We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Bacolet”
Review of Bacolet Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bacolet Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Bacolet Bay B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay at Bacolet”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Fantastic hotel in Bacolet - on the Atlantic side of the island. The hotel is independent and has a boutique feel. Rooms are spacious, light and airy with four-poster beds and a huge balcony with comfy seats. The pool area and beach are small but intimate and the property is served by a nice beach bar and an adjoining restaurant. Service is good at the eateries but it is very expensive at both and probably only average fayre so do venture out (take a taxi or hire one of the jeeps from the hotel - only $65 per day).

Tobago is for exploring so make sure you do but BBC is a good place from which to do it.

Also - remember to get yourself to Sunday School.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    143
    67
    28
    16
See reviews for
39
259
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bridlington
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Myself and my partner Wendy have just arrived back on the 29th Jan 2012 from Tobago where we stayed at Bacolet beach club this Hotel is a very unique place its a one off. We like to think we are well traveled but don't think we will ever find another hotel like this. The Hotel has 20 rooms and all are in my opinion the same and have a sea view over the Atlantic oceoan the rooms have a Tv and cd player and if you ask at reception they will provide tea and coffee making facilities their is a mini fridge and safe the safe is free the mini fridge you just pay for what you use. All rooms have a four poster bed with a mozzy cover over which is a nice touch. The rooms are cleaned every day and towels changed every day also. Bath robes are provided again that little extra touch. All the staff you will come across nothing is too much trouble. You can't single anyone out as their all so freindly and helpful. you eat in the havana cafe across from the Hotel and this is no way a cafe the chef produces food you would only get in a very top notch restaurant in the uk. We upgraded to full board as the hotel does not do all inclusive this was a good move as the food quality is not your average hotel food. Rib eye steak every night if you want it and the rack of lamb as the special was awsum. Breakfast is buffy style with cerials fruit or traditional bacon eggs beans ect if thats what you prefer. Their is a beach bar where you can get your meals brought down to through the day if you so wish you order at the beach bar chill out and its brought to you. The beach is very private and has loads of sun loungers we never struggled to find one and if your a kid at heart and like a bit of fun on a body board then either take one with you or you can purchase one from the sports shop in Scarborough about a 20 min walk. The waves are just awsum the water is lovely and warm even though it's the atlantic. We hired a car to have a look round the island and i would recomend you only have it for a couple of days if it's a bit of sight seeing as we did the whole island in a full day and thats at tobago pace. All the people on the island are very friendly and speak to you we never ever felt we should not be their in any of the villages ect its a very lush green island. The car cost us $85 dollars us not TT the difference is TT is the local currency and Us is american dollar everything is priced in both. The car for that price was a jeep delivered to the hotel with full insurance $20 dollar excess all collision damage waver included. The hotel is very peacfull all the time and the pool area is so so quiet if you want total peace again with loads of loungers ect. All in all if you want total relaxation this is the hotel for you and for me the food was out of this world it really made that extra special touch to a fab place. Feel free to e mail me at snakefacenick@aol.com if you have any further questions regarding the Bacolet.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a similar standard only the size of your party determins which room you get all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snakeBridlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skipton
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Our room had a large balcony with comfy loungers so that we could relax and take in the sea views.The room itself was clean , with a large fourposter bed and flat screen TV.Bathroom had large walk in shower with plenty of hot water.Staff were friendly and were quick to sort out any minor problems. Room cleaned and tidied everyday with fresh towels etc. Breakfast (included) was good - cereal,juices,fresh fruit, cooked breakfast ,toast and coffee.Evening meals at Cafe Havana were good but pricey especially when taxes added.Happy hour 3-7pm so eat early for half price drinks ! places to eat nearby are very limited so we ate at the Havana each night -if you fancy a change hotel can arrange a taxi.We took a couple of trips with a taxi driver arranged by the hotel -we found it a cheap way to see a bit more of the island. We took three bird watching trips with Newton George.He is the premier bird guide in Tobago. We contacted him by e-mail before our trip (just google him) Trips were quite expensive but superb.We went to the rain forest, Little Tobago and a day trip to Trinidad.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SkiptonWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I thought the front office would be aghast at the size of our family but if they were they hid it well. Looking at our brood the manager, Sari, upgraded us to a larger suite at no extra cost. The kids loved the oceanview from our large patio. In fact the kids loved everything about the Bacolet Beach Club from it gardens to its private beach. The kitchen too was most attentive making kiddie’s meals just the way they liked it. We had such a great time that my husband said we must do it again next year – and stick with the same boutique hotel. They know how to look after you at this beach resort hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We had the most stunning stay at the BBC. For 18 days we had the most courteous service, the highest possible standard of cleanliness and some very good meals in Cafe Havana. We could not fault the lunch menu at the beach bar ( it would be nice to see it introduced in the evening menu in some form). Would like to mention Bashir a great ambassador not only for the beach bar but for the hotel and great knowlege of fishing trips and more.
You will need a good reliable driver on your holiday in Tobago. We cannot recommend highly enough Trevieno Marcelle. Trevieno is a young man (29) with an extraordinary ability to enthuse his customers into enjoying every mile in Tobago. His tours are wonderfull and his contacts are many. So you do see a real Tobago in its many forms. We did have a hire car but used Trevieno to show us the sights on the island that were important in Tobago's history. Restaurants worthy of mention Dillons sea food at Crown Point (also a sport fishing boat for hire in Scarborough) , The Seahorse Inn just passed Mt Irvine and Jemmas tree house in Speyside. We will return to Tobago and the BBC.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AberdeenAlfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel several times over the last year and a half and it is the only place I will stay on Tobago. The location is excellent and I love the private beach and pool. The restaurant serves some of the best food to be had on Tobago. I cannot say enough about how much I enjoy my stays here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Bacolet Beach Club and I do recommend it. The rooms are comfortable with really nice four poster beds, TVs with a variety of stations for the rainy days indoors we had, very nice updated bathroom and the first floor balconies have great views. The pool is small (but beautiful & clean!) and we found that some days we had difficulty finding deck chairs. However, there was always room on the private beach which was great. Every afternoon we ate lunch at the beach bar and had cocktails. The restaurant, Cafe Havana, is really good and compared to London prices, I didn't feel like it was ridiculously expensive and I always enjoyed my food. (We tried the hotel next door once for dinner and THAT was overpriced for bad food.) There is a small shop a couple minutes walk up the road where we bought cheaper beers, soft drinks and some snacks but it's not a full grocery store. We removed some of the mini bar items and just put our own things in it - this didn't seem to upset anyone.

I think the best thing about Tobago generally, which does not suit everyone, is how under developed it is. This really took us by surprise. There are only two recommended restaurants in Scarborough which are run by families and are not open every night. You wouldn't really walk around Scarborough like you would in some tourist areas on other Caribbean islands. Scarborough is a very small city (4 GBP cab ride) and the next closest area we went to eat was Crown Point (10 GBP cab ride) - other than a few drinks and a meal, there isn't much at Crown Point in the evenings either. Most of the island is a nature reserve, so driving around the island gives some really great views and Speyside and Charlotteville are very cute fishing towns with gorgeous views. The roads are winding and small but in good condition as some were only paved three years ago! If you require a high energy, resort filled, five star, built up island this is not for you. If you truly want to relax, have some nice seafood, and enjoy some gorgeous unspoiled views and beaches - Tobago is perfect and BBC will provide a very comfortable and lovely place to stay.

Some tips: Make reservations at the few restaurants in Crown Point or Scarborough and check if they are open before rocking up; Consider a day sailing with Markus Grundman - he was great (he's sailed his boat across the Atlantic), you get to do some snorkeling, you can get involved in the sailing and he does very reasonable private charters; The best way to see the island is to rent a car or some cabbies do island tours

Room Tip: First floor has the best views. I did hear over hear some people disappointed because their ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacolet Bay
8.2 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
248 reviews
3.8 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,509 reviews
4.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
4.9 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacolet Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacolet Beach Club

Property: Bacolet Beach Club
Address: Bacolet Street 72, Bacolet Bay, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Bacolet Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bacolet Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bacolet Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bacolet Beach Club is an exclusive boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Bar where its owners have created a stylist retreat. This delightful hotel shares a commitment to luxury and personal service, while its intimate size encourages a particularly warm and friendly atmosphere. A deliberately restful and luxurious property enjoying an idyllic crescent-bay setting on an island blessed with exceptional natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bacolet Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bacolet Beach Club Hotel Bacolet Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing