We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Half Moon Blue Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Bacolet Bay B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 days and really liked it. It's a great place for individuals wanting some peace and quiet. It was comfortable and had all the amenities we needed. The views from the pool were gorgeous. Staff was very helpful and courteous. We also had access to the Bacolet Bay Beach Club which was a huge plus since it meant we had access to the beach. The only downside is that the only restaurant nearby is Cafe Havana, which is pricey. Other food options are available in Scarborough which is about a 15 minute walk.

Room Tip: we were able to get a great rate through hotel.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claud34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    44
    18
    11
    11
See reviews for
17
71
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We the hotel was something special.. our room was on the ground floor but bacause it was on a hill we had a great view of Bacolet Bay with beautiful sunset everynight. the verander was large with really nice funiture and lots of lovely cushions, tropical birds even hummingbirds Bluejays etc. The was a nice little pool next to our building but we used it only once because the beach was so nice.
The breakfast was served by a very friendly girl who could not do enough for us the food was the best and kept us going all day there was so much.
The bar by the beach was in a kind of tree house that served nice cocktails and lunch which the barman brought down from the restaurant for us..
The was a little shop around the corner just passed the Cotton House nest door that sold beer which we keep in our fridge and we walked into Scarborough a few times there was a pizza restaurant come bar next door in town but not much else. People in Tobago are very polite and friendly and we felt safe everywhere. We went by taxi to a few other beachs and the "Sunday School" which is every sunday night, which seems like everybody one the Island seems to go to. We went a bit early 9pm as it was just starting but had some great street bbq fish which was sold in the street. Sunday started kicking off about 11pm the whole village was dancing live street bands dj's playing raggae.. it was really great.

Room Tip: I would recommend to stay full board as we ate elsewhere and the Havana restaurant at the hotel had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nigelsuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

The Half Moon Blue was excellent...Everything was so easy and taken care of by the discreet but efficient staff. We had a Junior Penthouse room which had the two things i value most in a hotel - a great bed and a great shower. The views from the balcony/terrace were terrific and the comfy furniture just right. Breakfast was taken in the local Cafe Havana where the food was first class and the service friendly. I would not recommend the Havana for dinner - it's way over priced, the service is poor and you leave feeling ripped off after the extra service and taxes are put on and it's converted from TT$ to US$!
I thoroughly recommend the Half Moon Blue!

Room Tip: The Blue Crab restaurant is highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick_Solihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headcorn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Stayed 3 nights in total with my wife and 8 month old son. Had a great time at this very family-friendly hotel. Huge rooms with sea-facing balconies. Staff were really friendly and sorted all our needs. The hotel taxi drivers were great and introduced us to a great boat operator for Buccoo Reef / Nylon Pool. Restaurant staff were superb and the food was fantastic, maybe a little pricey I guess. Try the beef roti! Private beach was ideal and pool was great. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dingam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Half Moon Blue is the sister property of Bacolet Beach Club, acorss a quiet two lane road and up the hill. Lovely View of the Bay and the twinkling lights of "downtown" Scarborough, a fifteen minute stroll away. HMB shares the facilities of the Beach Club, which include a smallish private beach, a beach bar and a very good restaurant (Havana Cafe) where the advertised "sumptious" included breakfast is served. No hyperbole here, the buffet style morning feast would easily carry you right through to dinner, and the charming and competent Eunice and her colleagues ensure you are well looked after.
Fresh flowers on the tables and blossoms scattered around your room when you arrive, just add to the charm.
The Beach Club side is modern looking, the spacious rooms and suites on the HMB side ooze carribean character. There are rental jeeps available on the property, (65 US a day) and you would be hard pressed to burn half a tank of T&T's very reasonable gas travelling the circumference of the island and through the nature preserve interior.
A public, but never crowded beach is four minutes and one hundred steps away, with it's own snack shack and bar.HMB has its own small pool. Staff will arrange restaurant reservations, tours and taxis happily and answer any questions. The property is clean and kept with obvious pride. They offer easy exchange of US dollars and accept payment in T&T or US calculating a very fair exchange on US. Staff members Rachel and Bashir went out of their way to make my visit a success, chef Cesario's handling of seafood is expert.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gordonscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Wife and I just got back from 5 days on Tobago at the Half Moon Blue and we had a wonderful time. Everybody at the property was super helpful, the accommodations were spacious and comfy and the amenities including private beach, infinity pool and sumptuous breakfasts were first rate. Tobago is truly an unspoiled beauty, but for some reason totally off the radar for Americans. We didn't meet a one during our stay.

While we couldn't imagine a better hotel for our stay, there are a few warnings that should be heeded:
- The hotel is a full mile or more from central Scarborough, and with the sun beating down it's a hot and sweaty major uphill walk back. Wife and I are hikers so we really didn't mind, but if you're not in good hiking shape, it's a trek.
- There are no nearby restaurants other than the hotel's which seemed unexciting and overpriced. We decided beforehand that we would take our dinners in our room, and picked up wonderful, inexpensive (about $TT25 a head) dinner fixings at Eddie's Restaurant and various produce stands in Scarborough, (we had an electric fry pan for reheating) poured ourselves a couple of cold (from the mini-fridge) previously purchased Caribs and enjoyed a delicious & restful dinner after a busy touring day.
- This is an older property which has been brought up to modern standards (air conditioned, satellite TV, etc.) but is not in 5* spit polish shape. We had some cracks in windows and shower screens, the wood slates are not air tight and one of our sinks only had hot water. Although we didn't give a hoot about any of this, if you are a person who demands things in pristine shape this might not be the place for you.
- DOG ALERT!! The hotel is surrounded by parcels that have numerous dogs that bark day and night. We travel with a white noise machine and earplugs so we were able to screen out most of it, but if you're sensitive to such noise disturbances, you may not get any sleep.
With the above taken into account, though, you should have a wonderful time at the Half Moon Blue.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MW424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Really liked this hotel - stunning views from the rooms (all of them, I'd guess). Staff knowledgeable and helpful when consulted but happy to leave us to our own devices. The room was spacious with a lovely comfortable balcony where we often sat to enjoy the view over the bay. Swimming pool fine for a refreshing dip though not large. Nice to be able to go down to the private beach too (shared by sister hotel). Restaurant served good food but on the expensive side, as were the drinks outside of happy hour. Cars available for hire from the hotel - we found that worthwhile as it enabled us to go much further afield. Word of warning - roads are fun but quite narrow and bendy in the north and across the centre. Tobago has some of the most beautiful bays and beaches I have ever seeen.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morganmaadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacolet Bay
8.0 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
1.4 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
248 reviews
4.1 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bacolet Beach Club
Bacolet Beach Club
#1 of 2 in Bacolet Bay
379 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
440 reviews
3.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Blue Hotel

Property: Half Moon Blue Hotel
Address: Bacolet Street 73, Bacolet Bay, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Bacolet Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bacolet Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Blue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here's a little secret only a few people know about: if you're planning a trip to Tobago, one of the most charming hotels is Half Moon Blue Hotel at the Donkey Cart House. Nestled in gardens of palms, bamboo and bougainvillea, the hotel's suites lay beneath the hill of historical Fort George. Eight extra spacious suites and one spectacular Penthouse loft overlook the horizon, the half moon shaped Bacolet Bay and the overflow swimming pool where midnight swims are a must! The decor sets your mood for serene and lazy days and romantic exotic nights. These colonial styled suites with jalousied windows and doors open onto verandas with rattan chaise-lounges, creating the perfect spot for what ever your heart desires like that best seller you have been dying to read. On a clear day you can see the sister isle of Trinidad. These breathtaking panoramic views with their romantic surf washed coves can be seen from our balconies with the beach only a 2 minute trot away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Half Moon Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing