We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday week at the Magdalena Grand - All Inclusive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Holiday week at the Magdalena Grand - All Inclusive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have a very pleasant stay at the Magdalena Grand hotel and would definitely recommend it to others, particularly on an All Inclusive package. Recently refurbished and with attentive staff, the hotel is very well placed on the Atlantic coast to provide cooling breezes whilst close enough to the Caribbean coast to offer any form of sheltered water activities. The food is varied and caters for most tastes and dining preferences. The rooms are spacious, airy and clean. The hotel facilities are broad from Golf to Diving but we would recommend some research on your choice of diving operator before arriving in Tobago. We were surprised how quiet the bars were in the evening but unless you were on an all-inclusive package, I suspect the drink prices may have deterred. All in all we had a very relaxing week with lots of good food and excellent company. The hotel is without question the best on the Island.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to face the sea, but those backing onto the hotel service area can be a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    426
    222
    100
    61
See reviews for
408
583
37
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
inverness
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Dragged out yelling and screaming from this excellent hotel.Great food, great staff,great room. All in all the best two weeks holiday my wife and self have had in a long time.Thanks to Vince and his staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Spent a weekend at this resort, it was amazing. The Staff is professional and friendly. The buffet is great, i particularly enjoyed having breakfast by the pool side. The environment is very conducive to relaxing. I highly recommend, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Except for some small maintenance issues that can still be seen, its a great hotel and possibly the best in Tobago. Definitely better than Grafton or Coco Reef. The only downside is the location on the Atlantic side of the island. But there is a shuttle several times a day to the beach. And there is a constant stream of activities by the hotel to keep you occupied. The staff were really helpful and friendly. The pool is wonderful. Rooms are large and with nice showers. Great for a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: The rooms can be far from the main pool and lunch, so the closer to the reception area the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anaipatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Just come back from a two week holiday and stayed at the Magdalena grand in Tobago .

The hotel was a very nice hotel , friendly staff especially in the restaurant and the food was good in the buffet restaurant , we were greeted everyday by a young lady . Reception staff were helpful, the Robinson Crusoe was the bar and they supplied good bar food. We will certainly be going back as the hotel and the country is beautiful and lacks tourist . It is quite a long walk to the entrance of the hotel but we hired a car

Room Tip: The room are all the same as if you are far a way they provide a buggy service
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Tobago is blessed with beautiful topography, and wonderful and welcoming residents. This is evident when you check into the Magdalena Grand Beach Resort. The property is newly updated/renovated and clean. Why cleanliness sticks out I do not know, but you are aware that the place is very clean.
Checking in is a painless and pleasant experience, front desk is attentive and the nicest bellman you can ever imagine. No waiting for eternity for your luggage - everything is done efficiently and graciously.
Rooms are wonderful and quite large, bathroom is clean and bed is nicely made up with good linens. Large terrace and clear access to beach and ocean view. Love the place and would love to visit again. Every meal was outstanding, and the buffet was good and plentiful.

Room Tip: All rooms are good..large and great views. When it was designed, the beauty of the surroundings was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife & two children (aged 9 & 14) stayed at the Magdalena grand for 2 weeks all inclusive. And we all agree that without doubt it is our best family holiday to date!!

Upon arrival the General Manager was there to welcome us to the hotel with a lovely refreshing fruit punch, which really hit the spot. Avalon then showed us to our room and ran through a quick guide to how to operate the A/C & Tv’s which was a nice touch.

The rooms:
We stayed in a suite which included a Jacuzzi situated on the balcony overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Decor was excellent, with TV’s in each room. The rooms were always clean & tidy when we got back in the afternoon everyday. Waking up looking over the ocean at sunrise, is a view that will stay with me forever.

The Pools/Surrounds:
Even though the Hotel was running at above 80% occupancy the pool & surrounding areas never felt busy. Sunbeds were quite readily available & the pool was checked & cleaned on a daily basis.

The Beach:
I really enjoyed the beach, even was lucky enough to see baby Turtles hatching and making there way to the ocean, which is something the kids will never forget!! The beach has a few bits of rubbish wash up at times but remember the Atlantic covers 1/5 of the world. So you can forgive them for not combing that amount of water for some disregarded items. Although everyday there was a team picking up litter to try and combat it.

The Food:
The food is what you’d expect of a buffet style restaurant, with lots of varied foods to choose from. My wife, who is a vegetarian never struggled to find something lovely to eat. BBQ night was a must. The meat was superb, & the kids loved it.

Tips:
Take advantage of the free shuttle bus to Pigeon point leaving the hotel at 9 & 11, Freddy the driver will make you feel very welcome. Safety is his priority!! Take the boat from Pigeon point to the Nylon Pool, its a surreal experience. Worked out about £36 for 2 adults and 2 children. We also booked a local guide through Avalon, one of the hotel staff. The Guide was called Lester and was truly amazing. His knowledge of the Island was excellent and without his knowledge we would have missed so much. Just a shame we never got to see the Caymen in the front lake. But maybe next time. Also through the guide we managed to see alot of the other big hotels and was very very happy to be staying at Magdalena thats for sure!!!!

Special Thanks:
Thanks must go to Vince & his management team for an excellent experience all round that will go down as our best holiday yet. Not forgetting a special mention to Irene, David & Jeffery, who were amazing with our 2 children especially making wonderful milkshakes!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Barrington__JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
4.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
4.4 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
3.8 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Property: Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing