We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really helpful”
Review of Blue Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Haven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bacolet Bay
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Went to Tobago and this hotel as part of a trip to the West Indies with my girlfriend. The hotel was nice, although a little worn out in places. The room was nice, but slightly worn looking, although the views from the room were incredible. That being said the staff made us feel very comfortable and we enjoyed our stay.

On our last day my girlfriend became seriously unwell and had to be rushed to hospital. The duty manager was incredible. She arranged for my girlfriend's young cousin (who we had brought with us) to get back to Trinidad; stayed with me at the hospital making sure I was ok (I am English and was on my first trip to the West Indies); got me details for the English Consulate and then continued to keep in contact with us throughout the rest of my stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 253 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

imagine the worst cost x benefit of your live...this is the Blue haven Hotel!
The service - although nice, it´s lasy (even for Tobago´s standards), uncareful....there is just 1 girl that can solve your problem: Daniela, but she will not stay for too long (of course!!!!!). The room + room view were truly fantastic but cleaness is out of question. Room service? only if it fits on the "evening menu", otherwise, forget about. No internet in the room - only in the lobby area, barely no amenities - at least a bar of soap would be nice...The wardrobes are made from the cheapest wood you can imagine and painted by a friend of my 6 years old son.
Breakfast is a joke, burn stuff, lack of options...just when the soccer team of Finland arrived, we could see some difference.
No swimpool service - not even to clean or put the place in order - do it yourself if you want!
Nothing to nibble at the bar - there is no kitchen there but no chips? Nuts? NOOOOOOOO.
Run away from the restauran: almost no options of food, take forever to bring to the table and the atmosphere...like a cemitry!
Good things: the beach and David (kind of life gard, helper etc...) and the beach restaurant: NO PROBLEM is its name - nice lunch food.
Ans the owner???? An austrian guy living the dream of the tropics. no maintanence AT ALL in the whole hotel. In a nutshell: stay in the hotel next door if you don´t have kids (because they don´t accept them) or go to Coco reef Hotel.

Room Tip: i stayed in the room #3 - very good - it was a junior suite, but I guess the room # 2 has a better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuSeabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We decided to got Tobago because we wanted something exotic. This hotel was nothing short of paradise. Perched atop a tall hill overlooking a brown sand beach, this hotel looked like a tropical paradise with modern, tastefully decorated rooms which included a comfortable mahogany canopy bed with a mosquito be (presumably for show, because we did not encounter Mosquitos in our room). The bathrooms are made of marble and the living area has conveniences such as a flat screen cable television and an MP3 player/stereo.

The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. When we encountered a battery proble, with the car they rented us, they replaced it, no questions asked and even sent someone to pick us up free of charge.

The restaurant that is attached to the hotel (Havana Cafe) had excellent food (though it was a bit pricey) but an excellent and complete hot breakfast which was included in our rate.

The only reservation we have about returning is Tobago itself. The island is not quite set up for tourism. We weren't exactly looking for St Maarten, however, we did expect a simple sign when a road ... Ended. We almost drove off a cliff on the way to a beach! Also, nice swimming beaches and excellent restaurants are hard to find. It's not that they don't exist - it's just that their locations/directions are not well advertised, even if you look hard for them. We also went on a boat trip that had ride captains who didnt know what they were doing and had us stuck im the rain the whole time, and refused to take us home even though every passenger was unhappy ans we didn't ask for our mney back. Finally, there are goats, goats, goats all over the island. There is even a new, elaborate goat racing track that has just been built. We even saw a goat being born on the side of the road. now, we have nothing against goats being all over the place. but we're unusual that way.

Anyway, the high quality of the hotel totally made/saved the trip.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meenooskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel and relocated the next day.
The food was terrible, the restaurant equipment was in some cases on beer crates and we couldnt bring ourselves to eat there. The room smelt damp with worn out ac that sounded like a aircraft taking off. The tv did not work (not that was an issue) the bed linen was old. The shower in the bath was a trickle and the shower curtain (plastic) was horrible.
The public beach was ok but if you are looking for golden sands then this is not the beach for you...!!.
Overall very disappointed. The brochure/web pictures of this hotel look great, but must have been taken a long time ago.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mercmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We spent two days and loved it. Never turned on the TV, instead stayed on the beach and spent time together. The views and the ambiance were great. Food was fine. Would go back again if ever in the region. We wanted a romantic holiday and got it.

Our only warning is Tobago itself - it is off the beaten path and there isn't much to do.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side face Bacolet Beach, and we preferred that view. The hotel offered us the cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidhill1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My wife and I spent a quiet and relaxing long weekend at the gracious and comfortable Blue Haven hotel. The staff were helpful and charming , and while our room was perhaps nearing the time for refurbishment , it was large , with a stunning view over the bay , and an extremely comfortable bed. The beach was charming , with lovely clear water for swimming ( much better than Pigeon Point ! ) , with the beach bar providing an excellent rum punch.

If you want a brand new , modern , sterile hotel room , don't go to the Blue Haven. If however you want the true old world Tobago experience , you will enjoy the slow paced gracious charm of this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms in the original block , overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tafkag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

First let me say that the staff at Blue Haven was awesome! The kitchen staff,bar staff,maintenance staff and reception staff. The supervisor however NEEDS to change her very unfriendly and nasty attitude. She was rude and not very accommodating when we told her about issues we had while at the hotel! As far as issues go.....many arised. My mum and I had to change three different rooms before we were some what satisfied. The tv didn't work in one room,the ac and fan didn't work in another and the room we finally stayed in, the toilet wasn't flushing and the shower didn't work well! I must say that the view is wonderful and that is as much I can say about the hotel. It was not what we expected it was a disappointment. I will give thanks once again to Mr.Anderson who did his best to make us happy as well as the rest of the staff. But the supervisor is the weakest link and needs to grow up!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blackgem8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacolet Bay
8.2 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
4.7 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
5 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
79 reviews
4.6 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Haven Hotel

Address: Bacolet Bay, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Bacolet Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bacolet Bay
Price Range: $144 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Haven Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Hotel completely renovated & re-opened July 2000. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Blue Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Haven Hotel Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing