We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Nice!”
Review of Acajou Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Acajou Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grande Riviere
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Acajou has potential but greatly lacks in customer service and ambiance. The hired staff are local Trinidadians who are clearly not trained in proper customer service. The food prepared for me and my company was undercooked and OVERPRICED. The path leading to the beach is poorly maintained, and upon reaching the beach, you are greeted with the scent of fish and gasoline. This is because there is a fishing depot directly outside Acajou compound.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank mrjnickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malincharles, Owner at Acajou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

If you read the information about Acajou Hotel on the webpage, or anywhere else for that matter, it clearly states that Grande Riviere is a Fishing Village. We never made it out to be anything else. The fishing depot had to move location temporarily because of the river changing direction. There are already approved plans for a proper fishing depot further down the beach. In the mean time, yes you do have to pass some fishing boats on the way to the river.
Personally, I am happy for the local fishermen and farmers. They are all needed to keep small villages like Grande Riviere alive.

Acajou is an Eco-Hotel. One important criteria to fulfill in order to be called Eco is to benefit the local community. Not many people know this. This is why we only hire staff from the village or the close by villages so They benefit from the salaries. I see nothing wrong in hiring "local Trinidadians" as staff, on the contrary.
People here are friendly, shy and generally not educated. Many can't read or have ever sat down in a restaurant before. We have to start over from the beginning and educate everyone. this is time consuming and costly but very beneficial to the community.

I do apologize if your lunch was not cooked properly, there is no excuse for this and we will do everything to improve. This can happen sometimes when we have staff training.

Regards,
Malin Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 191 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2012

We considered three properties in Grande Riviere, and are glad we chose Acajou. The setting is similar to eco-lodges we have enjoyed in Costa Rica and Ecuador. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with tropical flowers, and are teaming with birds. Our cabin was comfortable and clean, and had a simple luxury to it.

The Acajou restaurant was fine, but did not match the luxury of the rest of the property.

We hired local birding guide Nicholas for a morning outing and were rewarded with good sightings of the endemic Trinidad piping-guan and many other species. Nicholas is knowledgeable and pleasant, helping us see the birds and learn about them and their calls. We highly recommend him.

We were surprised at the loud amplified radio coming from the center of town, blasting a sports event so we could hear it in our cabin. Fortunately, this died down by 9pm or so, and was only that one night.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mamitxoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

This is the first time we were at an eco resort. Hotel is very lovely, the best in the area, with about 5 cottages which have amazing views (ocean, river and forest). Management is very helpful in accomodating any request and we felt at ease.
We came in a low season, so there were no turtles, but a lot of rest. It is generally quiet at night, with only the sounds of nature (and only weekend partying by locals, which may be a bit uncomfortable, but it is still over at a very reasonable hour) waking you up.
Hotel is located in a very prestine village, which is hard to come by nowadays and even the attraction of turtles didnt make it touristy. We liked it very much. Nature is very beautiful in the area, very unique.
Two things would have made our stay better, tastier and better priced kitchen and a nicer access to the beach. The beach itself is nice, with rough waves in the season that we came. We were the only ones on a 2-mile beach.
I would make sure to bring mosquito repellent, which we did but didnt use as rigourously as we should have.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelista2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Acajou is one of the best hotels I've stayed at - ever. The cottages are tasteful and cozy, the grounds are beautiful and the staff is first-rate. My wife and I were there with our 3 kids (aged 11, 12 and 18) for 5 days and we had the time of our lives. The hotel is private while intimately embedded within Grande Riviere, a very small village that subsists on fishing, a bit of farming, and the tourism associated with leatherback turtle nesting (we wend during non-nesting season). We found the village to be safe for all of us even late at night and it was easy to start conversations with locals. The beach is amazing for body surfing and hanging out. It's easy to find guides that take you into the rain forest. We definitely hope to return!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I spent a lot of time reviewing places in Toco before choosing Acajou. I was not disappointed at all. The rooms were beautiful and opened onto a breathtaking view of the river and ocean. The wooden decor, green surroundings and canopy bed made me feel like I was in an exotic movie. One might imagine that in Trinidad we are accustomed to these kinds of places. The reality is that if a person is from an urban centre, scenes like this are either very rare or non-existant.

My partner loves surfing and he enjoyed the sport almost everyday by walking three minutes to the back of the resort. I often layed in the hammock reading a novel.

The resort is very romantic. It is quiet, beautiful and worth the drive (actually the drive there is half the fun).

I have recommedned this place to many people and will continue to recommend it. One of my favourite places in Trinidad and Tobago hands down.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JadedTear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Acajou Hotel is located in the picturesque north east coast of Trinidad. It is well off the beaten track and getting there can be quite an adventure in poorly paved roads. But it adds to feeling of being away from it all.
On arriving at the destination one is greeted by some unfinished building work close to the reception.
There was a slight problem at check-in but reception staff were helpful in sorting it out.

The cabin/cottages are nestled in a lush green setting. Perhaps a bit too close to each other for complete privacy but nevertheless a nice setting.

The cabin was well appointed and comfortable.

The restaurant service let down the experience. Everything took too long at dinner time and it was a repeat experience at breakfast but just a bit longer.
Never saw the Swedish chef so I guess he must have been very busy behind the scenes.

I am always wary of these Eco-Resorts that seem to have very little in the way of the eco-theme and this one is no exception.
Quite noisy at night as there is a club close by and sound carries very well. Not very eco.

The pure natural beauty of the area and the friendly people in the village really make the outing to Grande Riviere a unique experience. Acajou Hotel could do better.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awhhaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malincharles, Owner at Acajou Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Good Day,
Could you please let us now in what ways you consider the place not to be Eco? It would be a great way to help us improve.

About the noise from the local bar; Once in a blue moon, the villagers organize a lime that can be noisy. I am sorry you came to visit us on such occasion and that you were bothered by it.

Best Regards,
Malin Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Stayed at the Acajou hotel when we had been in Trinidad. The hotel has a nice wooden décor and is situated in a place of solitude with lots of lush green surroundings and a beautiful long water body. From the room you can watch these beautiful scenes. There is a nice portico in your room where you can sit on the chair and enjoy nature. We were taken for a trip through the forest by a local friendly Trinidadian. We had fresh coconuts, almonds, avocados, etc during the trip. Turtle watching was a new and great experience. We would definitely stay at this place again if time permits.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steward_Zeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grande Riviere
21.7 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
34.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,191 reviews
33.1 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.0 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
904 reviews
25.5 mi away
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
#1 of 1 in Las Cuevas
71 reviews
43.6 mi away
Cara Suites
Cara Suites
#1 of 1 in Claxton Bay
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acajou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acajou Hotel

Address: 209`Paria Main Road | Grande Rivière, Grande Riviere Toco, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Grande Riviere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grande Riviere
Price Range: $127 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acajou Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACAJOU is a small, eco-friendly, family run hotel situated on the beautiful and dramatic northern Coast of Trinidad in a little fishing village called Grande Riviere. The hotel is built as a group of traditional cottages nestled in between the beach, a crystal clear river and lush rainforest covered mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Acajou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acajou Hotel North Coast
Acajou Hotel Trinidad/Grande Riviere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing