250 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.9 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
3.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range: $210 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing