We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lugenda Bush Camp
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveler rating
19
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
1
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 20 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The 5 nights we spent at Lugenda were like being at home in the bush - extremely comfortable but informal and very relaxing, with good food and drink and interesting company at the family-style meals, time to relax on your own between the morning and evening game drives, and excellent service (including free laundry, which you leave in the basket in the morning and get back in the evening of the same day). The animals are not as abundant as in South African reserves, but neither are the safari vehicles - in fact the only other one we saw was Lugenda's second one. Elephants grazed and broused right outside our tent in the middle of the night on two occasions, and a lion roared close by as we prepared to go out one morning. Vervets, baboons and simango (?) monkeys play in the trees overhead. Several species of antelope (e.g., impala, sable, bushbuck, waterbuck) and elephants will be seen often, zebra and wildebeest are more shy and elusive, lions and leopard hard to see, and there are no giraffe or rhino surviving in the Reserve. The birding at Lugenda is outstanding, including some spectacular raptors - taita falcon, giant eagle owl, spotted eagle owl, African hawk eagle, crowned eagle, lizard buzzard and gymnogyne. The night safari is the best we have been on anywhere; saw bush babies (both Grant's and thick-tailed), lots of civets and genets, porcupines, spotted hyena, striped polecat, serval cat, mongoose, nightjar, bats and scrub hare. The staff at Lugenda are delightful and work very hard (without showing it) to make your stay all that it can be. A very special place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bornin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a gorgeous camp in a beautiful wilderness. The scenery is breathtaking and it feels like real Africa. I only stayed 3 nights unfortunately and it wasn’t nearly long enough. The luxury tent was beautiful under the trees with the monkeys above and the sounds of animals around us at night. The game drives with Donald and Bwana were excellent and I saw animals I had never seen before, Klipspringers, a Civet, Porcupines, Sable Antelope and much more.

The morning coffee and evening sundowners were in the most magnificent locations. Watching the sunset over the River with a glass or two of wine and watching and listening to the animals around us was perfect.

Having the staff join us for meals was great and the dinner on the beach on my last night and the dinner on the mountain on my first night were highlights. Another memorable moment was when Ben, the elephant, silently strolled past us while we were on the porch as we were about to have dinner. He was only 20 feet away from us.

The staff were fantastic and Imogen really went out of her way to make this a great stay. This is a place I could go on and on about and is somewhere I really want to come back to.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VJ313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My advice is to experience a safari in Mozambique and there is no better place than Lugenda. Fly directly from Pemba to the middle of nowhere and be collected by jeep. The lodge has the most luxurious tents overlooking a river. 2 game drives a day show you animals who rarely see humans, it is that remote. They have lions, leopards, elephants and plenty of antelope. Also, if you like birds, this is the place for you, with an amazing variety. Thank you to all the staff. Once you leave there, try and fly into Medjumbe for a private island experience, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulp89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The scenery here is very different with many Inselbergs (Island Mountains) adding drama to the Bush. The Lugenda Wilderness Camp comprises just eight beautifully appointed tents located under Fig Trees that attract both Elephant and Monkeys....so check carefully before venturing outside but enjoy being so close to these magnificent beasts. During our 4 night stay, the One Tusked 'Nelson' was often outside our Tent, but never a problem. Game drives are rewarding with the animals and Birds less habituated than in less remote camps but plenty to see and the night drives produced, Genets; Civet, Bush Babies, porcupine and Elephant Shrew....so our Guide, Donald and his tracker Bwana knew the ropes. The Taita Falcons were both rare and special, but Wildebeeste, Suni,, Klipspringer as well as the usual suspects were all sighted....but we missed the Leopard who walked through the camp when we were asleep. Imogen produced amazing Chocolate and Coffee Cakes at Tea Time (essential for us Brits) while Nic had a vast fund of experience to relate. Sundowners and sunsets were special....as was our walk in the sand river to see the Skimmers and a herd of 20 Eland.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charles36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

There are several great things to say about Lugenda. The wildlife is fantastic, but so is it also elsewhere. The difference that make Lugenda so special is the fantastic scenery and varying nature, the remoteness and the unpredictability.

In Lugenda you will never know what the day will bring. Some days we saw animals every 5 minutes through the day, other days we saw a lot less. However, it was always a great experience to travel through the amazing nature with the mountains, the forest, the grass plains and the river.

In our five days at Lugenda we spotted more than 30 different species of mammals including lions which we encountered on the way from the airstrip to the camp when we arrived.

The stay at the camp is first class and the knowledability and enthusiasm of the staff is really great.

If you are looking for a unique Africa experience and you can afford it, go to Lugenda!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sjur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews