We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caribbean getaway...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Lovely hotel, well-trained and courteous staff, delicious breakfast with a wide variety to choose from...clean and modern rooms...

The hotel is lovely and I would rate it between a 3 and 4 star. On arrival we were presented with welcome drinks (fruit punch) which was a nice touch for a local hotel. Only setback at check-in was that on making the booking, no mention was made of an 'incidental fee' that needed to be paid in advance, and this was requested on check-in. We felt that this should have been communicated prior to our arrival.
As indicated the rooms are modern and have all the necessary conveniences. One downside with the room we were in (ground floor) was that once the air condition was off, the floor became wet. On enquiring about this we were told that it was actually salt on the floor (from the air or from the sea 'blast' i.e. the rooms are close to the sea) that condenses and creates the moisture. The only way to prevent that was to keep the air condition on. I'm not really an a/c person so that wasn't so good for me but my partner is. We survived. :-). The bed was also not firm enough.
The staff were quite friendly and helpful especially the activities staff.
Breakfast: A wide variety of local foods to choose from. A smile from the chef preparing the omelette (not the best I've had) would have been a nice touch...
All in all a lovely place.
It's fairly new, the official opening actually took place when were there (May 2012) so hope the standard of service and the facilities is maintained.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blessing1Caribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,341 - 1,347 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Magdalena Grand between the 02/05/12 and 16/05/12 and were immediately impressed with the friendliness and effiency of the hotel staff. On arrival check in was as quick and easy as possible and with in no time we were shown are room aand given time to relax and get ready for dinner. There are two places to eat the buffet dining room and the a la carte both are of an extremely high standard the only difference being that you get one to one service in the high end one. The facilities and staff are fantastic the best stay we have experienced for many years. We definately recommend this hotel and location to anybody considering Tobago

Room Tip: Book early to get rooms closer to the main part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timknit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just comeback from a 4 night stay at the Magdalena. There were a party of 12. We went to a wedding in Trinidad and flew into Tobago.

The hotel is beautiful, staff are friendly, helpful and attentive. Grounds are beautiful and clean. The CeeCee kids club was excellent. My two boys enjoyed it.

The Hotel is situated on the Atlantic side of the island, so the waters are very rough and swimming is not advised, however there is a shuttle bus that takes you to Pigeon Point and Store bay beaches which are lovely.

Will definitely go back again. We all had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chikere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Recently stayed two nights. My first impression was "WOW". The welcome greetings from the bell hops and the front desk staff was very friendly. Cool towels and welcome drinks were offered whilst checking in. The room was very nicely furnished and the view was to die for. The bed was a little lumpy and there was a well equipped coffee/tea station although there needs to be a kettle for the tea. Complimentary bottled water should be provided at least for the first day of arrival. The grounds and the general property is comparible to any good hotel. The pool are is also beautiful and unique. The pool staff at the bar could be a little friendlier and the quality of the drinks could be improved. There should also be some local/Caribbean music to add to the atmosphere. Apart from the breezes, the place is very quiet and one doesn't get that Caribbean feeling . The food was the best I've had in a hotel in Tobago. The buffets offer quite a variety. However, again the staff could be a lot more accommodating and attentive. There should be piped music in the restaurants too as it lacks a bit of atmosphere. Friday nights is a BBQ night and there should have been some kind of upbeat Caribbean and/or Steel Pan music. What should have been festive turned out to a boring night with only whispers of conversations from the diners. Overall, it is a Great hotel in the making but I guess they are just having teething problems. I understand that there is a very experienced General Manager and he is making a lot of strides but there is still a way to go.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views of the ocean and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Klimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

just come back from a weeks holiday at the magdalena grand - i wouldnt call it "grand" not yet anyway. there are lots of things that need to be addressed at this hotel before it can earn its grand title.
we were half board - we got over charged on our final bill and i had to ask three times for them to sort it out on the day we where going home, you have to be quite firm with the desk staff or they just ignore your request. like other reviewers have mentioned there is half board and full inclusive but you still have to sign after each meal, please check and keep your receipts and check them before you leave to go home as they do add not only extras you havent had on your bill but also tips! the sakura restaurant by the pool side is good at adding tips to there copy of the bill once you have signed it - this we found out when we got our final receipt bill when the bills dont add up to what we signed for! so be careful...i decided to pay my final bill in cash and had to INSIST that they gave me a receipt to say i had paid in cash as i had put my credit card on tab at the beginning of my holiday (i wish i hadnt) I did eventually get a print out to say i had paid in cash and on checking this the so and so had rounded up my bill to the £315.00 when it actually read £312.00 !! i am still waiting to see if they decide to charge this amount to my credit card as well! if they do there will be serious trouble.
the staff in the pembois buffet restaurant just ignore you, we realised after just one day there that it is best to not order a drink with our evening meal as you will wait until all hell freezes over before they even acknowledge you. the lady at the live cooking station who cooks the pasta meals while you wait is so so lovely, the pasta meals are the best - its a pity the other staff in this restaurant are not as lovely as her. No safes in the room apparently they are on order!
i do hope that oneday this resort will get itself sorted out - to the manager of this hotel have a meeting with your staff and read the reviews - we the guests have come to your hotel to have a wonderful relaxing time - we do not want to see miserable staff who cannot even say good morning when they pass you in the corridor! the only day we saw all the staff smiling and running around trying to look busy was when the trinidad and tobago prime minister was coming to stay for three days to coincide with the grand opening of this hotel!! i wonder if she had any complaints about being over charged and no safe in her room.....

Room Tip: all rooms have a ocean sea view so dont upgrade its a waste of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince A, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write. While it is dissapointing to hear about the miscues and fumbles mentioned in your posting, it is rewarding for us to have the opportunity to address these items mentioned, and to understand that each guests experience is unique to their needs, wants and expectations. It is our responsibility to understand that and deliver consistently to meet and exceed expectations. When efforts fall short we do not take the matter lighty and our goal is to continue to develop and provide exceptional service as a top ranked Resort on Trip Advisor. Please feel assured that your response will be reviewed with our entire team so we can understand where we were off the mark. We did experience our first week of consistent sellouts since opening, with our official grand opening ceremony and the entire Trinidad & Tobago government with us for Cabinet meeting and the ribbon cutting by the Prime Minister. An exciting time indeed along with a learning experience for our team. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

On arrival there seemed to be some confusion as to the location of our room - dragging our suitcases behind us we went taken back and forth while the porter tried to work out the room numbers. Finally we got to our room - no safe and no kettle - as stated in the brochure. Back to reception to find the safes were faulty and have all been removed. 200+ rooms can fight over the 35 safety deposit boxes at reception but they are all taken. Stand firm and insist as having asked the hotel to confirm they would be responsible for our valuables, we were allowed to put items in an envelope and share a box with other guests.

Kettle supplied on request but only creamer - why not put a few milk cartons in the fridge?

Brochure also made reference to a cafe (boarded up), a seafood restaurant (no sign of one) and bikes (all away being serviced but back half way through our week). We paid an additional supplement which included the choice of eating in the fine dining restaurants more than the two nights only permitted on the all inclusive package. Disappointed to find there was only one fine dining option - no complaints on the food but the service was so so bad. Waiters that don't notice you are still waiting for drinks, or to place an order. The night despite a number of requests, we never got water or the night when a number of guests just gave up and left without eating.

The hotel tries to cater for everyone - B+B, half board and all inclusive. As a result you have to sign for everything regardless of the package you have booked. On the assumption we were all inclusive we duly signed without paying too much attention. Big mistake - instead of house spirit we are being charged for the premium brand (but staff don't ask you which brand you want) and we didn’t examine the bill in any detail because we were all inclusive. Also surprised to find we had enjoyed an extra supplement dish one evening. An hour of debate and searching for the bill only to find the wrong room number had been entered. Be warned – check everything before you sign

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LANDG75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2532
Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Currently staying at Magdalena Grand (31/05/2012),had to change room because cold water(only source to drink in room) being supplied at over 30 degrees C, new room not much different, but the metal shaving mirror became live and gave me shock good job its 120 volt and the toilet blocked and flooded room.
Generally service very poor most staff seem to find it a very difficult to offer any service. That said there are some providing excellent service notably the Barman in Tavacos lounge, gym/pool staff and some waitress' in the Kalinas restaurant. Very dificult and expensive to buy bottled water in hotel. Only availble from bars in very small bottles! Find this unacceptable in such a hot and humid climate when water in room to hot to drink.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince A, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Thank you for the opportunity to understand some of the points made in your response. I would very much like the opportunity to speak with you, as I understand from your posting that you are still at the Resort. There is no better way to rectify and follow up on correcting any inefficiencies than with you directly at the Resort, while we still have you as our guest. Please contact me through the front desk and thank you again for the opportunity to get involved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
4.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
251 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.9 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
3.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range: $209 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing