We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - but empty - hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Reviewed May 28, 2012

(Bit late reviewing this ...)

Stayed at the Magdalena for 2 weeks in March 2012 - got an amazing deal through Travel Zoo/Golden Holidays.

Hadn't been to the Carribean before and were unsure what to expect. Fantastic hotel and absolutely amazing staff (the waiting staff and chefs were a delight and nothing was too much trouble. Shirlann - one of the chefs - loved my interest in all things foody and treated us wonderfully).

It seems it's not normal, but we hired a car and spent almost every day taking in a different bit of the beautiful island. It's really hilly and driving can be a little hairy in parts, due to very narrow and twisty roads. But we're used to self drive, so didn't find this an issue.

We had quite a lot of stormy weather and the hotel laid on indoor games, etc. (Tho' having the car meant we could drive to the other side of the island where, more often than not, it was fine.)

My husband found the golf course too expensive (c.£100 once you factor in hire of clubs, buggy etc) which was a shame coz it was usually empty. The hotel itself was also pretty empty but I think that's a reflection on not enough people going to Tabago. Hope the hotel survives but it was incredibly empty when we were there and was a few months into its 'soft' opening!

If you want a beach or chilled-out holiday, I can't think of anywhere better than here. Would definitely come again. And we were grateful for the welcome breeze from being on the Atlantic side of the island.

But, apart from diving or other active persuits, there's very little to do. Most of the artists or bird sanctuaries have closed down (as had quite a few restaurants) and there don't seem to be many local crafts, etc.

Great places:
Glass bottom boat and drift snorkelling from Buccoo.
Charlotteville which is gorgeous with lovely walks/views - and a nice walk to Pirate Bay, nearby.
Castara which has a safe beach and an outdoor bread oven where you can order homemade pumpkin bread on a Weds and Sat - yum!

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing - so ignore any offers of 'upgrades' to a beach facing room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewForest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince A, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell other potential guests about your impressions and experiences at the Magdalena Grand. We take pride in all the positiove comments and share them with the entire staff as well as share viewpoints or even inefficiencies so that we may improve on our delivery of products and services. Thank you again and we are very happy that your experience was favorable and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,344 - 1,350 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2012

Great resort a bit windy as on Atlantic side but newly renovated!

Food is good.

As mentioned in previous reviews, Service can sometimes be a bit chancy, some Waitresses & Bar Staff make u feel like you're troubling them if you ask for anything or some are just slow, majority are friendly. Issue in the bars is inconsistency, there are 4 bars & if there are 2 staff in each & you ask for a particular cocktail Daiquiri for instance, it will be made 8 different ways, no alcohol, different measures, different ingredients, different strengths, blended, unblended. Plus if on all inclusive Bar Staff will use premium alcohol in drinks & not tell you so be careful when signing your bill! Otherwise you will have a large bill to pay at end of holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelexpert186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince A, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Thank you very much for posting a response about your experience and impression of the Magdalena Grand and our staff. I appreciate the opportunity to address your constructive comments and experiences. Consistency in delivery of products and services and creating value for price paid is of our utmost importance. Items of inconsistency are imeadiately addressed for correction at our property as this is our operational culture and keeps us at the top of our game. We hope to see you again and thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is easily the best and only place to stay on Tobago (we have stayed at several others over the last five years). It really is a five star location with hotel facilities and friendly and efficient staff that make a real effort to make your stay special. The drama of the location has to be seen to be appreciated and the food and service first rate. We will be back....

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank jean-mitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We flew Virgin, approx eight and a half hours.
A warm welcome and fruit cocktail on arrival.
The room was to a good standard [ still new ] with a balcony overlooking Pelicans diving into the Atlantic, and the waves crashing on to the beach.
The hotel, generally, is not quite the best I have stayed in, but is in the top 10
We went Bed and Breakfast, the Breakfasts are very good with lots of choice.
Evening meals are expensive, but mostly good quality. We ate out at Crown Point on some nights.
The Taxi fare is 70TT each way [£7] The meals in Crown Point, are probably half the price, and good quality.
The Hotel grounds are excellent, with tons of birdlife, and even Caimen.
Tobago is a big little island, especially if you are a nature lover, with excellent Reefes, and Tropical Rainforest.
It isnt a nightclub kinda place, just unspoilt, which I liked very much.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alanhall52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Have just returned from a week with 2 young children and it really is lovely. Have read some of the reviews on here and would like to add my views, in the hope it helps someone.
HOTEL FURNISHINGS - The hotel is newly refurbed, so everything is very much up together, lovely clean condition - furnishings are beautiful, bathrooms spotless and high spec etc. Very comfortable.
However there were a few works still going on, again I suppose we just get used to how it is in England, but there were power tools left out at times unmanned, cables to trip on and one day they were happily painting the walkways with no signs or warnings - just with a toddler running around and one in the pushchair, was a bit manic!
FOOD- As agreed by most- the food is fantastic and faultless. Amazing choice all to high standard, very tasty, fresh and delicious, best we've had.
SERVICE - Yup, service can sometimes be a bit iffy, some waitresses make u feel like you're troubling them if you ask for anything or some are just slow. Most though are friendly, helpful and made a fuss of baby. Other people that worked there ie Kerry the Bellboy was just gorgeous (that smile! swoon....) were also very friendly and helpful. But yes, bit slow. What we found incredibly annoying though was that every time you ate or ordered a drink, even though we were all inclusive they would ask for your room number and had to sign a bill / receipt. This was rather off putting, even though we didn't need to pay for anything, to be presented with a bill with expensive overpriced drinks that we had to sign was quite worrying. Admittedly we still didn't have to pay for anything at the end, but was annoying and put you off drinking. I would strongly advise all inclusive as it is expensive there. Also, as many reports say, there isn't anything else near by. This suited us, with 2 young children we didnt want to do much but may not suit others.
There was a manager guy in the restaurant, I think he's Austrian, he was very good and helpful and approachable. We had to get a doctor out to our baby (shes fine, just an ear infection)- he was fantastic and arranged it all.
FACILITIES - The shuttle bus to pigeon point is good, and whilst some say there should be buses elsewhere, we found the drivers very accommodating, so if you ask them to drop you off at the shops / mall / bank, they would. It is quite isolated though, there was only one other child there, it was mostly older couples so we felt a bit as though we were imposing on their tranquility but they didn't make us feel this way. There is a children's club and they are building a large playground so its good for young children as its quiet too (no discos etc) but teens and young couples would be bored stupid. Unless they like diving - excellent diving school there or golf (although swampy in parts so take mossie spray) there is also health suite, spa, other bars but we didnt use these. Excellent if you want a totally relaxing break with little to do but chill.
LOCATION - Yes it is on the atlantic side so beach not ideal for young children, or most people- sea very strong but the breeze is heavenly, especially after a day at pigeon point (lovely calm family friendly beach). Definately visit there- free 15 min trip there and its beautiful. Little local bars, cafes and shops there, and other than the odd tour guy, there aren't people on the beach trying to flog you anything like other Caribbean places we've been to. However the waves on the atlantic side were quite mesmorising.
Definately recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Millieclausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Overall an excellent holiday. Definitely go "all inclusive" however you must be clear about what is included - especially the drinks, otherwise they'll appear on your bill. We stayed for 2 weeks with 2 friends. Used the Dive Centre for 2 dives - good fun and staff knowledgeable. Island Girl catamaran is to be highly recommended but make sure you are ready for the rum punches! Also go on the Island Tour - this is a must.

Room Tip: We preferred an upper room in the small block which only consisted of 4 rooms looking over the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OxwichGower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Just got back from a week all inclusive with 3 friends. Lovely hotel on Atlantic coast with free shuttle to Carribean side of the island. Clean, great food, lovely pools, friendly staff, stunningly beautiful, unspoilt tropical island. Tips - do Island tour and Turtle watch, go all inclusive, dont go to Magdalena if you want night clubs and energetic evening entertainment.

Room Tip: all rooms appeared to face the ocean, our room 205 was a walk from the main hotel but it was lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank knackerednurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
4.7 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
250 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
3.9 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
3.8 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range: $210 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing