We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First class resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just spent a fantastic 14 days at Hotel Magdalena Hotel Resort. The location could not be better, beach side, with every room having sea views. The hotel staff were exceptional (rare for Tobago hotels were it is usual for hotel staff to go out of their way to be unhelpful). Food in both restaurant were also well presented with lots of variety.
We travel to Tobago from the UK quite frequently and this hotel complex is by far the best on the island. Tobago are trying to boost their tourist trade and other hotels need to raise thier standard to match this. ANR airport is desperately in need of updating.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoltanbobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    427
    222
    100
    61
See reviews for
408
584
37
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Godstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We booked the hotel as a last minute holiday, choosing Tobago as we wanted to dive there. The hotel had received a lot of investment from the Trinidad and Tobago government and is very well maintained. The room we stayed in was excellent and enjoyed (as they all do) a sea view. The food was superb with plenty of local dishes as well as more international favourites. We took half board which entitled us to two nights in the fine dining restaurant and the remainder in the buffet restaurant. Both were very good and the staff were friendly and helpful. In fact all of the staff in the hotel were friendly and keen to please.
the hotel managemers were on the ball and very visible. We had no cause for complaint at any time but they were keen to ensure that all was to your liking.
Next to the hotel is a beautiful and testing golf course which we played once. Although the course is separate from the hotel, booking via the hotel was cheaper and we received a complimentary golf buggy (cart). The hire clubs were OK but a bit tired.
The hotel is situated on the Atlantic side and there are many warning signs about the roughness of the sea, undertows etc. It was a bit wild but no more so than much of north Cornwall so we really enjoyed playing in the waves. Alternatively you could take the hotel shuttle bus to one of the beaches on the Caribean sea.
We took a day tour (which we did not book via the hotel) with Hans tours. Hans is a certified tour guide and gave us a great island tour. (Hans Tours (868) 759-2880). He was very knowledgeable and friendly. Even though it was just the two of us on the tour, he honoured the group tour rate. I would certainly recommend him.
Tobago is a lovely island and the people were so friendly.
We had not really researched our holiday (apart from some reviews on trip adviser) but were delighted with what we got and will probably return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cader99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

My friends and i stayed at the Magdalena Grand hotel and i must say that i enjoyed it to the fullest. The staff was so friendly and the service was great. Check in was quick and efficient and we were presented with welcome drinks on arrival. But i must say the most favourite part of my trip was the breakfast, they had a wide variety of items and everything tasted great. i must say that the omelettes were great, on the first two days of my trip a young chef name Arthur made my eggs and he was very friendly, very patient and polite and he had a smile to die for. Then on the third day onward a tall guy name kerwin made my eggs and he gave us tips on places that we should visit while we were there, all in all the eggs were great and i would recommend that once you have breakfast at the Magdalena Grand that you have your eggs made by any of these two guys.I also liked the size of the pool cause i love to swim, and the view of the ocean, it looked like it was taken straight out of a magazine. All in all i would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to experience a piece of paradise and i hope that the staffs friendliness and service will always be five star.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the ocean cause the view is to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Found this holiday on BA.com, special offers, great value. Not often a special price is reviewed this highly!.
Hotel lovely as are staff,you really don't expect such friendliness.
Great choice at breakfast, can dine inside or out. Dinner was generally good at the buffet restaurant. We had 2 complimentary nights in the fine dining restaurant, I have to say these were really exceptional, although some other guests wouldn't entirely agree. I think the trick is eat early, 7pm. Very very high standard. Only criticism would be that after the 2 complimentaries you cannot eat there and pay a supplement to your half board, you pay as you were not a guest, same rule applied if you wanted a premium dish, say lobster.
Overall great holiday in great setting, no mossies due to breeze.
Tobago really is lovely whether you fill your holiday with excursions or just chill.
If I recommend a trip it would be Island Girl catamaran, fantastic day!.

Room Tip: We requested an upper floor room, were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miketheshrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Lovely hotel, well-trained and courteous staff, delicious breakfast with a wide variety to choose from...clean and modern rooms...

The hotel is lovely and I would rate it between a 3 and 4 star. On arrival we were presented with welcome drinks (fruit punch) which was a nice touch for a local hotel. Only setback at check-in was that on making the booking, no mention was made of an 'incidental fee' that needed to be paid in advance, and this was requested on check-in. We felt that this should have been communicated prior to our arrival.
As indicated the rooms are modern and have all the necessary conveniences. One downside with the room we were in (ground floor) was that once the air condition was off, the floor became wet. On enquiring about this we were told that it was actually salt on the floor (from the air or from the sea 'blast' i.e. the rooms are close to the sea) that condenses and creates the moisture. The only way to prevent that was to keep the air condition on. I'm not really an a/c person so that wasn't so good for me but my partner is. We survived. :-). The bed was also not firm enough.
The staff were quite friendly and helpful especially the activities staff.
Breakfast: A wide variety of local foods to choose from. A smile from the chef preparing the omelette (not the best I've had) would have been a nice touch...
All in all a lovely place.
It's fairly new, the official opening actually took place when were there (May 2012) so hope the standard of service and the facilities is maintained.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blessing1Caribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Magdalena Grand between the 02/05/12 and 16/05/12 and were immediately impressed with the friendliness and effiency of the hotel staff. On arrival check in was as quick and easy as possible and with in no time we were shown are room aand given time to relax and get ready for dinner. There are two places to eat the buffet dining room and the a la carte both are of an extremely high standard the only difference being that you get one to one service in the high end one. The facilities and staff are fantastic the best stay we have experienced for many years. We definately recommend this hotel and location to anybody considering Tobago

Room Tip: Book early to get rooms closer to the main part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timknit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just comeback from a 4 night stay at the Magdalena. There were a party of 12. We went to a wedding in Trinidad and flew into Tobago.

The hotel is beautiful, staff are friendly, helpful and attentive. Grounds are beautiful and clean. The CeeCee kids club was excellent. My two boys enjoyed it.

The Hotel is situated on the Atlantic side of the island, so the waters are very rough and swimming is not advised, however there is a shuttle bus that takes you to Pigeon Point and Store bay beaches which are lovely.

Will definitely go back again. We all had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chikere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
4.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
4.4 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
3.8 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Property: Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing