We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salybia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa del Este Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salybia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I spent my second weekend in just over a year at Playa as my family calls it. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend "get away" the staff is unbelievably pleasant and the food is delicious. The view of sunrise on Independence day was spectacular. The grounds is beautiful and well maintained. The staff are warm and friendly and make you feel at home. Peter P

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Petper20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    45
    18
    13
    7
See reviews for
44
36
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our stay began on independence day, 2013.We were greeted by a helpful security officer and escorted to the front office.The event coordinator was well informed and organised. She allowed us to view the room before making a final decision...Michelle1,a very friendly front desk attendant, took us to the ocean view room. Though it was very small, the view was exceptional. There was one waitress,Michelle2, and a short rastafarian boy who were particularly accommodating with providing excellent service. The others need some serious customer service training, especially at the food station. Me being vegetarian,a special request was made upon entry. However, at dinner, the staff had to be reminded and a rush order was done. We had to wait at least an hour to find out there was no bar man available to make a pina colada. Apart from these disappointments, our stay was memorable as a couple.

Room Tip: ocean view..the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suds1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arima, Arima, Trinidad and Tobago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The location is lovely and the resort has quite a lot of potential with lots of areas to explore and lots of potential activities...however, a lot of those things were not in use. The food was fairly good, but the restaurant, though well presented and open with quite a view and nice ocean breezes, also allowed for lots of flies. The rooms, though comfortable, were visited by a couple of cockroaches. One of the pools had quite a few cracked tiles on the flooring and was a hazard for the feet, and too much chlorine was used. The customer service was pretty good, but the meals were somewhat regimented in that there was only two hours allotted to each meal and nothing in between, and not much choices in drinks, both soft and hard. All in all we had a good stay, though we found it to be a bit overpriced. Would we visit again? Perhaps for a day, we might consider overnight if we can get better rates.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rabbidstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Playa del Este is away from all hustle and bustle of Trinidad. The ocean view is beautiful. While the rooms are small the property is spacious. Try one of the hammocks and be relaxed or be refreshed by the river pool or regular pool and jacuzzis. The food was typical delicious Trinidad cuisine. Staff was the best We have ever had in English Caribbean. Definitely will return.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klandaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The place needs updated television and cable service. But overall it's a great place to get away from the daily grind and just relax. Good trini vacation. The staff is very friendly the layout of the resort is spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tringen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trinidad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Playa del este was the dream destination and perfect setting for a Caribbean wedding.

I will visit Playa del este in Salybia every year for my anniversary.

The management is excellent, workers are polite and willing to tend to your every need. I have no regrets having my wedding at Playa. I always believe in treating your guests like royalty and that's exactly how we felt. The food was delicious and just like Trini's like to say 'sweet hand'.

Thank you everyone at Playa del este for making my dream wedding a reality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sweetieTrinidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Decided at the last minute to spend a night at this hotel and chose one of the ocean view rooms. My wife and I arrived at the check in time but had to wait an hour before the room was available. The receptionist was friendly but you expect if there is a delay like this something extra would be offered. The time allowed the opportunity to view the surroundings and familiarize with the layout. The view of the ocean is beautiful and there is access via the hotel to the beach. There are two pools which were adequate and child friendly. They advertize a wet bar but this is a joke as it is a very small wading area next to the bar which is next to the restaurant. Oh...and the restaurant nor the bar served alcohol (in case you wanted to have a drink). We finally were able to check in and when we were told payment has to be made upfront....I started to get flashbacks of my Salybia experience. We paid for the all inclusive meal experience and this consists of three square meals. The hotel does not offer any other meal/snack even if you want to pay. The Room........was a problem. The bed is very small and was uncomfortable. The shower area is 2.5sq. ft. (try manouevering in that space) and if you want to look at some television you have to walk with your DVD's as no cable network is available. Before we booked, I asked whether a wi-fi network was available and was assured in the positive but this was not the case.
Dinner - Imagine getting spaghetti and meatballs and nothing else...enough said. Breakfast and lunch the next day were very good.
This location is not ideal for a romantic getaway but moreso for families with children. They alllow day passes to the public as well. There is no room service and the rates are over priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ceda_arr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salybia hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salybia
8.8 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
13.1 mi away
Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Club
33.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.6 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
26.9 mi away
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
#1 of 1 in Las Cuevas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
32.9 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa del Este Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa del Este Resort

Property: Playa del Este Resort
Address: 3/4 Mile Post 13 | Toco Main Road, Salybia, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Salybia
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Salybia
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#lets_take_care_of_you: Playa del Este is a unique boutique Resort perfect for a getaway weekend with peaceful surroundings and cool ocean breezes! It's all about Rest and Relaxation! Come experience one of our treasured Ocean View Hammocks, Three pools, one of which has a therapeutic waterfall or jaccuzis. #book_a_massage: We have a masseuse on call if you need added R&R...just give us a call to pre-book your space! #Beach_Wedding: Perfect for a Wedding at the Beach on our decks facing the ocean! #retreat&refresh: Your retreat/family reunion/conference is going to be memorable to you and your invitees... Local Cuisine:All our dishes are local & Trini Breakfast is a must try! Pre-booking required for Special Meal preferences. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing