We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Tobago !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best in Tobago !!!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

It's the newest resort, recently done over. Everything was perfect except the food and beverage staff needs to offer friendlier service!!!! There was a small issue with black birds attacking your food when left unattended at breakfast time . And I would recommend having a rental car to get around .
Fantastic ocean view with lounging!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelEnthusiast23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    432
    228
    103
    62
See reviews for
418
593
37
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Abit late with my review but I must say it was a very good hotel. I only have a 3 very gripes with this hotel so let me get them out the way first. 1. For some reason there was a leak in or room so the bedroom floor was soaking due to the air con. But they swiftly moved us to another room so not too fused about that. 2. The only other gripe is the fact that the hotel is situated on large plantation grounds so which means you need a car or its a 30 minute walk out of the grounds. if you call a cab from the hotel the charge you 3 times the outside the hotel price. 3 the beach is unswimable unless you wanna commit suicide as its rocky and rough as its on the Atlantic side. they do compensate for that by doing 2 free journeys in the morning to 2 different beaches store bay and pigeon point. Pigeon point you have to pay to go in food and drink is overpriced there and the beach aint that great, Storebay on the other hand is free to visit and is a much better quality beach and food and drink there is very cheap. A good tip is not to book with the driver for trips he will rip you off as all he will do is pay the real price for teh trips and charge you near double. when you enter the beach haggle for the glass bottom trip as it very enjoyable do not pay beyond $70 each for adults which is equal to about £7 a good tip is to say someone before the person hustling you offered you that price. The hotels breakfast is also super lots to eat and the gym and pool are great also they have pay workers incase you wanna leave your children for a few hours.

The island is very cheap when it comes to going out to eat I liked eating at chef and bar b que you can get loads of different dishes on one plate for about £4. Taking cabs on the street was safe and extremely cheap if you are driving you wont believe it because petrol is equal to 15 p a litre BARGAIN BUCKET or what.

Back to the hotel all the staff are very helpful the door staff and security will give you the best tips on places to go and prices you should be charged so tip them well. Also be sure to go and eat at jemma's treehouse restaurant that is actually on a tree very good food.

Room Tip: anywhere to the left off the hotel is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed 1st week of December on All inclusive basis.

THE Hotel

Turned off the main road into a gated community, the hotel is about 5 mins drive through the golf course. The hotel has a beautiful entrance and lobby all decorated quite beautifully for christmas. Check in was quck and efficient, even though all inc you need to hand over a credit card for any extras you may incur. You are greeted with a cold drink and a refreshing towel whilst checking in. Whisked off to our room by buggy. We were told we could use the buggys whenever we wanted to just call, our room was a 2nd floor room in the south wing and it is only a 5 min walk to reception and we never used the buggys again until we checked out. Check out is 12 noon, but we asked for a later checkout as we were not leaving for the airport until 3. So checkout was extended until 1 pm free of charge.

ROOM

Our room was lovely, just like the photographs. It had a large bed, which was very comfortable. There is a TV with 15 channels, an iron and ironing board in the closet. The closet has ample space both hanging and shelving. There is also a mini bar which is empty on arrival, you can request this be stocked at an extra charge from AI. We had ours stocked with 6 diet coke,6 beers and two orange juice and it was quite expensive about £30. Thhe rooms also have a coffee maker and if you run out of supplies you can always ask for more either by asking a maid if there is one about, or calling reception and it would be supplied within minutes. This is included in the all inclusive.

The bathroom is nicely appointed with walk in seperate shower, wich always had hot water, a seperate bath, plenty of towels and face cloths which you don't always see these days, and a supply of toiletries. We didn't use the toiletries as we had our own, so I am unsure if they are restocked as used.

I loved our balcony, they are all sea facing and I enjoyed reading my kindle out there early morning waiting for the sun to come up, listening to the ocean breaking on the shore.

FOOD

The breakfast is very good and has a variety of dishes every day. I personally liked the made to order omellettes. You can eat inside or outside on the terrace, which we did daily. Lunch can be taken at either the restaurant where you order off a menu, or the grill where they do a variety of sandwiches and wraps.

Dinner is where I struggled but then I only eat very plain food, my partner found the food varied and very good. The buffet varies ever night they have carribean night, asian night and BBQ night and seafood night to name a few.

The AI includes 2 visits to the fine dining restaurant and the food and service is excellent. You book this with the concierge and hand the vouchers over in the retaurant.

There is also a coffe shop at the entrance to the hotel. Excellent lattes and cookies although this is not part of the AI but prices are very reasonable.

BEACH AND SWIMMING POOL

We didn't use the beach at the hotel but there were sunbeds and umberellas. We used the free suttle at 9.00 am to go to pidgeon point twice. The shuttle is free but there is a 20 TT charge to enter the beach. There are sunbeds for hire as an extra. Pidgeon point is a lovely calm sea. We took the return transfers at 2.00pm and were back in time for the end of lunch service.

Thepools are chilly once you are in they are ok. The girl at the swim up bar makes great pina coladas. There are sunbeds and just a few umberellas around the pool.

DRINKS AND BARS

There is a good selection of all all inclusive drinks and each bar has a menu showing wich drinks are included in the AI. I spent the week drinking white russians and cosmopolitans at night and pina coladas during the day. My partner worked his way through the cocktail menu.

There are two bars, the piano bar and the pub" both are excellent, brilliant service and very friendly staff. The pub has a band on Friday nights and the piano bar has a singer on Sunday, my partner said she was brilliant.

OVERALL

This was a very relaxing holiday. You have to sign for everthing apart from breakfast, so you can see the cost of everything and it would be quite expensive to not be all inclusive. The hotel is beautiful, all staff are warm and friendly. I would return in a heartbeat and reccommend it highly.

Room Tip: All rooms are seafacing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank jotuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

To start off with, we had a great time and most likely it is the best hotel / resort on the island. The location is great, but if you want to see anything of the island besides Pigeon pont, you'll need a car or take taxis.

The staff in general are friendly, but it is a wild mix between very relaxed and blatantly incompetent. The Bell boys are great! But the bar staff at the pool side have no sense of time and are uninterested. the concierge was brilliant in organising a rental car.

Our room was never properly cleaned and the maid never emptied the coffee maker. It wasn't dirty, but also not clean. They also forgot to come all together one day. After we had reported this, they only showed up with fresh towels (although they had a couple hours during dinner time)

Do not take the Dinner buffet. It is of medium quality, but a complete ripp off for 260 TTD per person. There are very nice restaurant just a couple minutes drive away (Me Shells, La Tartaruga, La Cantina for instance). The breakfast buffet however is very nice.

In conclusion: we'd probably go here again, it is a good hotel, but it is not top class. Probably 3 european stars.

Tobago is great though! Go for a hike with Emile Serrette, brilliant guide (http://www.naturetrektnt.com/)

Room Tip: I would stay away from the main building (room274 for instance) the air conditioning unit seems loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cowsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

On arrival to Magdalena we were not happy as there was no transport or rep to meet us at the airport and the attitude of Virgin rep Maria was appallling, ( I have complained and recieved no reply!!! so be careful when booking with virgin as this was definately not what i expected) Luckily for us the hotel staff were exceptional including front desk! They soon gave us a welcome that we had expected... we were shown to our rooms with no fuss and given full information on the hotel ameneties - the hotel is fabulous, we were only there for 3 days but would happily have lost ourselves and never returned!!! Our room was perfect, clean and stocked. To have breakfast in the morning with a falcon and kestral is amazing, it is super to watch nature combat nature, with kestral is used to scare away the birds from the tables and dining areas and the chap who manages them does a super job.

The food was very good, and personally i thinkk this hotel 'thought outside of the box' with menus, it was not your normal all inclusive it was far better and outstanding.

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, it is unfortunate we were only there 3 days and could not explore the island due to the rep Maria being very rude on our arrival we certainly were taken aback and did not even think to ask about trips that we had wanted to do (Ie island tour) and the following day was her day off, and we were leaving the day after. we had taken this island hop (from Barbados) as we are getting married in the carribean this year (2013) and wanted to see what the island was like, but guess we will just have to book and go back :) lol

There was however 1 disappointment. The beach really is unadvisable, and a free shuttle bus is put on daily, however you have to pay to go onto the beach which we were not told, so that set us back as we had taken small amount of money just for drinks.

Highly recommend this hotel. would definately go back :)

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor near to ameneties, ie pool, and dining area, view was of the beach and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in early December 2012 for two weeks and the impression of the hotel was so different from the Front Desk Staff. All the staff at the Front Desk need to be trained. Mostly, the woman are very rule and there's a Night Auditor, Ricardo who is very impolite. I am a General Manager of a hotel in Huston, Texas and before becoming a General Manager, I was a Front Office Manager for fifteen (15) years. When I am on vacation at any hotel, I observe the environment of the hotel and the staff in general. What I have observed, is that the night staff at Magdalena lacks overnight supervision. There were two night auditors on duty some nights and when you go to the Front Desk with a question, you can tell right away that they just woke up from sleep. Security Officers were seen sleeping in the lobby and loud laughing coming from the back office and when I asked who's the Night Manager on duty, there's no Night Manager. In a big hotel with 200 rooms and no overnight manager. Is that a good impression? What does that say about the hotel? Is that the type of staff you want to represent your hotel? The Front Office Manager needs to take full responsibility for the Front Office and the behavior of the staff at the Front Desk. Sleeping on duty is instant dismissal.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Huggins1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband planned our honeymoon and I was very pleased with his choice! The front of the resort looks amazing first of all. Then, when you get inside, a friendly gentleman takes your bag, you are greeted with a welcome drink, and a cool towel for your face (that's right!) Then on the way to your room, they explain all of the great things to do there. Also, the staff is AMAZING!!! We made friends with the staff especially the ones who worked at the breakfast buffet ;-) The staff are great and friendly people who will go out of their way for you, and truly make you feel welcome. Food - AMAZING: different things everyday for the morning buffet! View - AMAZING, especially for people like my husband and I who come from the busy city. Rooms are cozy, beautiful, CLEAN, peaceful. The rooms are like a 2 in 1 style, with 2 T.V's and 2 washrooms, a Jacuzzi outside so you can sit and sit some drinks while looking at the calm sea at night. I cannot say enough about this place. I recommended it to all of my friends, and I'm recommending it to you! You will NOT be disappointed! I want to go back sooooo badly, hopefully soon!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Essence R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
4.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
3.2 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Property: Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing