We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“amazing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

i had to write on here about this outstanding hotel,we stayed at the magdalena for 1 week and i must say that it is the best hotel i have ever stayed in,the staff are so very friendly and always there to help and assist in any way that they can.we had a delux room with the most amazing ocean view but to be honest any of the rooms there have an amazing view,the food was fantastic with lots of choice always something for everybody.i must say that if you do go on any trips then a must is the trip to nylon pool its amazing you book through the hotels frankies tours an experience not to be missed.i will be returning back to this hotel and i advise anybody who is thinking of going to tobago to go to the magdalens :)

Room Tip: all the rooms have amazing ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank amanda41403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    427
    223
    100
    62
See reviews for
409
584
37
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Although the government owns this hotel, and they have done a decent job getting it to a 3.5 star level, they have not contracted a long term professional management company and this shows in the service levels. EFM continues to manage the property and they seem like they're no longer interested. Upon repeated emails and messages left with Mr. Angelo, the current manager, he never once replied to any of my enquiries. The hotel lacks ambience, is always very quiet, (and empty), and there seems to be no hospitality programs to entertain guests - not even some ambient music. If you want a very quiet holiday in a beautiful location either on your own, or as a couple this is a perfect place. If you are looking for a social scene I would look elsewhere - for this kind of money you can stay in a great place in St. Lucia.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inxile22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write. Please accept my apologies for what appears to be some type of misunderstanding or error in transmission of email. I just sent you a message via Trip Advisor so we can get in touch and see what happened. I pride myself as a GM to respond and speak to any and all guests who have the need to meet or communicate with me and would never avoid such opportunities. Please respond to the message I sent so we can get together and discuss your concerns. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

great rates for locals.
excellent food. great service.
great pools.
beach not good for swimming though.
will go back again.
quiet. not a high occupancy so its a bit quiet.

Room Tip: choose rooms close to southern side if you want to be close to pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aps115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your input. We are happy to know you would return to the Magdalena Grand. Our business levels are ramping up as more and more people are taking interest in the Resort and inquiring about the facility. Much thanks and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Just arrived back from the Magdalena and what can i say,what a wonderful overall experience it was.The service and staff were wonderful especially Stephanie in the Sakala bar and Irene at the lil Nylon pool bar,well done ladies on your excellent customer service.The main reason i am writing this review is the one unbelievable, far exceeding deed what any hotel would do....Monach cancelled our fliight home and this angel named Yenza took it apon herself to help all those who didn't have a holiday rep,she arranged transport and took us all up to the airport to sort it out,and spoke on our behalf,and returned us back to the Magd
alena!All free of charge!Believe me nothing was too much trouble for the Magdalena staff.

Room Tip: try to get on the second floor ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chdyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments. When issues of travel come up in a remote location, it is paramount that we are helpful and attentive to each guests needs at that time. I am very happy to hear that Stephanie and Yenza were as helpful as they were and represented the Resort in a quality fashion. We will share this with them. Thank you and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed at the Magdalena Grand in the last week of May. Check in was promising with fruit juice and cool refreshing towels.

However, the first issue was that unlike the web page advertises, there was no safe in the room - apparently because they had malfunctioned. Clearly this is somewhat beyond the hotel's control, but it did cause a real inconvenience because twice or even 3 times a day we had to mess around waiting at reception to get into our safe. Furthermore, you were supposed to sign a form to prove your identity every time you accessed the safe, but our form was lost on more than one occasion leading to delays when you really want to be getting on with your holiday. Admin needs to be addressed.

Overall we were pleased with our room which was clean and bright and had a balcony with a lovely view over the palm trees and ocean. Bed was very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided with Earl Grey, my favourite, on offer. You had to call reception for milk and it sometimes took a long time coming. The shower was great with good pressure. The bath was rather unappetising as it was discoloured and looked rather shabby which was a shame as it let the room down. Also the toilet overflowed one day which was rather embarrassing.

The hotel itself is very attractive with a lovely lobby and the bar is fun, decked out like a pirate ship. I was pleased when I read there was a piano bar as I love piano music, but sadly on the few occasions we ventured in, it wasn't being played and there was no real atmosphere in the piano bar.

The food was mostly excellent in the buffet Pembois restaurant - the meat in particular was always cooked very nicely indeed. As half board clients, we were given 2 vouchers for 2 dinners in the Kalina and the food was outstanding. Highly recommend Kalina! Lunch at the Salaka grill was good too and beautiful views over the ocean.

The actual situation of the hotel was not quite as picturesque as I had hoped in terms of the beach, but has pros and cons. On the plus side, the atlantic breeze is very refreshing and means lack of insects. Also it is great watching the frigates and the pelicans diving for fish. On the negative side, because of the winds, lots of rubbish gets caught up in the sea and it is not the most appetising place to swim. However, there is a twice daily shuttle to Pigeon Point which is a beautiful beach on the Caribbean side and swimming there is lovely.

The grounds to the front of the hotel are fabulous and an absolute haven for wildlife. You can spot so many birds there including egrets, blue heron, lapwings (very possessive of their chicks, be warned!) Johnny Jump Ups, tanagers, whistling ducks, as well as iguanas and cayman. Our tour guide Peter Cox had an amazing capacity for spotting wildlife in the grounds and is highly highly recommended. Apparently poachers do operate there which is an absolute travesty and I hope the hotel will invest in some CCTV to try to stop them as soon as possible.

The main thing for us which let the hotel down was service. Whilst there was the odd good bit of service - the Asian guy who took us up to our room, the staff in Kalina and most of the staff in Pembois, some service was shockingly bad, especially Reception. Most of the staff on reception looked bored and cross and took a long time to acknowledge you and treated you like you were a real inconvenience. On the final day, we were leaving late and had requested a courtesy room but this never materialised until 10 minutes before we were due to leave so my husband had to return on an 8 hour flight back to London straight from the beach having not showered. He was livid.

The manager (I presume he was the manager but he did not introduce himself to the guests as far as I am aware except of course to the Prime Minister when she arrived with her entourage) seemed to eat in the restaurant most nights and so presumably was keeping a close eye on matters which is a good sign.

We travelled with Golden Holidays and we felt the deal was incredibly good value for money.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for a base for sightseeing around Tobago and as somewhere to enjoy good food but you probably wouldn't want to just stay around the hotel. Tobago is beautiful and the wildlife is incredible and there is much to do, so get out there!

Room Tip: I would recommend top floor for beautiful balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LizzienRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Area
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Very nice Hotel with nice rooms and very friendly staff. The initial hiccups noted on earlier postings are mostly gone. Very safe grounds with plenty of security..... the island is also relatively safe.
The internet worked fine in our room and the buffet breakfast, included with everyone's stay, was good.
Dinner buffet was expensive/overpriced (over $50 each) and not very good.
Drinks were reasonable for a resort of this type... about $3.50 per beer. ($2-$2.50 around the rest of the island). No Happy hour and no music at the resort..... like I said.... peaceful.
If you're idea of a vacation is a visor, a Kindle and a quiet seat by the pool....... Magadalena is perfect for you.
If you enjoy music, meeting people and any type of excitement, you will not find it at the resort or not even much on the island.
The resort beach is not good at all. Sea weed and unkept.... it's the Atlantic side.

Plusses on site: Room, Staff, buffet breakfast, internet, quiet.

Minuses: Dinner Buffet, Beach, activities/music-none.

Recommendations:
1. Rent a car for your stay
2. Miss Jo Glass Bottom Boat to Nylon Pool. (Paid $70 TT per person) They usually ask for $90TT and some even ask for $20 USD which is $120TT.
3. Krackers Cafeteria about 1 mile out of gate towards town and just to the right.
4. La Cantina - Pizza - Near Pigeon Point/Airport
5. Bagos Bar- Right on shore going into Pigeon Point Park..... nice spot for a few beers and some conversation. Say hello to Shirley and Bob!

The island is clean and generally safe and comparable to Grenada except that they haven't got the tourism thing down yet.
If they could introduce the fun and music of Barbados...... this would be a great place.

There are some OK beaches and most were sparsely used. Grafton Beach was very nice and Pigeon Point is also nice.

A drive around the island makes for a nice day as well.

The resort appeared to be booked by about 30% German, 30% UK, 30% Trinidad and 10% US.

The Robinson Crusoe bar opens evenings but there was nothing really going on there for our entire week. Hotel appeared to be less than 1/2 full..... maybe even 25%.

Room Tip: Third floor is best....... even with the lobby level... good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R9687N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed two nights for an onsite business conference. Quick check in. Very hospitable and friendly staff. Decor in the public areas was great. The room was up to date in appointments. Internet is free and I chose to use the wired connection that gave no problems. The food was among the best I've had in any hotel. All the conference facilities worked properly.

On the downside the beach is poor, and the grounds are not of the same high standard of the building. The location requires a car to get around though its not far from the other activites on the island.

Overall it is good for a quiet getaway. Though the hotel was full it did not feel crowded. The poor beach and the location meant that there were no vendors who were nuisances. Security felt good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RAJ51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
4.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
4.4 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
3.1 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Property: Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing