We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pax Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Palm's Hotel Trinidad(Port of Spain)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn Flight Suites(Piarco)
$90
$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
$174
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundeck Suites(Port of Spain)
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$108
$100
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Carlton Savannah(Port of Spain)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
42
24
14
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
24
14
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbird watchinghummingbird feedersother guestsoverhead fanrum punchpanoramic viewpeace and quietrear balconyhumming birdsgerardodamonasteryguesthousetrinidadspainportwoodland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 85 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2007

We spent two interesting nights at Pax. The house is located on a monastery property on a mountain, the views and scenery are incredible. The hosts, Oda and Gerard are the nicest people, and work very hard to keep their guests happy. If you are lucky, Gerard may give you a tour of the house and upper grounds. You cannot beat the location for serenity and scenery and the most amazing bird watching. It is very quiet at night, so don't come for the nightlife. It is not easy to drive on the mountain at night, unless you are a local. The rooms are adequate, simple and small. There is good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Everyone there was so relaxed and friendly. Breakfast was hearty and fresh. Dinner was excellent, served buffet style. We went into POS for a few hours, not much to see there. I'd stick with nature and the forest for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Pamela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Trinidad
14
Reviewed July 5, 2006

7th July, 2006
The first time my boyfriend and i visited Pax Guest House we were celebrating our first year annervisary as being a couple. It was not what i expected. What i expected was go spend the night have a simple dinner have breakfast and leave, but what we got was more than expected, as we entered the guest house we were greeted by a pleasent member of staff who firstly brought us something to drink and after that she showed us to our room. The view from there was amazing, as for dinner we had a beautiful candlit one, under the stars in an open gallery, the view was unbelievable, the atmospher was filled with romance for us. The food was great the only thing was that my boyfriend only eats chicken and they served fish but they said next time when we are making reservations let them know so that they could adjust the menu. Next morning we got up went out in the front galery and took in some clean fresh mountain air then went to have breakfast which was also great. I could on and on but I'll stop here. In other words we have no regerets of going there and will highly recommend anyone to visit there. Well my boyfriend and I got married and we look foward to going there for our first year wedding annervisary which will be in a few days.

  • Stayed: May 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2006

The Pax Guesthouse is very well situated on the top of a hill at the very end of St. John's Road, a turning half a mile east of the University of the West Indies on the Eastern Main Road. Look out for a Scotia Bank on the corner of the junction with a prominent red sign. If you travel by taxi, make sure that the driver takes you ALL the way up to the Monastery at the top where the Guesthouse will be found. As in many parts of Trinidad a few unpleasant crimes have occurred in the St. John's Road area. Once at the top you will have no further need for concern.
The building itself (constructed in 1912 I believe) has much to recommend it, offering spacious dining and sitting areas and balconies which provide huge views of rainforest in one direction and civilisation in the other. I believe that there are 18 rooms (not 35 as stated in a previous review) and 2 of these have 'ensuite facilities'. I stayed in one of these. The shower was antiquated, the toilet pipes leaked and the wooden floor in the vicinity was fast going rotten. A plumber was expected however, and I believe that the flooring was soon to be replaced. Unfortunately the bedrooms appear to have seen little improvement since 1912. Between the corridor and the rooms there are large ventilation gaps. The slightest sound outside or indeed in other rooms nearby can be heard. The beds are the original models with steel sprung mattresses. There is a fan in each room. If utilisied its whirring sound does successfully mask any other noises, which admittedly are minor. One can only describe the bedrooms as 'spartan'.
On the positive side the food is excellent, visitors are provided with full breakfasts AND 3 course evening meals which are of good quality. There are also rum punches and welcoming drinks as part of the package. I paid US $55 per night and all in all I consider this to have been exceptional value for money. The proprietors are pleasant and helpful. If the bedrooms were to be modernised no-one would quibble at paying an increased fee. I would then make a bee line for the Pax Guesthouse every time that I came to Trinidad.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jaice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
338
Reviewed June 30, 2005

The Pax was an incredible place to stay while we were in Trinidad. The rooms were simple but clean. Gerard and Oda, the managers, were simply the best! They totally took care of us while we were staying there...cold drinks immediately on arrival, coordinated tours and other travel arrangements, gave lots of friendly advice and directions when needed, always had time for a question or conversation, rum punch before dinner, and truly went above and beyond to help make our vacation the best it could be. When we first arrived, we had a problem with our rental car, and Gerard fixed everything so we did not have to worry. We cannot say enough good things about these two people!

The meals were excellent. We would highly recommend having dinner there at night as well as the high tea in the afternoon. The view from the dining room where you eat breakfast, lunch and dinner is amazing - overlooking the rainforest and the start of the Northern Range. It was breathtaking! The birds are everywhere here, so it is a great place to begin a bird-watching adventure or meet interesting people.

It also has a great location in the Mount St. Benedict monastery complex overlooking the Caroni plains, nestled on the slopes of the Northern range. Not far from the Port of Spain, the airport, the Caroni swamp and the Asa Wright Nature Center.

We stayed there at the beginning of our Trinidad & Tobago trip and at the end. When we came back for our last night, it was like coming home.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews