We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't be disappointed”
Review of Blue Waters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Waters Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Speyside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here as part of a two week birdwatching trip. Hotel was fine, right on the beach and everything worked. Food was good, but not outstanding. Staff very good. Saw quite a lot of birds near the hotel and the trip to little tobago was excellent. Recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osinac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for posting your review and really pleased to hear you had a good birding holiday to Tobago and Trinidad. Blue Waters Inn is very popular with birders due to our close proximity to the rainforest and the off shore islands such as Little Tobago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    229
    57
    24
    12
See reviews for
94
340
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We arrived at midnight after being delayed 3 hours at Piarco, but our hotel organised driver waited for us for at the airport to get us to the Hotel. he was a very good driver - whichw as important!
We checked into our room to the sound of the waves - a little after dawn we looked out from our ground floor patio to an amazing sight of a bay surrounded by hills, blue water and beaches. - wonderfully warm staff, relaxed eating is the standard - open air with a spectacular view, and oh yes each mid day the fishing boat arrived with a 5 foot tall Blue Fish - an amazing sight. We of course had fish of the day more than once. We also took the hill walks which gave a great view of the sea and other bays. The most relaxing long weekend in years . We will return for a week in March 2015.Excellent breakfast 24 hrs tea/coffee etc. Rooms clean and modern. Just so much character and very special - sipping a drink at sunset was so peaceful. We basically, swam, beach walked and read one book after another in a perfect setting with wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: beach front ground floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ghross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Always goods to hear feedback from our guests and so pleased to hear you guys had a wonderful stay. Our location is gorgeous and perfect for complete relaxation. We do support the local fishermen and buy fresh fish as often as possible - it's good to spread the tourist dollar locally and support local people. We will be waiting for you come March 2015 - I hope we can deliver another fab vacation for you?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This was the Reef section of our Tropical Rainforest and Reef Ecology course (May 2014). The rooms and staff were great. We snorkeled on Angle and Little Tobago Reef from the Inn. We also traveled to other side of Tobago to snorkel on three reefs on the Carribbean side too. Great trip and way to end a two week course (sand and surf).

Room Tip: Infinity pool and hot tube were very nice to relax in after a hard day of field work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustafson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Really pleased your recent trip ended on a high at Blue Waters Inn. Tobago has some excellent snorkelling and diving, especially just off the hotel meaning our guests have quick and easy access to the main sites. Thank you for your review and look forward to being of service again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Blue Waters Inn stands on its own tropical beach near the small town of Speyside. The facilities and the rooms are very good. All guest rooms face the sea, we were on the upper floor and had our own private balcony. The rooms are clean and comfortable with good air conditioning. Meals are served in the open air bar or the enclosed dining room. The food was generally good but service was often rather slow. The barman seemed unfriendly at first but soon relaxed and opened up to us. He makes good cocktails! We took a trip on a glass bottomed boat to Little Tobago, an island bird reserve just a couple of miles off the coast. This trip is recommended, take your swimming things as the boat makes time for a swim or snorkeling over the reef on the way back. The beach is small but is effectively private as it is cut off from the surroundings by rocky headlands. Swimming is safe with a dive centre adjacent to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george_lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Many thanks for your recent review - and I was so pleased you had a great stay at Blue Waters Inn. Our seaside location is indeed very special and perfect for those looking to "get away from it all". The local excursions and activities are fascinating - whether it be a boat trip or walking in the rainforest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed at BWI during the first week of May. The location is truly superb with rooms facing the ocean just feet away from a fabulous beach. We came for the birdlife which was very good along the nature trail which winds up through the hotel grounds. Trips to nearby Little Tobago were good value and excellent for bird watchers. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. We found every member of staff to be friendly and helpful. Meals were very good....the fillet steak is a particular recommendation. Our experience of service was excellent. We can't identify with the views of travellers who found service to be slow and inefficient. Every effort was made to ensure we had a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
So pleased to hear you had a wonderful week at Blue Waters Inn. We are blessed with a fabulous seaside location and is possibly the premier reason why guests choose BWI. Your high praise for our team of staff and the food is wonderful to hear. We do try our best and usually get it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I absolutely loved my stay at Blue Water's Inn. This was my first stop on a tour of T&T and a perfect way to begin my holiday. It is about 1-1 1/2 hours away from the capital city and the airport but it is a nice drive and gives you a chance to see a bit of the island. The view from the gates at the top of the Blue Waters drive way is stunning, showing you the secluded beach attached to the hotel and the town of Speyside.

The staff at the hotel were very welcoming and check-in was speedy followed by a complementary rum punch (delicious but pretty heavy on the alcohol). I stayed in room 27, it was very spacious and beautifully decorated, beds are large and comfortable with modern bathrooms, all spotlessly clean. There is an upper and lower level of accommodation. I liked being on the lower level as you are literally a few metres from the beach and there are humming bird feeders set up just outside the rooms in the daytime so you can just sit on your veranda and watch in awe.

The food is delicious. I stayed half board so for me breakfast was a buffet of bread, cereals, pastries, yoghurt and fruit with the choice of omlets, pancakes, French toast etc to be cooked by the chef. Juices and tea and coffee are available. Dinner was a 3 course meal from a different menu every night. There were usually 2 choices of starter, 4/5 mains with choices of veg/rice/potatoes. Desert was usually a cake and ice cream was always available. I am a vegetarian and found the choices to be very good and varied, I was very impressed. Free tea and coffee is available all day on a serve-yourself basis. You are entitled to a free soft drink with dinner if you are on a 'meal plan' (I didn't find this out for a few days).

The beach is kept in a nice condition and doesn't have an artificial feeling to it. There are free sun-loungers available on the beach and lots of nice shady spots under the trees, beach towels are provided in the rooms. The water is lovely to swim in but there were a few jellyfish around and I did get a few minor stings.

It is a nice walk into Speyside but on the journey there and back you will encounter very steep hills. It is nice to take it slowly and enjoy the scenery. There isn't many things to do in the town but there are a few good restaurants. The grounds around the hotel are interesting to walk around aswell and you can see lots of birds, lizards and agouti.

I loved my 6 nights at Blue Waters, only being slightly spoilt by a nightmare long-term guest and her child who had the room next to me and made so much noise that I had to ask to move. However, this is not the hotels fault and I don't hold it against them, I wouldn't hesitate to come back here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thanks for such a detailed and positive review. You obviously had a great stay and the hotel more than met your expectations which is for us very rewarding. Sorry about the jellyfish stings - they are actually quite rare but this year we have seen them in greater numbers for some unknown reason. Hope the rest of your trip through Trinidad & Tobago was as good?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
195 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were sent here at the end of a 10 day birding trip of T&T. The accommodations were nice, very clean, looks like recently updated. Property is gated which makes it feel safe. They are on the verge of something great but missed the mark huge due to SERVICE and lack of it. From front desk to wait staff to grounds to security, no one was nice. Period. The only exception was a young girl that served us dinner one night whom we rewarded with a nice tip - I didn't tip a single person other than that because the service was so cold. We had to dig for info, ask for everything, never got a smile, got more than one annoyed glance for asking simple questions. I agree with a previous reviewer that they do NOTHING to help you enjoy the place. There is a small village walking distance away but hard to tell if it is safe to go or not. We were here for two nights. Spent one afternoon on the beach and the other day we did the Little Tobago hike and snorkeling trip (short and sweet, snorkeling is pretty blah). The food at breakfast and lunch was mediocre but the dinner was actually really really good, couple things to choose from - the dinner chef is obviously the highlight of the place. The mixed drinks were good if you can get one. As I found throughout T&T, the service is poor. No one smiles, and not even the bartender will make eye contact with you. They do appear to be putting money in the place as the grounds were being worked on and some of the rooms looked newer than ours but until they fix service it will all be for naught as I would not recommend traveling all this way for a beach when their are beach resorts closer to the airport that would be at least as good and on the caribbean side. We were also a bit unlucky in that a full moon was approaching so the bay was filled with jellyfish. You almost don't notice them and they are absolutely not the stinging kind, but they are still there so when you try to snorkel off the beach it was a bit creepy and I couldn't do it. No jellyfish on snorkel trip so that was a plus. They go away after the full moon from what I hear. Sorry Blue Waters, I would not come back. You have no competition so you may not feel service is important, but I would bet you get very few return guests.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank winstonteaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Very sorry to hear you found the service not to your standard. Good guest service is vital and your negative comments about the staff are disappointing to hear. Generally you will see from other reviews that service is normally good although slow service is something we are working on with the staff. The hotel has been making serious investments over the last 3 years so I hope that perhaps one day you might make another visit when I hope we might meet your expectations more closely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Speyside
23.9 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
16.3 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
244 reviews
23.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
18.0 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
19.8 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Inn

Property: Blue Waters Inn
Address: Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Speyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Speyside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With just 38 guest rooms and bungalows, Blue Waters Inn sits in 42 acres of tropical gardens directly on the beach at Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago. Getting to us takes approximately 85 minutes from the airport. Speyside is super relaxed with quick access to the Main Ridge rainforest and the key underwater sites of the island. Twitchers and divers / snorkellers are very well catered for and the hotel is perfect for those wishing to simply switch off and enjoy the hotels tranquil location. The beach shelves gently and is considered safe for bathing. Lay by the pool or in the open air jacuzzi and admire the view across Batteaux Bay towards Bird Island and Little Tobago in the near distance. Learn to dive at our 5 star PADI dive centre complete with 2 Newton dive boats or explore the rainforest with one of the local guides. All our rooms are air-conditioned and face the sea. Most offer fabulous sea views and are only a few steps from the sand. The One and Two Bungalows are bigger and offer either one or two bedrooms. These are located a few steps from the beach have a patio. Deluxe Oceanview Studios are also very spacious and have an open plan kitchen / living room. Inter-connecting rooms are available for families needing more space. The fabulous Driftdeck offers dining alfresco with views straight out across the bay whilst the more elegant "Aqua" offers fine cuisine two or more nights per week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Waters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Northeast Coast
Blue Waters Inn Tobago/Speyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing