We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service costs them 2 stars.”
Review of Blue Waters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blue Waters Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Speyside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were sent here at the end of a 10 day birding trip of T&T. The accommodations were nice, very clean, looks like recently updated. Property is gated which makes it feel safe. They are on the verge of something great but missed the mark huge due to SERVICE and lack of it. From front desk to wait staff to grounds to security, no one was nice. Period. The only exception was a young girl that served us dinner one night whom we rewarded with a nice tip - I didn't tip a single person other than that because the service was so cold. We had to dig for info, ask for everything, never got a smile, got more than one annoyed glance for asking simple questions. I agree with a previous reviewer that they do NOTHING to help you enjoy the place. There is a small village walking distance away but hard to tell if it is safe to go or not. We were here for two nights. Spent one afternoon on the beach and the other day we did the Little Tobago hike and snorkeling trip (short and sweet, snorkeling is pretty blah). The food at breakfast and lunch was mediocre but the dinner was actually really really good, couple things to choose from - the dinner chef is obviously the highlight of the place. The mixed drinks were good if you can get one. As I found throughout T&T, the service is poor. No one smiles, and not even the bartender will make eye contact with you. They do appear to be putting money in the place as the grounds were being worked on and some of the rooms looked newer than ours but until they fix service it will all be for naught as I would not recommend traveling all this way for a beach when their are beach resorts closer to the airport that would be at least as good and on the caribbean side. We were also a bit unlucky in that a full moon was approaching so the bay was filled with jellyfish. You almost don't notice them and they are absolutely not the stinging kind, but they are still there so when you try to snorkel off the beach it was a bit creepy and I couldn't do it. No jellyfish on snorkel trip so that was a plus. They go away after the full moon from what I hear. Sorry Blue Waters, I would not come back. You have no competition so you may not feel service is important, but I would bet you get very few return guests.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank winstonteaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Very sorry to hear you found the service not to your standard. Good guest service is vital and your negative comments about the staff are disappointing to hear. Generally you will see from other reviews that service is normally good although slow service is something we are working on with the staff. The hotel has been making serious investments over the last 3 years so I hope that perhaps one day you might make another visit when I hope we might meet your expectations more closely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
There are newer reviews for Blue Waters Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 626 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here as part of a Birdwatching trip to TnT. Have to say that it was not what we expected. We did stay on the beach a couple of nights on Trinidad but this for us more like a package holiday beach hotel. Wait for the next lot of pics they show. A photo shoot was taking place while we were there. It involved A young "glam" couple with two children, tables set up with flowers n baskets of fruit etc et . other guests sitting in restaurant around us with only a basket of sauces on table probably had an average of average age of around 65 You won't see us in brochure or online. lol. Having said that, it is a lovely place if you like beach holidays. Food is good . Expensive? Flying fish sandwiches delish.calamari also very nice. Diving kayaking n boat trips all available swimming pool and Jacuzzi. . Not what we would have chosen for a Birdwatching holiday base but it was very nice. Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mecanopsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for posting your review. Managing expectations is probably the hardest part of the hotel business so we are pleased you found most things very much to your liking despite being not your first choice for birding stay. We accommodate a very wide range of guests including twitchers, divers and those who just want a really peaceful beachside location for chilling. Pleased to hear you thought the food was good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Just returned from a good week’s diving. The diving was much more varied and better than Grenada but not as dramatic as it can be in the northern Caribbean ie no walls, swim throughs and “big stuff” (although apparently manta were seen in 2013).

We were generally very pleased with the hotel. The rooms were large and the bathrooms refurbished. There was (slow-ish) wi-fi in the public areas, constant tea and coffee available free throughout the day and a small infinity pool .... although the Madonna statue and plaque in memory of the owners’ son who apparently died in a diving accident were somewhat disconcerting.

Food in the hotel is very expensive (dinner was $40 for 2 courses even without any drink) but after the first night we discovered that we could walk into Speyside (20 minutes of steep-ish up and down hill each way) to dine at local restaurants like Jemma’s Treehouse (the best), Redmans (second best) or Birdwatchers, at half the price - although only odd ones are open on Sat/Sun.) We also managed to sign up for the meal plan for an individual evening ($33 for 2 courses).

A few areas for possible improvement:

The Dive Centre sets its own 2 year deadline on medical certification but does not state this unless asked!

Breakfast is from 8am. Although divers can order just before this (if they know!), delivery of food is still too late for comfort if diving. Why can't the hotel a) advertise early ordering for divers or preferably b) make breakfast earlier?

There was little information provided as to what one could do when not diving, and how.

The staff at the Dive Centre were more efficient than the staff on the Hotel Reception eg booking taxis, tours, changing flights. Reception did not advise us when booking a return taxi to the airport that we should have allowed more time due to rush hour.

There is no threshold as one enters a bedroom and the tiles slope inwards. Hence, if there is a heavy shower or if one has wet swimsuits on the patio area, a large and potentially dangerous puddle in the bedroom results!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thurza_Child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for your review and it sounds as though you have had a good holiday in Grenada and Tobago. Very pleased to hear the diving went well. We are looking to constantly improve our services so your comments about breakfast timings, dive medical certificates and general provision of guest information are noted with thanks. The plaque in memory of the hotel owners son is poignant and fitting given his love of Blue Waters Inn and the efforts he made in developing the hotel before his untimely death.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Choose this hotel if you are looking for a quiet vacation in a stunning setting with the beach just a few steps away from your room.

Pros
1) Location - the setting is gorgeous looking out across Batteaux Bay to Little Tobago
2) Food - Expensive but very good - a good choice with a local dish usually on the menu. Steaks are top quality and well cooked by the excellent livewire chef...Jason.
3) Good waitresses - mostly fun and interested in their guests. Erica Oxley and Rhianna do Blue Waters Inn proud.
4) Good facilities...we enjoyed the pool, jacuzzi, canoes and table tennis all of which were included. The rooms (standard class) are ok, nothing special and deserving of Three Star rating. The beds were comfortable. I'd recommend splashing out and staying at one of the self catering villas.
5) Hiring a car is essential. We loved Charlottesville, Pirate's Bay, Englishman's Bay (best for off beach snorkelling) and Pigeon Point (don't bother going all the way to the end of the road).
6) A sense of safety and tranquillity.

Areas for Improvement
1) Overall lacking in good customer service. Reception staff were largely disinterested and managed to book our car hire for a different day than we had asked. The Operations Manager had no sense of customer service and is plainly in the wrong job. Our bar bill was incomprehensible (split as it was between drink/service charge/VAT) and bore only a tentative relation to the receipts that were sometimes given. Don't bother challenging the bill!
2) There was no promotion of the island or attempt to tell the guests what was happening elsewhere (The Carnival!) or even that on Friday nights they have a small calypso band. Communication with guests is negligible. You have to ask for everything.
3) Tennis court is badly in need of re-surfacing.
4) We stayed ten nights...on reflection that was too much. I'd recommend 5 nights there and 5 nights near Pigeon Point. There's not a whole lot happening at Blue Waters and most guests seem to head for bed about 9pm.




Area for improvement

Room Tip: If you've done a 8000 mile round trip its worth splashing out for a self catering villa. Also hi...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honda2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. Your list of positives is appreciated and agree that hiring a car really is a must to explore the island (even if their was an error in the dates booked for your car hire). Your comments about disinterested reception staff is noted along with that about the Operations Manager. In addition we will look at ways of better promoting local events and communications in general with our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Have just returned from a week at Blue Waters Inn and loved it. It is the most stunning setting and beach and the staff are so friendly and welcoming (can't understand previous reviews that complain that they are not). The food was very good as are the cocktails! We booked a deluxe suite which was very well equipped and had a lovely private terrace and led directly onto the garden and beach. Took a glass bottom boat trip round Little Tobago and Goat Island with the very well informed guide. There is a great walk over the hill and down to a completely deserted bay. We are not bird watchers or divers which the hotel specialises in with its own dive centre, but the hotel was still very much for us and we met some very nice people and hope to return soon! A big thank you to everyone who made our holiday so great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Very pleased to hear you had such a great stay at Blue Waters Inn. It sounds as though we ticked all the right boxes for you. We are not perfect by any means but it is great when we get compliments - it certainly helps to keep the staffing team motivated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our dive club headed to Tobago for a week of diving and warm weather. The Hotel was Clean and Service great. The Dive shop is located directly adjacent to the hotel. Out package included two dives a day, but the diving was so great we added a third in the afternoon almost everyday. The Hotel has a cove pretty much to themselves with a beautiful sandy beach, surprisingly no bugs, and perfect weather with a breeze coming in from the Atlantic we didn't need to use the air conditioning. I'm told the birding is fantastic there too, but we didn't spend a lot of time on the rest of the island. The down side is that the Inn is located on the East side of the island.... no sunsets. :( They also don't have a website for the Dive Shop which made it hard to find out exactly what was available before we got there.

Room Tip: The higher numbers are closer to the dive shop, the lower numbers are closer to the dining facilties...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diveaholic56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thanks so much for posting your review. One thing we can't control is the weather so we are really pleased the sun shone for you! Our location here at Batteaux Bay is near perfect and with the majority of Tobago's main dive sites just off shore we like to think we are no.1 when it comes to diving in the area. The website is due a major overhaul and apologies the current site does not contain very much dive information. This is being addressed for the new website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Staying at this hotel was perfect to relax and unwind. The beach and the pool were perfect and the food at the restaurant was great. The staff was very friendly and also had a great sense of humor, I will never forget the smiles that they put on my face.

There was a small ant problem, but that is expected at a hotel on the beach in the islands.

If I were to return to Tobago I will defiantly stay here again. I had a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Many thanks for sharing your thoughts and we are very pleased you had such a wonderful stay at Blue Waters Inn. I am pleased the staff made you smile they certainly help to make our guests stay memorable. We have experienced a sea ant problem which in the past had been extremely rare. We hope mother nature will move them on shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Speyside
23.9 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
16.2 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
249 reviews
20.0 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,522 reviews
18.0 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
18.8 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Inn

Address: Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Speyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Speyside
Price Range: $167 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With just 38 guest rooms and bungalows, Blue Waters Inn sits in 42 acres of tropical gardens directly on the beach at Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago. Getting to us takes approximately 85 minutes from the airport. Speyside is super relaxed with quick access to the Main Ridge rainforest and the key underwater sites of the island. Twitchers and divers / snorkellers are very well catered for and the hotel is perfect for those wishing to simply switch off and enjoy the hotels tranquil location. The beach shelves gently and is considered safe for bathing. Lay by the pool or in the open air jacuzzi and admire the view across Batteaux Bay towards Bird Island and Little Tobago in the near distance. Learn to dive at our 5 star PADI dive centre complete with 2 Newton dive boats or explore the rainforest with one of the local guides. All our rooms are air-conditioned and face the sea. Most offer fabulous sea views and are only a few steps from the sand. The One and Two Bungalows are bigger and offer either one or two bedrooms. These are located a few steps from the beach have a patio. Deluxe Oceanview Studios are also very spacious and have an open plan kitchen / living room. Inter-connecting rooms are available for families needing more space. The fabulous Driftdeck offers dining alfresco with views straight out across the bay whilst the more elegant "Aqua" offers fine cuisine two or more nights per week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Waters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Northeast Coast
Blue Waters Inn Tobago/Speyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing