We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded and relaxing”
Review of Blue Waters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Waters Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Speyside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Secluded and relaxing”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We found this to be so relaxing. We felt like we had a private beach. Everything is laid back, so you truly get an islander feel and holiday. They had just renovated some of the rooms, which were needed, and plans were to redo all the rooms. The rooms were spacious, clean and they all faced the water. The dive shop is right there, so it makes it easy to schedule and go out on dives. The staff was friendly. They can make arrangements for you to hire a "taxi" to drive you to sights on the island or if you want a change of pace for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OverNextHorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    230
    57
    24
    12
See reviews for
97
345
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
POS
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My stay was very short but relaxing. The beach is the best in Tobago along with the wonderful things to do at the resort such as Kayaking, glass bottom reef tours, snorkelling, scuba-diving, lovely jetty with Gazebo to relax and enjoy the crystal clear water. The food was great and the room was beautifully equipped with modern furniture and appliances. Clean and spacious. Must go back again.

Room Tip: All rooms are beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denisejimenez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We had a really lovely stay here, room was spacious, clean and the air-con was very effective (unlike other places we stayed at), with huge, comfy bed. The sea was refreshing to swim in in the sheltered bay with a sandy sea bottom, so now worries about rocks.

The food was pretty over priced for what it was. There wasn't much choice and always several items (always fish) were off the menu. But what we did have was tasty.

The trips offered were really good, especially the trip to Little Tobago and the rainforests - definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miss_fg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Tobago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2011

There is nothing better than waking and seeing the coloured rays of the sun rising in the sky and hearing the ocean's waves gently combing the seashore. The rooms are air conditioned and feature a plasma television. Besides, Blue Waters is all about fun. There is easy access to the beautiful Speyside Reef and Little Tobago, where there are varied species of birds and animals that are not spotted on the mainland. Also, the Blue Waters Inn package includes free breakfast, hospitable staff and family / friend activities such as kayaking, lawn tennis, basketball and board games among others. Relaxing on the jetty to watch the sun set, or rocking away in a hammock on the beach front encourage an atmosphere of peace. Choices, choices....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyttleskeete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2011

the service was excellent everyone was wonderful ,the rooms were spacious loved the beds soft and well made up.the location great easy access to the beach. what i loved best was the customer service the people just wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhonda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I stayed two nights at Blue Waters Inn by myself in August, 2011. I was greeted with smiles and a Rum Punch (nice!) and shown to a room at ground level facing the beach. I really liked the hummingbird feeders outside each room... lots of birds whizzing about throughout the day. The A/C room was clean and the bed comfortable, but don't expect a TV in the room - not that I minded as I wasn't in Tobago to sit in my room and watch TV. The owners are in the process of remodeling the rooms. I snuck a peek of the newer rooms and they looked really nice!

The hotel staff was friendly. I especially appreciated the Guest Relations Manager, Alejandra. She always had a smile, and anytime I saw her around the premises she stopped to ask me how I was doing and if everything was OK.

Being a female solo traveler I am constantly aware of my safety and surroundings. I felt completely safe and comfortable here. I think had there been any concerns, Alejandra would have quickly helped.

This hotel is directly on a nice, quiet beach with snorkeling sites within swimming distance. However, I payed $25 (US) to go with a boat that took me out to Little Tobago to snorkel for about 1.5 hours. The reef wasn't spectacular as some other Caribbean islands, but there were plenty of colorful fish and the current wasn't too strong.

I ate at the restaurant for dinner and walked over the Jemma's for lunch. I preferred the hotel restaurant as the food was better and the wait staff was pleasant (I could barely get my waitress at Jemma's to look at me, let alone smile!). I had fish both nights at the Inn and could tell it was freshly caught. The seasoning was tasty and not too overwhelming. Try the local Tobago breakfast instead of the normal eggs or omelette.

Don't expect a lot to do here at night. It is located outside of a small village and it didn't look to me that there were many bars. This place is best for visitors who want quiet relaxation and gorgeous natural surroundings. It is also best with a special someone as it was oozing with romance at night. :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunchaser22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stayed here for five nights on a birdwatching trip. The location is superb and the birdlife fantastic. We were the only Birders, everyone else was here for diving, and seemed to hugely enjoy it. The hotel is adequate and quaint. Comfortable and clean with slightly dated rooms. Peaceful and quiet.
The big let down is the food. It is so limited and so basic. I expected fresh fish and fruit, not frozen breaded prawns for dinner, and when I asked for fruit at breakfast was told "sorry no fruit today". Such a shame. There are places to eat in Speyside (and we did) but it's quite a walk down the hill and rain is always just around the corner.
Blue Waters could be a little gem. Just a bit more effort from the waiting staff to smile with the customers, and the kitchen to be a bit more adventurous, and they'd be there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucylocket24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Speyside
23.9 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
16.3 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
249 reviews
20.0 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,518 reviews
18.0 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
18.8 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Inn

Property: Blue Waters Inn
Address: Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Speyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Speyside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With just 38 guest rooms and bungalows, Blue Waters Inn sits in 42 acres of tropical gardens directly on the beach at Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago. Getting to us takes approximately 85 minutes from the airport. Speyside is super relaxed with quick access to the Main Ridge rainforest and the key underwater sites of the island. Twitchers and divers / snorkellers are very well catered for and the hotel is perfect for those wishing to simply switch off and enjoy the hotels tranquil location. The beach shelves gently and is considered safe for bathing. Lay by the pool or in the open air jacuzzi and admire the view across Batteaux Bay towards Bird Island and Little Tobago in the near distance. Learn to dive at our 5 star PADI dive centre complete with 2 Newton dive boats or explore the rainforest with one of the local guides. All our rooms are air-conditioned and face the sea. Most offer fabulous sea views and are only a few steps from the sand. The One and Two Bungalows are bigger and offer either one or two bedrooms. These are located a few steps from the beach have a patio. Deluxe Oceanview Studios are also very spacious and have an open plan kitchen / living room. Inter-connecting rooms are available for families needing more space. The fabulous Driftdeck offers dining alfresco with views straight out across the bay whilst the more elegant "Aqua" offers fine cuisine two or more nights per week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Waters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Northeast Coast
Blue Waters Inn Tobago/Speyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing