We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“authentic fun”
Review of The Speyside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Speyside Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Speyside B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“authentic fun”
Reviewed October 21, 2010

wonderful 2 week stay - authentic staff - not going on your nerves - leave you alone with your book - good local fish dishes - pleasant rooms with balconies facing the bay and james bond island with the evacuated villa of ian fleming on it - sometimes groups of odd birdwatchers that you can then watch, anthropologically speaking. the young & good looking management will take you along on their pick-up to the enchanted village of charlotteville just over the next hill to meet true locals and beauties from trinidad and blonde run-a-way-chicks from san diego...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kvbcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    22
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
43
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
semporna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2010

we stayed not in the city in over night (had already al local accomodation), but we dived there with extradivers who are located there and went there for many good breakfasts or some dinners and some divers who stayed there showed us their very lovley rooms in a exeptional good location between plants up to a small hill, the sea right in front and we had some little swimms in the small but nice and very clean pool too. I loved being there, not just the diving is exeptional good, wether with the local leon or stephan form germany, also we felt very welcomed, stephan (diveinstructor) and jens (hotelmanager) were everytime availiable for any kind of questions, transportarrangement, tips for other activities then diving and and and... the service while breakfast or dinner was for tobago even quite fast, in many places (we´ve been not just in speyside) we waited for dinner up to 60 min., in the speyside never longer than 15 min.... next time we´ll stay in the speyside inn, a very friendly nice place with really good diving (-:

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldream76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

The Speyside Inn is in a lovely location. The balcony we had looked right out onto the beach and ocean which we could hear at night. It came highly recommended but didn't live up to my expectations. The only downside was the management which had changed since my friend had been there last. The young man from Germany in charge of the hotel was difficult to find, was unclear about room charges and was not very helpful to our group that was visiting Tobago for the first time. The dive shop operator (also from Germany) wasn't available to our group since a larger group canceled leaving not enough people for his minimum. Our group had twelve people in it, so I'm not sure how many people are needed for his attention. There was also a young lady (from Holland?) there who set up a turtle watching tour for us. She said she was married to a local who would take our group out, but I think we were a cover for some illegal activities that were going on down at the beach.

The swimming pool was not open although the paths around it were lovely to explore.

If you go, Speyside is a lovely place to stay but take no advice from the international group of young people currently running it. Ask the maids that come in each day for advice or the cook or walk down the street to one of the other restaurants to ask a local. The non-T$T people there don't really seem to care or are only worried about themselves.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquiM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We arrived at the Speyside Inn looking forward to being away from the main tourist area of Tobago, we had read reports and although some were said the service was not too good, we were not looking for a 5 star resort so gave it a go.

When we arrived the receptionist seemed pleasant enough but it was when we left the reception area that we began to realise something was not quite right. The door handle of the room was all rusted and didn't work properly, the wardrobe in the room did not close, there was no hot water and the windows had been boarded up and painted, and this was their superior room!! We stayed positive and decided to have a walk around the hotel and it only got worse from there. We went to the bar where the lady was on the phone, after a few minutes of being ignored we attracted her attention to be greeted with 'You want something?'. They had no rum, in Tobago this is unheard of, so we got a beer and sat down. The bar / restaurant area was nice enough, if not a bit run down so we decided to have some food, after waiting for a good while we got up and walked off! Then we went to look at the rest of the hotel - the pool was green and only half full, the walkways were tired and run down and there was no-one anywhere to ask when we could get some food. So we headed to Jemma's kitchen across the road and had a wonderful sea food dinner (highly recommend the place!). On returning to the hotel we decided that we did not want to spend 2 weeks in this place and needed to look for alternative accommodation, so we asked where the computer was (advertised as wifi in the reception area), we were lead to a little room (cupboard) which was empty except for a few leads and were told the internet would not be available until the next day! So the next day we found another hotel (Rex Turtle Beach - a bit touristy but lovely none the less), checked in and had a wonderful 2 weeks there.

But the story does not end here, we had paid 50% deposit for the Speyside and when we checked out we spoke to the German manager who apologised for the state of the hotel, said he understood our decision completely as he has been bought in by the German parent company as the previous manager had run the place to rack and ruin, he had only been there 2 weeks. He said he would arrange for our deposit to be returned, minus the one night we had stayed. We have not had a penny! As soon as we had left the story changed, now we were not entitled to any money back and in fact they stated that we should really have to pay the additional 50% as we had cancelled within 48 hours! They have completely ignored the fact that they had a duty to notify us of the issues with the hotel and that they had to bring a new manager in to sort out the previous incumbents mess. So the story goes on ............ Fingers crossed we will see some of our money and some point, although I doubt it as they do not even have the courtesy to reply to me when I contact them now, but safe to say, we will not be going anywhere near the Speyside Inn again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJSurrey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

If you are looking for somewhere to go in Tobago where you'll be guaranteed the usual 4 star European hotel experience...stop reading now! Whatever most people may consider to be its faults, the Speyside Inn delivers a true Tobago experience. The inn isn't luxurious, its actually very basic; it doesn't offer elegant cuisine, it offers simple local food; it isn't in the slightest way contrived; its almost like being part of the local community. And this is its real strength as you can't help but feel as though you are melting into the surroundings and becoming part of life in Speyside.

We went to Tobago to enjoy the diving. There is an on-site dive centre in the grounds of the inn and we made full use of it. The reefs in Tyrells Bay are full of a variety of life and the local dive master - Leon - knows them like the back of his hand; he should do, he's been diving them since he was a small child! Some of the swells and currents are not for the novice, but Leon knows how to help amateur divers along the way - trust me, he helped me!

The inn has a laid back atmosphere. It does take a few minutes for staff to come to you and take your order - but that is the way it is; and so what? Breakfast is included and comprises of fresh fruit and juice and then a hot choice or cereal with tea or coffee. The evening meal changes according to what is caught in the surrounding seas, but was always delicious and stays true to Tobagon cuisine. If you prefer, you can always dine at the local restaurants which are a short walk towards the centre of Speyside. We enjoyed local dishes, but they tend to produce very similar meals.

My advice would be to book a room fitted with air conditioning. We didn't and found it difficult to circulate air into the room at night even with the doors and windows open. The mosquito net was a must! Otherwise, the rooms are basic but functional. You have a bathroom with a sink, WC and shower; the main rooms are fitted with a wardrobe with a safe, a couple of bedside tables and a bed - and most important of all, a fridge! We enjoyed a balcony view out into the bay and the magnificent sunrises.

Overall, the inn is basic and functional. The staff are friendly and helpful, and Lenore pours a mean gin & tonic! It isn't luxury, but it is a feel of true Tobago. We loved it, we would definitely go back - but we'll be taking advantage of the air conditioning next time!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanky_lanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2009

This is a very nice beach hotel. It is located in a less develoveped side of the Island. It is ideal to relax and enjoy the beaches that are near by. However, if you are planning to go to Scarborough or to Bucco Reef you are in the wrong side of the island. It takes 45 minutes to get there from Scarborough because of the narrow, curvy road.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxpapitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

This is a small hotel with a glorious location in a quiet part of a wonderful island.

Glorious things:
1 sitting on the balcony and watching the ocean
2 sleeping in bed and hearing the waves crash

The rooms are spacious and nicely laid out - esp on the 3rd floor - great great great views of Little Tobago across the bay.
Quiet and clean. Firm mattresses. Simple decor ( one very terrible painting so just
enjoy the view)
Staff are friendly - but remember the pace is Caribbean - it is not DC or NYC .
I did wait 5 minutes early one morning - when I wandered down before breakfast
for a pot of hot water - but they had to heat up the water.

Breakfast is fine - the usual fare. (eggs and a bit of fruit)0
Dinner - quite slow and rather mediocre.

Intenet is available - in the reception area.

For us it was the perfect place - friendly low key - nice to watch the life
roll by from the balcony - very little traffic on the street in front.

It is not the place to go if you want to be pampered but if you want to simply
enjoy the view - swimming - snorkeling- birding and some great roti at lunch -
you CANNOT go wrong.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laughingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Speyside
23.1 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
1.9 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
617 reviews
17.4 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,518 reviews
0.0 mi away
Top Ranking Guesthouse
Top Ranking Guesthouse
#4 of 5 in Speyside
17 reviews
18.9 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Speyside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speyside Inn

Property: The Speyside Inn
Address: 193 Windward Road 189, Speyside, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Speyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Speyside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Speyside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and TravelUp so you can book your The Speyside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Speyside Hotel Speyside
The Speyside Inn Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing