We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jungle gem”
Review of Acajou Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Acajou Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grande Riviere
Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A jungle gem”
Reviewed February 14, 2006

Warning - this place will steal your heart! Will make you want to stay there forever!
Beautiful! More stylish and elegant than anything else in T&T, while wonderfully understated and modest!
Quiet!!! If most tourist places advertise themselves as "paradise beach" "paradise retreat" - this one should call itself "metaphysical", if only this wasn't too pompous!
The location, the architecture of the bungalows, the interiors, the views - everthing is simply awesome!
The restaurant is great too, parhaps the menu should be more focused on Trinidadian food rather than international cuisine, as the former is parhaps tastier and simply better that the latter :-)
But our dinners there were gourmet experiences, and Annika was an otherworldy waitress :)

A place for those who really, really need to find where the end of the world actually is!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank senorcoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    68
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
50
91
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2006

Well, depending on what are you looking for, this could be teh better choice for somebody trying to hide away from the modern life, there is no TV or radio, just the sound of the waves, the birds, the wind and sometimes the rain. It's totally relaxing, the view of the sea from the restaurant and the cottages. The friendly and smiley staff is always there to meet you requirements and the food.. WOW! is very tasty and homey. It's quite far from the capital but it's worth to drive all the way there, you won't be dissapointed. Visit www.acajoutrinidad.com for more info and pictures of what you've been missing! ;). We are foreigner living in Trinidad but everytime we have a chance to go to Acajou... we'll be there!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank OscarIvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 22, 2006

A beautiful surprise, as soon as got there we were welcome by friendly staff who took us to our cottages, looking beautiful rustic from the outside all in hardwood, but to step inside each one is to find the decor and design stylishy elegant yet supremely confortable with double doors which open on to with relaxing views accross Acajou's magnificient tropical ground, like a botanical garden, to the beach and river. The staff hang hammock for us and we started to be in paradise.
The restaurant is open breeze on the river and the beach, the food was great. The cook Maggie is willing to cater waht ever you feel like eating beside their menu. Acajou is the best place in Trinidad and may be one of the greatest eco-retreat of all the caribbean.
I recommend it, it's a new place so it is not much advertize on the net nor in guides.
Candice

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 8, 2005

i re-spent lovely days in acajou in trinidad
the food was very good
the site is wonderful like the architecture of the cottage
i ll go back there again

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2005

I read the reviews about Acajou. I did not stay the night at the hotel so I will not comment on the cottages. The cottages look nice, but I can imagine they get very hot-- with no air conditioning.

I ate at the restaurant. Besides the fact that we had to wait almost an hour for our food, the food was not very tasty at all. I don't know who this restaurant caters to.. but the food did not have any Trini flava.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Academarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad y Tobago
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2005

Finding Acajou Hotel in Gran Riviere was like finding a treasure hidden in the rain forests of Trinidad's Northern Mountain Range. It is an explosion of your senses discovering all that the rich eco-system has to offer. Make every effort if visiting Trinidad and/or Tobago to rent a car and head East on the highay pass the airport towards Valencia. Continue East to the coastal towns of Matura, Rampanalgas, Cumana, Toco (Trinidad's North-East Tip) and swing back West along the North Coast thru San Souci to Gran Riviere. The big river welcomes you to the village of Gran Riviere and a sign idetnifies ACAJOU quite clearly. Upon arrival you will find beautifully appointed cottages (5 of them) themed by Japanese and Thai influences. The cottages are very elegant and extremely comfortable....Days turn into awesome nights on the private deck of each cottage. Meals in the restaurant are very tasty and the staff are very freindly and well trained. Awake each morning to a stroll along the river, through bamboo groves or a walk on the beach at dawn to perhaps catch a late Leather Back Turtle laying her eggs (Mar-Jul). Acajou is a perfect escape from the buslte of Port of Spain or just as a retreat for bonding with Nature. Excellent for Bird Watchers, Writers, Photographers, Artists, Eco-Adventure seekers, or just anyone looking for something different. Be sure to take a leisurely swim in the rover which runs along the property. I highly recommend this as a MUST DO if visiting TRINIDAD & TOBAGO. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank caribartTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 15, 2005

My husband and I just spent two nights at this beautiful ecolodge. The cabins are hardwood versions of Balinese architecture with simple luxury and very airy while compact. The dining room and bar are both open air, looking over the Grande Riviere river which rolls down the jungle hills into the sea. The food and staff were wonderful. Laure and Roland are warm, welcoming, and worldly hosts. We enjoyed getting to know them a bit.
The whole north-east shore of Trinidad is very dramatic and rugged. The roads getting there are full of curves and a bit daunting at times. But, if you love exploring tropical rainforests with green parrots, wading rivers with blue-green pools for swimming, and hiking trails under towering forest canopies with lush green vegetation with ginger and cocoa plants, Grande Riviere is well worth it. There is also a beach for sunning and swimming, although the surf on the north shore can be rough. In the summer months, green turtles nest here is large numbers. The village is tiny and rural, but the residents are friendly if you are willing to crack a smile first.
I would highly recommend this adventure in style and luxury, the Acajou Hotel.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grande Riviere
21.7 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
34.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,029 reviews
35.0 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
#1 of 1 in Las Cuevas
70 reviews
33.1 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
43.6 mi away
Cara Suites - Pointe a Pierre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acajou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acajou Hotel

Property: Acajou Hotel
Address: 209`Paria Main Road | Grande Rivière, Grande Riviere Toco, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Grande Riviere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grande Riviere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acajou Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACAJOU is a small, eco-friendly, family run hotel situated on the beautiful and dramatic northern Coast of Trinidad in a little fishing village called Grande Riviere. The hotel is built as a group of traditional cottages nestled in between the beach, a crystal clear river and lush rainforest covered mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Acajou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acajou Hotel North Coast
Acajou Hotel Trinidad/Grande Riviere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing