We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing and inspirational”
Review of Bacolet Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bacolet Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Bacolet Bay B&B and Inns
Georgetown-GUYANA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“relaxing and inspirational”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My room was nicely decorated, reminding a portugese / spanish style. Everything was working perfect. Obviously this place is not designed for business, but the general atmosphere reflects peace and space. The beach is compact with nice sand, in the middle of the rocks. I stayed only 2 days, but it was a fantastic unwinding experience. The restaurant Havana has good and smiling service. Excellent "mojito", affordable prices, and sofisticated dishes. Il recommend the curry shrimps. Maybe not really for ultra conservative people, the place has a lot of charm and style. I had a great rest!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KARIM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    144
    67
    28
    16
See reviews for
40
259
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here with my partner with a large wedding party. The hotel is very basic and expensive for what there is. The staff were friendly except the manager, we over heard her arguing with other guests about their room. The junior penthouse is certainly not as good as it sounds and the view is poor. The food was good but expensive. I think the hotel works on comparing itself to others on the island and therefore not making an effort to improve it's standards. For the price- I would advise you to save your money and stay in one of the lodges on the other side of the island.
My parents have also stayed here and would tell you the same thing. Tobago is beautiful but I can't help but I feel this hotel is taking advantage of the lack of competition and is very average.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleySeaBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We arrived and had a trouble free check in. We were taken to room 10, which is ground floor and pool facing. The room was average and a little tired looking. The bed looks good but after further inspection it has limited wooden slats and the mattress sags at the headboard and foot, leading to uncomfortable rest. There is no shortage of clean towels and the maid took the new bar of soap away every day which we deem to be wasteful, and she never put a duster to use in the 14 nights we were there. Most of the staff are friendly - avoid the german lady on reception as she doesn't know what smile means. The breakfast is adequate and after two weeks of only a choice of bacon and egg you will never want an English fry up again. We could not get a late check out and were told we could use the shower on the beach, luckily we managed to get an out of use room for a shower, where the sink leaked and the shower tray was blocked. The Havana is quiet expensive so we would suggest you get out and about. We hired a car and after getting around the island and meeting others the general opinion is that Tobago is not geared up for tourists. The wifi at the hotel is no existent and we were told to use the sister hotel the half blue moon. This is a cross between the bates motel and the munsters retreat. There is no facility to get a drink here. It is a little disappointing that you have to walk out of the hotel to the Havana to get a drink as there is nothing within the hotel, and the so called Rok pool bar is hardly ever open and the staff close it as and when they feel. Overall we had a good holiday but would not return to the Bacolet Beach Hotel. We were stunned when we met the owner Gloria Knapp and she told us the hotel was only three years old, as on appearance we expected it to be much older due to the state of the place.

Room Tip: All rooms are see facing and numbers 10 to 16 are ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scousedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Found Bacolet Beach deal on Groupon ,thought it to be a fantastic deal vs normal nightly rates for Junior penthouse suite. Our room located 2nd floor overlooking the pool w private balcony ,partial ocean view ( bit disappointed) def NOT the view as in pictures of the room on the site- however we still had great sunrise& sunset views.
Loved the 4 post bed with netting,def adds a romantic feel ,spacious bathroom.It rained for most of the time spent there but we didn't mind ..were there to relax- disconnect from the usual -But the rain did make internet connection extremely challenging when trying to research things on the island. Internet service is slow when available, unstable and at times none (weather factor)... but on a small island- what do you expect ? Staff is very helpful - great people really,they were more than happy to help provide info , warm and welcoming.
The private beach area accessed thru the hotel is nice, small . - great view of the ocean from poolside. Breakfast each morning at the cafe with the usual selection - ..eggs- baked beans- bacon..cereal..and one local dish each day (different daily). We had dinner there twice, and was quite pleased with the food..but it's NOT an big menu so after a night or 2 and if you are a bit picky- you maybe out of options (i was)
..

Recommend : A car !! our groupon included a car for a day - we rented an extra day through the hotel (@$65.00USD/dy .This is a bit pricey. but convenient as its with the hotel grounds>>HOWEVER if you plan to rent a car for your entire stay (recommended) perhaps research a car at the airport - maybe cheaper like $50.00 usd/day.
i asked the hotel for help me set up a candlelit dinner setting on our balcony as my bf bday surprise (food was sponsored by our pals on the island) it was nice, requested a small table - cutlery ,small vase of flowers from around the hotel grounds.and tea light candles.nice touch they did 'happy bday" in flowers on the bed- .. however a charge of 40.00 usd$ was added to my bill at check out for the set up..A Bit pricey i think..Only reason why i didnt prep dinner 100% thru the hotel : it would be 200.00 usd (& same nightly dinner menu/selection) at havana -after 2 nights of dinner there- we were done with the menu.

I think charging something for prepping the setting would be fair - but $40.00 was a bit much and wasn't mentioned when i requested help at front desk.Hotel said they could do it but never told me about $$$$ .. anyway,in general - what we paid for our stay w the groupon DEAL= comparable to the hotel.
IF we paid FULL price for the hotel- I would have been disappointed,not worth it. If you get a deal- take it.if not.. your call..

PREPARE : Sunblock and sun tan .mosquito repellent .. stock up on your water and in room drinks- to save yourself some $.

Scarborough shops- shopping - food- some bars around- .should check it out- but traffic can be horrible so if you want to avoid that- take a cab - its not that expensive (20 TT) i believe and recommended if you don't want to deal w traffic- parking etc.

we were recommended to Shades nightclub - didn't make it tho- lots of rain..

Fyi :
As you exit the hotel's parking area if you walk to your right ,within a minute's walk there are concrete steps that lead to a larger beach area with a BIG nice beach bar that also offered lunch and dinner - HIGHLY recommend checking out this spot to chill its a minute walking distance.

LUNCH alternative :
walk to your left once exiting the hotel - bit further of a walk maybe 5 m or less , just around the bend as you pass havana cafe - you will find a small shop 'parlor' painted in blue serving home cooked local food... & water soda etc ( no alcohol).VERY delicious local dishes - really good menu , very reasonable priced. I highly recommend trying this place- .. .Food was excellent, different menu everyday was fantastic and all local.

Make sure to always have cash with you !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NRamsoomair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

While I was able to enjoy my time at the pool and beach and relax I have a few complaints about the room.The room was tastefully presented with flower petals not to mention the great view,however the bed was not very comfortable. The mattress could clearly do with an upgrade as it was very hard . We also realised there was no comforter so the first night was quite uncomfortable while sleeping. The next day when we did ask for a comforter they gave us a thin blanket that was clearly inadequate. My last complaint about the room is that there were lots of ants in the bathroom and a bit in the room. The breakfast served at the hotel was pretty good. The pool, beach and view from room were great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chels J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Found the Bacolet Beach Club thru zozi deals. We arrived late at night and upon arrival we noticed that the neighborhood was without power. We were quickly lead to our room with a flashlight. Luckily the power came back in the middle of the night and we had no other issues during our stay. Waking up in the morning we saw the beautiful view from our second floor room. Daily breakfast buffet is at the restaurant next to the hotel...really nice selection. We went to the restaurant one night for dinner and picked up dinner and ate in our room another night (no room service). The other nights we went out for dinner. Tobago is a very quiet island and we did no have much luck finding any nightlife. We had dinner one night at the seahorse inn which was really nice.
The pool was beautiful and the beach was great- private and serene. There is a beach cafe which has a great lunch (same kitchen as breakfast & dinner). Comfy loungers on beach and pool area, as well as decks. Room was spacious and bed was comfy
Our "groupon" came with a free day of car rental which was fantastic. The island has very windy roads but is fairly easy to navigate. Definitely recommend renting a car.
Tobago is not your typical tourist trap island, it is relatively untouched by the big travel companies. Bring sunblock with you because we had a hard time buying some (although you won't have too hard of a time in Scarborough near all boat tours)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aduf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

What a perfect stay we had at BBC. From the moment we arrived to the emotional good bye. Firstly, I always look up hotels on Tripadisor and I agree with all the positive ones. Romantic, small, quaint, personable, clean and quirky. Our room had a beautiful view of the sea and offered all the amenities one would need! We had good air con, large flat screen with satellite, wifi access (slow but there) and a nice big airy bathroom. The centrepiece was the beautiful netted four poster bed which was lovely. We had our own balcony and comfy seats to take it all in. I have written a review on the restaurant so won't spend time on that again but look up Cafe Havana...I gave it an excellent rating.

The pool area is nice with plenty of seating and a welcoming infinity pool. When by the sea, I rarely hang out by the pool but we did a couple times. It is the tropics so careful!! HOT

They have cement stairs leading down to the secluded beach and we couldn't wait to descend! Stairs are a little precarious so just make sure you hold on to the handrail on the way down. If you are challenged with climbing stairs or have joint problems, might be a little bit of an issue although we saw plenty of folks of all ages, sizes and abilities do just fine...they do have rest spaces along the way which helps for those who need a little break along the way...and great photo opps at each one!

There is a beach bar almost at the bottom and this little oasis was the highlight for me. We were fortunate enough to have Bashir as our server every day and he simply made the trip. Bashir is one of the most welcoming people I have come across on holiday. He always had a smile, would fetch the moon on a stick and steal a little time to have a nice conversation with you. We became very close during our stay and it was my pleasure to take he and his wife for dinner on our last night to thank him for everything he did.

The beach is beautiful and the surf was actually pretty good. Lots of body surfing and frolicking every day!

One always says..."I'll be back" in their reviews but I honestly will be. We hung out with folks we met there and became fast friends, all of the staff were simply amazing and friendly and we had a nice little community during our stay.

Not a whole lot within walking distance so the owner, Gloria, was smart in ensuring the restaurant and facilities met all the needs of her guests. A business woman with a keen eye for design and a real knack for finding folks that make every guest feel welcome.

If you are the person who insists on 5 restaurants, 3 bars, 3 pools and a 24 hour maintenance engineering team ready to tighten the screw on your loose switch plate, you might want to rethink this place. There are a few loose screws and slightly wonky fittings but that is part of the character and charm.

Gloria, Tracy, Meriam, Bashir, Alma, Cesario...you have given us memories that will last a lifetime and for that we both thank you! Stay in touch and we will let you know when we book our return trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ed_Johnson_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacolet Bay
8.2 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
249 reviews
3.8 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
7.8 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,517 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacolet Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacolet Beach Club

Property: Bacolet Beach Club
Address: Bacolet Street 72, Bacolet Bay, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Bacolet Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bacolet Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bacolet Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bacolet Beach Club is an exclusive boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Bar where its owners have created a stylist retreat. This delightful hotel shares a commitment to luxury and personal service, while its intimate size encourages a particularly warm and friendly atmosphere. A deliberately restful and luxurious property enjoying an idyllic crescent-bay setting on an island blessed with exceptional natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bacolet Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bacolet Beach Club Hotel Bacolet Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing