We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Half Moon Blue Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Bacolet Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Athough not the stunning palm tree beach on the Carribean side, this is the place to be! Thanks to the wind less warm than on te Carribean side, a warm en welcoming hotel with all the services of the Bacolet Beach Club. Very relaxing, friendly and helpfull staff. Big room with very good shower, maintenance could be a little bit beter, but for us it was no problem. Very good food at the Havanna Club.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolineenwillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Half Moon Blue Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 136 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

Took a five nights break at this property with my mum from Trinidad that provided the ideal balance of rustic and luxury combined with the facilities of sister property Bacelot Beach club with its private beach, nature elements,infinity pools and most importantly helpful and unobstrusive staff. Although fully booked, there was an air of calm. Excellent restaurant too! Thank you to Sari, Natasha and Tricia! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syntra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is such a great rustic feel to it. I stayed in the Junior Penthouse Suite, the room was large clean and airy, with a verandah the offers breathtaking views. What I really liked about this hotel is the privacy and intimacy it offers. We rented a car from the car rental attached to the hotel to explore the island. Would definitely recommend this place anyone..truly a gem!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbee811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The Half Moon Blue hotel is is located in the very quiet area of Bacolet. The hotel is nice and quirky but is in serious need of updating as the decor and furniture is a bit tired. The staff however immediately made us feel very welcome. The added bonus at staying at this hotel is that you can use the amenities at the 4 * sister hotel across the road at no extra cost. The beach is lovely and not overcrowded and I throughly enjoyed the varied breakfast each morning. If you looking for somewhere quiet to escape, the Half Moon Blue Hotel is the perfect hotel for you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannyp2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed at HMB in the first part of the final carnival week. That meant that Scarborough was occupied with the carnival, and little else was going on. Due to this, we spent a lot of our time at the hotel.

Bacolet bay is a nice bay on the Atlantic coast. The hotel is nice, and has a sister hotel across the road, where pools and facilities can be used. We had a Junior Suite that was very nice. The view from the terrace was beautiful, and we had the sunset every night.

Linked to the hotel is the resturant Havana Bar which serves very good breakfast. You can get good salats for lunch, as well as warm dishes.

The staff at the hotel, as well as in the Havana bar was mostly very friendly and accomodating.

We are very happy with our stay and woul recommend others to stay there.

Room Tip: The J2 is perfect with a wonderful view from the balcony
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

First tune we used the shower all the tiles were broken, when I stood on them, old gross black water came shooting up all around my feet. I got sick to my stomach. We immediately notified the staff, they sent someone the next day to repair it and it only made it worse. We were never offered another room. The restaurant, "cafe Havana" was a joke. The prices of drinks changed daily, they would put a 15% service charge on the bill and expect a tip too. The staff laughed at me when a drunk entered the bar an started singing to me and then demanded I give him money for singing to me. They left the bar, leaving me alone with the drunk when they knew I was scared. Staff and maids were great, if it wasn't for them we would have left. Hotel could be so nice if it had good management and proper repairs. Will not return or recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank robin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Half Moon Blue. We upgraded to a junior penthouse, which was a lovely room with a stunning view of the bay. The hotel is in a fairly secluded part of the island, with only the sister hotel and two others in close proximity.The staff and all arrangements were fine, apart from at the restaurant and beach bar, which seemed to be there to rip off unsuspecting tourists. They add VAT to their service charge, then the staff seem to expect gratuities on top! In both the beach bar and the hotel bar, prices were never constant from one day to the next, and any purchase seemed to result in many calculations, before a bill (often incorrect) was issued. Many people were overcharged in the restaurant - bills were reduced after they were queried, but this reduced the enjoyment of the experience. One of our bills comprised 5 items, 2 of which were incorrect. So our advice would be enjoy the experience, but beware!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be good, but the junior penthouses (incurring a supplement) were excellent
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacolet Bay
1.4 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
249 reviews
8.0 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
3.7 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
3.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
1.3 mi away
Bacolet Beach Club
Bacolet Beach Club
#1 of 2 in Bacolet Bay
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Blue Hotel

Address: Bacolet Street 73, Bacolet Bay, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Bacolet Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bacolet Bay
Price Range: $89 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Blue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here's a little secret only a few people know about: if you're planning a trip to Tobago, one of the most charming hotels is Half Moon Blue Hotel at the Donkey Cart House. Nestled in gardens of palms, bamboo and bougainvillea, the hotel's suites lay beneath the hill of historical Fort George. Eight extra spacious suites and one spectacular Penthouse loft overlook the horizon, the half moon shaped Bacolet Bay and the overflow swimming pool where midnight swims are a must! The decor sets your mood for serene and lazy days and romantic exotic nights. These colonial styled suites with jalousied windows and doors open onto verandas with rattan chaise-lounges, creating the perfect spot for what ever your heart desires like that best seller you have been dying to read. On a clear day you can see the sister isle of Trinidad. These breathtaking panoramic views with their romantic surf washed coves can be seen from our balconies with the beach only a 2 minute trot away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Moon Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing