We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic Caribbean experience at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Half Moon Blue Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Bacolet Bay B&B and Inns
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A fantastic Caribbean experience at a reasonable price”
Reviewed May 3, 2005

We spent 10 amazing days in Tobago in Feb/Mar 2005 and are ever so happy that we made the decision to stay at Half Moon Blue. If you like us go on holidays to have a relaxing break, enjoy each others company and experience the "local atmosphere" and beauty - this is the place to be. Half Moon Blue is situated 10 minutes walk outside Scarborough, 15-20 minutes drive from the more commercial Pigeon Point and west coast and 2 minutes walk from Bacolet Bay (where the water is not green, but great to swim in and you get the palm trees and small bar/lunchplace one might be looking for).

As per usual you get what you pay for, and at USD 140 per night we were happy with the spacious and clean, but simple Blue Room we stayed in. The decor was sparse in the room, but laying in our four-poster bed (tasteful even by Scandinavian standards) looking out over the ocean was great. We spent many romantic evenings out on the balcony, drinking yummy Carib and enjoying the seaview and the beautiful flowers in the garden.

The small overflow pool had an amazing view, and served its purpose on those days we didn't want to expose ourselves to the sun down at the beach. The hotel has 3 good Suzuki jeeps for hire (at USD 50/day), and on those days we wanted to go on outing we could just pick up the keys in the morning.

Both before and during our stay we found that the staff kept a low profile, but were most helpful when you needed assistance. This is not a luxury resort, but if you are a young person able and willing to carry your own suitcases, try simple, but very tasty local dishes in the restaurant and have the initiative to organise your own outings - this is the hotel you should stay in.

During our stay we also got married at a civil ceremony in Scarborough, and Gloria and her staff really made every effort to make sure that we had a great day. I got to pick my flowers in the garden, Gloria's husband took some lovely photos of us down at Bacolet Bay and we found chilled bubbly in our room upon arrival.

However, the only negative thing I have to say about Half Moon Blue is that they have a tendency to move some guests around if they have new guests arriving towards the end of your stay. If you call to check before your aarrival I am sure this can be avoided. On the other hand we were sent to one of the expensive hotels on the west coast for our last two nights, which proved to be a great deal (all paid for by Half Moon Blue) and a perfect opportunity to see another part of the island before we left.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank barken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    45
    18
    11
    11
See reviews for
17
72
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2005

our experiences:
- 14 days the same breakfast (fish or eggs)
- terrible/non existing service
- bad behaviour (staff member damaged our car but denied the accident. They rather let us pay 500 USD, than owning up to having hitten the car)
- bad organisation (other guests had to change rooms twice during a 14 days stay)
- nice rooms, but ours was much too small for 3 persons
- nice pool
- good location (as start point for tours)

summary: nice small hotel, but FAR TOO EXPENSIVE

Helpful?
12 Thank JoRapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 10, 2004

after short seven wonderful days (and some rainy nights) it was quite difficult to get ready again for work in vienna. tobago was pretty much exactly what we wanted from a caribbean island. exotic, not too crowded, lovely almost deserted beaches, and welcoming locals. we recommend to take a car or a jeep to explore the island. it'll be a big mistake to miss out on the rain forest, the waterfalls....or simply playing golf at one of the two 18hole golf courses. the lovely half moon blue hotel is located at bacolet bay, little outside of scarborough, you could nt just walk to all those places.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 26, 2004

Firstly sorry if this review seems a little long-winded but I found it quite difficult to get an in depth review of the Half Moon Blue and so I hoped that this may offer a little more insight. My Girlfriend and I have just returned from Tobago, we had a fantastic time. Firstly the title of rainy season for the Autumn months seems a little misleading. We may have simply been very lucky but we only saw about an hours worth of rain (during the daytime) the rest of the time it was extremely hot and sunny, be sure to wear high factor sun cream! The half moon blue is a very nice hotel, the staff are mostly very friendly and pleasant, although a little more help with baggage to our room would have been much appreciated.
The restaurant is quite reasonable and the food is very good, the kitchen is open to view and its a nice touch being able to hear and smell the preparation. The breakfasts are quite small and a little monotonous, that said however the small portions and the flying fish available are well suited to the climate. Be careful to check the exact details of your holiday with your travel agent however, some people (who had booked through lastminute) found that 'bed and breakfast' only entailed coffee and toast, none of the other more filling breakfast options.
We stayed in the superior penthouse suite which is once again very nice. I would not describe it as fabulous, the toilet and the shower are frankly a little shoddy looking. While the fridge supplied is very helpful for keeping the excellent local beer Carib nice and cool, it was very rusty and had to be approached with care to avoid rusty splinters! These complaints do however paint a worse picture than is fair, and while perhaps a little over priced (maybe try and negotiate a better price with the staff who are very accomodating) the rest of the room really is lovely and the balcony gives a truly great view of the atlantic and is a lovely place to be at both sunset and sunrise.
In terms of location the Half Blue moon is not located near the tourist centre of Tobago. While this was perfect for us, those looking for more lively nightlife may be better suited to one of the hotels around crown point. Scarborough is about a 25 minute walk away which is definitely best not done during the midday heat or at night. We were surprised by how basic Scarborough is. As the principal town it is not always highlighted in guide books that the restaurant facilities suitable for tourists are a little limited, that said there are quite a few cafes where you can eat local food at local prices (less than 6US$ for a very large lunch in many). The best restaurant we tried in this area was the salsa kitchen on the outskirts of the town, very friendly with lovely reasonable tapas. We also heard that the blue crab was very nice too. Be careful of going to the restaurant at the blue haven hotel, shutters on the bay (literally over the road from the half moon blue) the food is good but doesn't merit the slightly ridiculous prices (25US$ for a pasta course!).
In terms of reaching the rest of the island then you need transportation of some variety. To go to the more deserted beaches on the north side of the (north of Castara) island it is probably more economical to have a car. However if you only want to go to the beaches around buccoo and Mount Irvine, (which are great but just not as deserted) taxis are perfectly adequate, they rarely go above 22US$ round trip from the Half moon blue and the taxi drivers are mostly great fun and chat and beep to their friends (ie the whole of the island) en-route. We found that they are also willing to drive around searching for a suitable restaurant for no extra charge. Bacolet Bay is no more than 2 minutes from the hotel and is lovely though not the picture perfect white sand-turquiose seas that people may expect from the Carribean. It has a great little bar that is associated with the Blue Haven Hotel (and is a lot more resonable than its bigger brother 'Shutters on the Bay'). Besides this be sure to visit Englisman's Bay and the Argyll Waterfall, both of which are no less than stunning.
We had a really, really great time in Tobago, the island is fantastic and extremely interesting. At times it is untouched and splendid, elsewhere the atmosphere is vibrant and friendly. The people of Tobago are incredibly keen for tourists to visit and as such it is rare that you feel unwelcome on the island. I implore you to visit this utterly lovely place, the Half Moon Blue was the right hotel for us, the slightly rough edges were more than made up for by the intimacy of the hotel, the friendly staff and the incredible view of the Atlantic.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 24, 2004

a brilliant holiday and the weather was hot and sunny and the hotel was lovely too, expecially the penthouse and the pool - the view was superb. we will return next year - for sure.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 17, 2004

just came back from a wonderful holiday. loved the island, loved the hotel. a nice change from the busy and cheap places at the south of the island. tobago has some nice diving sites. i recommend the sister isle for diving...if you want to see some manta rays. picked up playing golf since tobago has two golf courses, only 15 mins drive from the hotel.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 26, 2003

just came back from tobago. it was so great to get back in tune with myself. the early morning sunrise over the bay from my verandah, large enough for me to live in, the rattan lounge was the place where i spent most of my time starring out from my hillside view across bacolet bay.
the walk down to the beach was my daily exercise. i definitely will go back. stewart p.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacolet Bay
8.0 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
1.4 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
249 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
3.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
1.3 mi away
Bacolet Beach Club
Bacolet Beach Club
#1 of 2 in Bacolet Bay
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Blue Hotel

Property: Half Moon Blue Hotel
Address: Bacolet Street 73, Bacolet Bay, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Bacolet Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bacolet Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Blue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here's a little secret only a few people know about: if you're planning a trip to Tobago, one of the most charming hotels is Half Moon Blue Hotel at the Donkey Cart House. Nestled in gardens of palms, bamboo and bougainvillea, the hotel's suites lay beneath the hill of historical Fort George. Eight extra spacious suites and one spectacular Penthouse loft overlook the horizon, the half moon shaped Bacolet Bay and the overflow swimming pool where midnight swims are a must! The decor sets your mood for serene and lazy days and romantic exotic nights. These colonial styled suites with jalousied windows and doors open onto verandas with rattan chaise-lounges, creating the perfect spot for what ever your heart desires like that best seller you have been dying to read. On a clear day you can see the sister isle of Trinidad. These breathtaking panoramic views with their romantic surf washed coves can be seen from our balconies with the beach only a 2 minute trot away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Half Moon Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing