We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We visited earlier this month and the weather, despite it being the rainy season, was fantastic. The hotel was only a portion accomodated as a result but the staff were all still attentive and professional. We'd opted for the all inclusive option, which was a good decision, as not only was the food outstanding but their were no other restaurants close by, it would have necessitated a taxi ride or a very long walk!! Unusually the lunch was a la carte and the dinner's were buffet style rather than the other way around. The buffets were first class with plently of choice and variety of meat and fish dishes, together with a pasta station and a vegetarian option. Most dishes had a caribbean slant to them, which in my opinion enhanced the experience. All hot dishes were regularly topped up and as a result the temperature and quality was always excellent. The all inclusive option included 2 dinners at the al a carte restaurant on site, the menu here was very comprehensive, and the food and service here was excellent. The accomodation was also excellent with very comfy beds and a balcony with a table and 2 chairs overlooking the Atlantic Ocean with great views of the sunrise. The grounds are very extensive, including a golf course, though as non-golfers we didn't utilise this facility. The pool area was very clean, the water was a perfect temperature and the pool bar was fully utilised!! Special mentions to the following staff, David and Helen and, most impressively for his puzzlers with matchsticks, Shellon, in the a la carte restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NAppleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,270 - 1,276 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Newly refurbished hotel in impressive grounds. Stayed there for a week with my family and it was mainly an enjoyable stay. We were all inclusive and I would certainly recommend taking this option as the prices were exceptionally high otherwise.
The rooms were nice with easy access to swimming pools. We had a small pool almost outside the rear of our room that was hardly used by anyone else.
Food was of varied quality. Breakfast in the buffet restaurant was fine but you often had to wait to be seated. There were usually hordes of people at breakfast but they disappeared afterwards. They were not at the pools or bars and were not at any other meals. Perhaps they were on b&b or stopping for breakfast on island day trips?
Lunch was a la carte at the beach and buffet restaurants and the food was good. Dinner at the buffet restaurant was poor most nights. The fine dining restaurant was much better and you could dine twice a week as part of the all inclusive. An extensive menu and good service.
The sports bar was very slow with service. The cocktail bar was excellent. Again both were expensive if you were not on all inclusive.
On the downside, some of the service was erratic. One day our room was not cleaned and the back door lock was broken. We phoned reception about both matters about 6.00 in the evening. By 8.00 nothing had been sorted out. I went to reception and was told by a surly member of staff that the operator had been informed! I never found out who this operator was! Fortunately a bell boy overheard the conversation and he said that he would find a mechanic and cleaner to rectify the problems. He did find both and stayed in our room until everything was sorted out. The bell boy got an excellent tip! The reception staff should consider a different career.
The beach is a disappointment as it is covered in seaweed which was only removed once during our stay. The hotel suggests that you do not swim in the sea due to the currents.
The swim up pool bar was closed on two hot days when we were there. This is not satisfactory as this is one of the factors that assists with your choice of hotel.
Overall a nice hotel that needs better management which would bring it up to 4 star standard. The beach sItuation will always hold it back from 5 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jjkreading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have recently returned from a a truly relaxing, chilled week in a hotel that could not do enough for its guests. We were all inclusive and form the moment we arrived at reception where cold towels and fruit punch was provided as we checked in to the moment of checking out (a very sad moment for us) everything was as good as you would hope for. The room was spacious and very clean with a superb view of the sea (as are all rooms) immaculately clean and maintained as such throughout the week, the bed was huge and so comfortable. The buffet food was extremely good especially breakfast and special mention must be made of the Kalina restaurant, we were given two passes for this for the week and on both occasions the food and the service were superb.
Service by all the staff was always friendly, smiling and courteous and they are a great team. We booked through Tropical Sky and the rep was helpful and got us onto some great trips with guides/drivers who were extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Mention should also be made of Freddie who drives the free shuttle bus daily to Pidgen Point, a gorgeous beach 10 minutes away on the Caribbean side of the island.
The hotel is set in acres of glorious grounds with a a golf course, the pool, if you're the type to spend all day by it, is clean, warm and inviting but there is much to see in Tobago and if you go I urge you to see as much of the island as you can. The people everywhere we went were friendly and always smiling and we felt entirely safe despite the info on the FCO website which frankly needs a rethink.
We will definitely return to Tobago and when we do we will without question stay at the Magdalena. Its a great place to stay to totally unwind and relax but not for those who might want a rowdy nightlife which for us was just "Grand"!

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach and have a balcony but the hotel stretches along the beach so if you only w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ennjaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Excellent hotel re-opened after refurbishment in June 2012. We had a clean airy bedroom with ocean view and all facilities expected from 4* hotel. Staff were always smiling, friendly and very helpful. Breakfast buffet was exceptional. Evening buffet also good with wide variety of food suiting all tastes. Kalina Fine Dining restaurant was brilliant but would be expensive if not staying on All -inclusive basis as would the drinks. Beautiful setting on Atlantic side of island so some debris was to be expected but beach was cleaned every day we were there. Swimming pools very clean and towels readily available and we were able to take them with us when we went to other beaches. Free and frequent shuttle bus service every day to beautiful Pigeon Point beach on Caribbean side of the island where there was good snorkelling on the reef and from the beach. Only a few people were brave enough to play golf in the heat but the course and lakes were excellent for early morning bird watching - but beware the cayman in the lakes. The highlight of our holiday was watching baby turtles hatch on the beach - we hadn't expected to see this in September and on the Atlantic side of the island. Thoroughly recommend this hotel but do go all-inclusive!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Magdalena, on a B&B basis, for one week in June 2012.

The Hotel.

The hotel is located on a large plantation, which I believe has some private houses, a golf course, some small lakes (pools) and tennis courts. The grounds are well kept and attractive.

The fitness room is well equipped with high quality 'Cybex' machines. Our room number 349, was well appointed (30 secs from reception), fridge, bath, shower cubicle, decent sized balcony but no safe. You can leave you valuables in a safe at reception, but this was an inconvenience.

The Beach.

Poor, absolutely covered in smelly seaweed, very windy. See my photos.

Breakfast.

This was a highlight, a decent selection of tasty hot food, cereals, juices and fruit. The hot food selection repeated itself, every 3 days it seemed.

Evening meal.

The Robinson Crusoe Pub and 'Pembois' are OK, the prices are 5 star expensive though. It is much, much, cheaper to catch the courtesy bus, into town and eat in one of the restaurants there.

The Island.

Tobago itself is a beautiful island. I would recommend that you hire a car and drive around and explore. We hired a car, one of the days and drove around the entire island. It took about 7 hours, with numerous stops, to chill, eat and take photos.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Magdalena, Vince the general manager, does his job well. He is not at all aloof, as some hotel managers are. The staff are friendly and try their best to accommodate any requests.

Bravo!

Room Tip: Any room higher than the ground floor is fine. It is not really worth paying extra, for a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zetec16v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have a very pleasant stay at the Magdalena Grand hotel and would definitely recommend it to others, particularly on an All Inclusive package. Recently refurbished and with attentive staff, the hotel is very well placed on the Atlantic coast to provide cooling breezes whilst close enough to the Caribbean coast to offer any form of sheltered water activities. The food is varied and caters for most tastes and dining preferences. The rooms are spacious, airy and clean. The hotel facilities are broad from Golf to Diving but we would recommend some research on your choice of diving operator before arriving in Tobago. We were surprised how quiet the bars were in the evening but unless you were on an all-inclusive package, I suspect the drink prices may have deterred. All in all we had a very relaxing week with lots of good food and excellent company. The hotel is without question the best on the Island.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to face the sea, but those backing onto the hotel service area can be a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Dragged out yelling and screaming from this excellent hotel.Great food, great staff,great room. All in all the best two weeks holiday my wife and self have had in a long time.Thanks to Vince and his staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
4.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
251 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.9 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
3.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range: $214 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing