We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay at bacolet bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Half Moon Blue Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Bacolet Bay B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
london
18
Reviewed June 23, 2006

My wife, son and I had the most amzing holiday in Tobago. Half Moon Blue Hotel was a great choice because the atmosphere was just what we needed - stylish, friendly with a down to earth luxury.

It is a great idea to rent a car, so you can go explore different parts of the island. There were so many beaches to explore and eco tours to take. The variety of birds and flowers was astounding.

The rum punches at the Half Moon Blue were superb, a great way to wind down on the verandah watching the sun go down. Also, many thanks to the staff, Asha and Sheema, who took such great care of us and our son. We will definitely be back soon.

...and regarding the price and service included: we thought USD140.00 per night and a 50sqm spacious blue room with 4-poster king size bed, rattan furniture etcetc. was great considering that breakast with ham&eggs/fish/fruit, transfer from the airport, welcome drinks was included.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 136 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Detroit
12
Reviewed May 21, 2006

Despite the website description, the hotel is decent but not luxurious by United States standards. I would equate it to a Holiday Inn at best…

Pros:
•Price
•Proximity to Bacolet Bay Beach
•View of Ocean

Cons:
(1) The variety and quality of the food available in the hotel restaurant was disappointing. The prices were outrageous, presumably because there are precious few dining options in the area.

(2) The room is cute, but the bed was rock hard (causing back pains) and squeaked at every turn. Plus the walls are very thin. So we were routinely awakened by crowing roasters and barking dogs at 4 am! Not to mention what our neighbors may have heard from inside of our room.

(3) Bacolet Bay Beach is your only option in walking distance. If you want to do more than lay on the beach I suggest you develop a relationship with a reliable taxi driver.

Lastly, a simple request (made at check in) to split the bill equally between two credit cards was not honored. I asked the manager, Asha Jarrett, to correct the error. Ms. Jarrett, immediately made excuses and threatened me with additional administrative charges to correct THEIR error. At that point, it was obvious that customer service was not a priority. It’s been almost 3 weeks, and the error has not been corrected.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2006

Our trip to Tobago was my Christmas present to my partner and our first trip to the Carribean. He travels continually with his job and stays at expensive hotels. I do not have access to a company credit card but wanted to find a lovely small hotel which would meet his standards for our break. Half Moon Blue was perfect.
We arrived tired and disorientated by the flight and after guzzling our complimentary rum punch and then jumping in the pool to cool off we collapsed into our wonderful bed, which was encassed in muslin and romantically decorated with fesh flower petals.
A wonderful week followed.
The Staff at the hotel were all friendly and attentive; nothing was too much trouble and we left feeling we had stayed with friends.
The photos on the hotel web-site do not exaggerate anything, the rooms are large and airy, tastefully decorated and contain all a traveller needs - safe, fridge, television, hairdryer etc. The views from the balcony were wonderful.
The hotel is small, only 9 rooms so this guarrantees the peace and quiet we both craved, perhaps this hotel would not please the guest looking for entertainment and new company.
The location of the hotel, on the less popular windward side of the island was perfect for us. The beach was a moments walk and we were able to hire sunbeds, though I am equally as happy on the sand. By Tobagan standards, the beach was quite busy, used by guests from the larger Blue Haven, but the little beach bar was handy and the coconut man was very entertaining - collecting coconuts, pointing out Iguanas in the trees and advising about local eels.
After our holiday we have come to the conclusion that the food on Tobago is not great... and we did try all sorts of places! paying as little as £7.00 for 1 meal and up to as much as £100 for another! Price seemed quite irrelavant to quality and freshness - though quantity was never an issue.
The food at the hotel was no better than anywhere else - appart from the lobster which Reynaud prepared for me - this was truly wonderful. I must admit that as a cook by profession I would love to help them improve: it could have been perfect.
A car for a few days was cheap and fun, enabling us to see the whole island in all its beauty - but taxis were plentiful and the drivers ofcourse a mine of imformation.
We will definitely return to this hotel ! Surely, I think, that is the greatest compliment we can pay.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeannine20657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2005

Bacolet Bay - Tobago, The Caribbean

My girlfriend and I went and stayed at the Half moon Blue, a very comfortable 3 star colonial style hotel.

Whether you're taking a walk down to the beach or just gazing at the alluring bays, the Half Moon Blue hotel is a perfect place to relax; especially if you're lucky enough to be in the Penthouse Loft - A spectacular loft style space at the front of the hotel that overlooks the sea.

Amazingly we were upgraded to the Penhouse for free and it made the stay so much more enjoyable!

The Island as a whole is beautiful and unspoilt. Over half the Island is covered by rainforrest and is therefore teaming with wildlife, especially birds.

The top 10 things you have to do when you're in Tobago are (in no particular order):

1. Swim and dive into the Argyle Waterfalls

2. Charter the Island girl for a day out swimming with the sting rays and leather back turtles in Cotton Bay, the Dolphins alongside the Catamaran and drink plenty of the rum punch from the bar!!

3. Visit Speyside and charter a guide (and boat) to take you across to Little Tobago.

3. Lay on the beach at Pigeon point and enjoy the gorgeous carribean sea.

4. Speak to Jason at Pigeon Point and ask him to take you to the Buccoo Reef Garden for a spot of 'lazy snorkelling'. Trust me, it's amazing!

5. Swim in the Nylon Pool.

6. Visit the Japanese Reef Garden in front of little Tobago and see the huge brain coral and active underwater life.

7. Visit Englishmans bay and snorkel along the right side of the beach.

8. Go to Sunday school and sample some of the local fayre.

9. Watch the Pelicans dive for food right in front of your eyes at Kings bay.

10. Watch the sunset from Fort King George.

If you do go, don't be put off by the 'rainy season'. The weather when we went was meant to be stormy and cloudy etc but it was fine. It rained maybe 3 times for a total of about an hour and as soon as it stopped the sun came back out. If anything it's a relief to be out of the sun for a minute - a good excuse to relax and enjoy a rum punch!

Overall a great destination!

James
London

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank JamesHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2005

We spent 10 amazing days in Tobago in Feb/Mar 2005 and are ever so happy that we made the decision to stay at Half Moon Blue. If you like us go on holidays to have a relaxing break, enjoy each others company and experience the "local atmosphere" and beauty - this is the place to be. Half Moon Blue is situated 10 minutes walk outside Scarborough, 15-20 minutes drive from the more commercial Pigeon Point and west coast and 2 minutes walk from Bacolet Bay (where the water is not green, but great to swim in and you get the palm trees and small bar/lunchplace one might be looking for).

As per usual you get what you pay for, and at USD 140 per night we were happy with the spacious and clean, but simple Blue Room we stayed in. The decor was sparse in the room, but laying in our four-poster bed (tasteful even by Scandinavian standards) looking out over the ocean was great. We spent many romantic evenings out on the balcony, drinking yummy Carib and enjoying the seaview and the beautiful flowers in the garden.

The small overflow pool had an amazing view, and served its purpose on those days we didn't want to expose ourselves to the sun down at the beach. The hotel has 3 good Suzuki jeeps for hire (at USD 50/day), and on those days we wanted to go on outing we could just pick up the keys in the morning.

Both before and during our stay we found that the staff kept a low profile, but were most helpful when you needed assistance. This is not a luxury resort, but if you are a young person able and willing to carry your own suitcases, try simple, but very tasty local dishes in the restaurant and have the initiative to organise your own outings - this is the hotel you should stay in.

During our stay we also got married at a civil ceremony in Scarborough, and Gloria and her staff really made every effort to make sure that we had a great day. I got to pick my flowers in the garden, Gloria's husband took some lovely photos of us down at Bacolet Bay and we found chilled bubbly in our room upon arrival.

However, the only negative thing I have to say about Half Moon Blue is that they have a tendency to move some guests around if they have new guests arriving towards the end of your stay. If you call to check before your aarrival I am sure this can be avoided. On the other hand we were sent to one of the expensive hotels on the west coast for our last two nights, which proved to be a great deal (all paid for by Half Moon Blue) and a perfect opportunity to see another part of the island before we left.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank barken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2005

our experiences:
- 14 days the same breakfast (fish or eggs)
- terrible/non existing service
- bad behaviour (staff member damaged our car but denied the accident. They rather let us pay 500 USD, than owning up to having hitten the car)
- bad organisation (other guests had to change rooms twice during a 14 days stay)
- nice rooms, but ours was much too small for 3 persons
- nice pool
- good location (as start point for tours)

summary: nice small hotel, but FAR TOO EXPENSIVE

12  Thank JoRapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
sievering
16
Reviewed December 10, 2004

after short seven wonderful days (and some rainy nights) it was quite difficult to get ready again for work in vienna. tobago was pretty much exactly what we wanted from a caribbean island. exotic, not too crowded, lovely almost deserted beaches, and welcoming locals. we recommend to take a car or a jeep to explore the island. it'll be a big mistake to miss out on the rain forest, the waterfalls....or simply playing golf at one of the two 18hole golf courses. the lovely half moon blue hotel is located at bacolet bay, little outside of scarborough, you could nt just walk to all those places.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacolet Bay
1.4 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
251 reviews
8.0 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
4.1 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bacolet Beach Club
Bacolet Beach Club
#1 of 2 in Bacolet Bay
384 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
3.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Blue Hotel

Address: Bacolet Street 73, Bacolet Bay, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Bacolet Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bacolet Bay
Price Range: $94 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Blue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here's a little secret only a few people know about: if you're planning a trip to Tobago, one of the most charming hotels is Half Moon Blue Hotel at the Donkey Cart House. Nestled in gardens of palms, bamboo and bougainvillea, the hotel's suites lay beneath the hill of historical Fort George. Eight extra spacious suites and one spectacular Penthouse loft overlook the horizon, the half moon shaped Bacolet Bay and the overflow swimming pool where midnight swims are a must! The decor sets your mood for serene and lazy days and romantic exotic nights. These colonial styled suites with jalousied windows and doors open onto verandas with rattan chaise-lounges, creating the perfect spot for what ever your heart desires like that best seller you have been dying to read. On a clear day you can see the sister isle of Trinidad. These breathtaking panoramic views with their romantic surf washed coves can be seen from our balconies with the beach only a 2 minute trot away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Moon Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing