We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard in the middle of nature”
Review of Acajou Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Acajou Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grande Riviere
Reviewed August 8, 2010

This hotel is fantastic when you want to combine three things: boutique hotel (consists of only 5 houses of very good quality by T&T standard), being in nature (rainforest nearby and turtles nesting on the beach) and a beach in walking distance (albeit not as clean as we expected). Prices, also for food, are not a bargain, but a great experience. Mosquitos are a big issue there though (especially during the rain season)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waldflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 195 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2010

First of all we had no electricity when we arrived, about 10 min into our arrival electricity went and came back about 10 pm. We were promised a discount for our inconvinience, we recieved 100 on one room and 50 on the other room.
We were the only guest there.
Dinner experience was terriable:- menu offered Grill fish with rice and grapefruit salsa.
When i got my meal all i got was fish and rice with patchoi minus grapefruit salsa. or any salsa. When i asked the kitchen staff about the salsa. The answer was politely, sorry we dont have any. One of the guest that was with us got a button in their vegetables. My friend had to wait another half hour to get a new plate of food. which consisted of fish and rice with some spinach. No sauce or salsa.

Now if this was not enough in bad food experience. Breakfast was incl. in the price.
Breakfast arrived with a few day old bread and butter and 2 table spoon of jam for 6 of us.
margerine, juice, and coffee. With the price of the huts that were very simple and cheep to maintain, compared to the price we had to pay. Breakfast was a disappointment. We even had back up food in case of the unavailability of food, which unfortunately was destroyed due to the electricity being out.

After reading about the hotell it gave the impression that they had some class . To our amasement this was not the case. I do not recomend this hotell at all.

If you want to spend a lot of money and

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malincharles, Owner at Acajou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2010

Dear Guest.

We are terribly sorry that your stay with us wasn’t satisfactory.
It is important to us to maintain a high standard, and learning that your experience was less than perfect is very disappointing. Mishaps happens to the best of people and businesses, but there are no excuses and it is very unfortunate that it affected you in this way. I hope it didn’t cast a shadow over your remaining holiday.

I wish that you would consider visiting us again someday, giving us a chance to show you how truly amazing this place really is.

Best regards,
Malin Charles,
Owner, Acajou Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed here for two nights to watch the turtles and do some hiking. The cottages are beautiful but they are not directly at the beach (this is about a 5 minute walk). They do have a view over the river. No airco in the cottages (but they have a ceiling fan).
Breakfast is good; dinner is pretty expensive and not that special. Location is (apart from not being directly at the beach) perfect. They have other hotels directly at the beach, but I would go to this one for the location.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MAO1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

Beautiful, romantic very relaxing with most friendly staff. Highly recomended!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henrik73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

Unfortunately we left Port-of-Spain quiet late to set off to find Paradise but highly recommended to start you journey early afternoon and allocte approximately 4hrs driving time to arrive early enough to experience the stunning sunset and candlelit dinner on location. If staying for a few days make sure that you are stocked up with everything you need prior to leaving your origin because shops become more expensive and scarce as you venture closer the resort. The amenities offered were beyond my expectation from the four poster bed to the antique day bed to the hammock on the balcony overlooking the pond and beach. These all made for an eco-friendly, rustic and romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seasonedtraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Acajou is a lovely getaway from the hustle and bustle of daily life. Tucked away in a beautiful setting of sun, sea, sand, night sky, trees and birds says it all. The North Coast of Trinidad has the darkest skies and for star gazers, it is fantastic to sit on the patio of the cottages and take in the stunning sky ( I am an Astronomer). It is the ideal place to stay if you wish to go turtle watching which is walking distance from the cottages. The cottages are aesthetically built with hammocks in the patio. It is a place to get away and unwind. in keeping with the eco tourism aspect, it should be noted that there are no televisions or phones or airconditioning in the rooms. For the Trinidadian weather, the nights are pleasantly cool. The loft in the cottage I stayed with my children was fun ! And in just two weeks since my visit, I have re booked to stay at Acajou. In the other places around that area for turtle watching in Grande Riviere, Acajou is indeed the nicest!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eupsychia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2009

We stayed at Acajou for 9 nights - arriving the night that the Trinidad Carnival started in earnest. We had decided to bi-pass Carnival (ie Port of Spain) and go somewhere quiet. Well, the music (the sort that shakes buildings) started in the houses around the hotel about the time we arrived (9pm) and didn't stop until 10am the next day - which after 18 hours travelling, was not the start we were expecting! Sleep simply wasn't an option. Still, I think that was our lack of research - if you want 'quiet' simply avoid the Carnival weekend. Once the music stopped, it was very peaceful. There is absolutely nothing to do in Grand Riviere but eat, drink and lie on the (almost deserted) beach. The sea is on the rough side for swimming (looks good for gentle surfing). Acajou is six 'huts' and a reception / restaurant about 100 yards from the beach. The menu is pretty good - albeit a bit repetitive after a week. We went 'DB&B' and ate lunch out at one of the other two places that served food - simply to break up the monotony of eating at the same place all the time. We didn't arrange a hire car so were 'captive' in Grand Riviere but that was our choice - we went to do nothing but relax / read / mooch and so the venue was ideal. All that said, I would limit another stay, were we to return, to no more than a week. Christine (the Manageress) and and the small team are very friendly but could have been a bit more pro-active. So, if you want peace and quiet and are happy to lounge around doing nothing for a week, Acajou might just be for you. If you go between March and July, you'll see the leather-back turtles laying their eggs on the beach - and it's quite a sight! We were lucky to see them as they appeared on the night before we left.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bodomouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grande Riviere
21.7 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
34 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,291 reviews
43.6 mi away
Cara Suites
Cara Suites
#1 of 1 in Claxton Bay
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.1 mi away
Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre
35 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain
23.4 mi away
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
#1 of 1 in Las Cuevas
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acajou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acajou Hotel

Address: 209`Paria Main Road | Grande Rivière, Grande Riviere Toco, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Grande Riviere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grande Riviere
Price Range: $128 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acajou Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACAJOU is a small, eco-friendly, family run hotel situated on the beautiful and dramatic northern Coast of Trinidad in a little fishing village called Grande Riviere. The hotel is built as a group of traditional cottages nestled in between the beach, a crystal clear river and lush rainforest covered mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Acajou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acajou Hotel North Coast
Acajou Hotel Trinidad/Grande Riviere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing