We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Second Home”
Review of Botaira Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Botaira Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naviti Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2007

After reading the previous reviews on Botaira it is hard to supply any new information as it has already been provided. After more than 30 yrs of numerous visits to Fiji, staying at a number of resorts on the mainland and in the Mamanuca group we have seen many changes,i.e. resorts expanding, getting more crowded, commercial and impersonal. Whilst this may suit many people who need all the mod cons, it is not for us. Fortunately we have found BOTAIRA.
For the last few years, with the exception of a few days on the mainland to visit friends our entire time in Fiji ( usually about one month) is spent in the Yasawa's at Botaira.
WHY!!!! Peace, quiet, total relaxation, comfortable accomodation,plenty of very good food, brilliant location, swimming, snorkling, no crowds, wonderful staff ( now more like our family) a TRUE fijian experience. If you like the life style this place is unique and a can of bug spray will solve any minor problems.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fiji1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 274 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2007

After spending over a day getting to Fiji by plane and a stomach-churning 3.5 hour catamaran ride we arrived to a fantastically-friendly greeting of music, fresh leis and fresh pineapple juice served in coconuts. After a few hours resting in our beachfront bure, we enjoyed a fresh fish dinner overlooking the ocean. What sold us on this resort of all the others (there are heaps!) was that it was run by villagers and it was very simple. We were really keen on seeing the village and after a 45 minute hike, we got to see how the Fijians live. The children in the schools were delighted to see us, especially when we showed them their photos on our digi. Solo was our tour guide (and basically did everything at the resort) and explained how the church took so long to build.
So anyway, we hiked back hot as and ravenously hungry. We made it just in time for lunch where I inhaled a sheppard's pie (first time eating red meat in over 10 years). The food was generally okay, nothing to write home about but found we didn't want to eat much anyway since we were lying around in the sun most of the day, not expending much energy. The drinks can get pricey ($4.50 for 1.5L of water) but the beer was reasonably priced ($4/can).
The snorkeling is amazing just out front on the beach. Snorkeling equipment was free and something that everyone should do. I couldn't believe how much was in the water right in front of us.
Most nights were quite quiet as the power goes off around 10pm as everything is run on generators (Interestingly we saw solar power at the village, something Botaira should consider installing to power ceiling fans in the bure). Let me mention that it was HOT in Fiji which you can feel as soon as you exit the plane. I didn't sleep 1 night under a cover it was so hot but surprisingly didn't have much trouble falling asleep.
Our last night was truly unique and amazing. We dined on a lovo feast, similar to the NZ hangi where food is cooked under earth. Afterwards we were treated to a song & dance show performed by the locals. This was probably the highlight of our stay. We were definitely sad to leave as everyone was so friendly. I highly recommend Botaira if you're looking for something totally off the grid, relaxed and unpretentious. Sure, not everything they say at the resort goes as planned but remember, you're on Fiji time. All this and we finally got our bags less than 24 hrs. we were to depart. Botaira, you definitely need to start selling t-shirts!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MapleLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2007

the holiday of a lifetime, the Fijians running the resort are just great, service Great, in all this is what makes you feel good...layback in paradise with the sound of peace.

We recommend this as one of the best we have stayed at in over 20 visits to Fiji,the overall stay was perfect.

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank FijiOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2007

I just recently stayed at Botaira and loved every minute of it. Botaira is one of the rare resorts that is run by the local Fijians of that island. We wanted to stay at a place where we had the opportunity to meet the locals and learn there customs. The place has 8 beautiful bures 5 that are right on the beach. They are equipped with a queen size bed, single bed, private bathroom with shower and mosquito net (that we didn't really need). All the meals are included in the rate(breakfast, lunch & dinner). Drinks are additional (and can be costly {booze}). There is various activities throughout the day. When you here the drum go off it is either time to eat or time to play some sort of game. Volleyball, spearthrowing, coconut husking/cracking and village walks/visits are all included in the rate. You can do as much as you want or as little. Two minor down sides to this place. First would be there is coral close to the shore making it hard for walking in to the ocean... yet excellant for snorkelling (there is a paved cement walkway under the water to reduce walking on the coral off to the right of the resort). Second there is no air con or fan in the room so it can get rather hot. If you are thinking about this place don't let these two minor things stop you from coming as the people of Botaira make the visit "well" worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank FIJIFEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2007

My husband and I honeymooned at Botaira Resort on Naviti Island, Fiji. It was a great experience, very relaxing, fun, and entertaining. The Fijian people were very very friendly, and although we went just after the recent military coup (December 2006), we spotted no signs of unrest or animosity.

Things to do: apart from the great snorkeling and wonderful waters to swim in, we had a lot of fun being introduced to local customs and culture. The resort organized several acitivties: spear throwing, weaving coconut tree leaves into baskets, husking and opening coconuts, a visit to the local village, volleyball, hikes, kayaking.
We enjoyed every single activity. The resort as well as villagers put together a wonderful Meke performance (traditional dance and music performance) - it blew me away.

We also went on a fishing trip (no luck for us, but our guide caught some fish); a hike to the top of the "mountain" with a gorgeous view of other Yasawa islands to the south. A lovo feast was also organized, with food cooked traditionally in coconut leaf baskets on hot rocks in the ground.

I enjoyed all the activities tremendously.

The food was good when it involved lamb and fresh fish; in the morning breakfast was kind of boring - white toast with eggs and white beans; granola, etc. Bacon was promised but we only had it once for breakfast. On the upside we had wonderful fresh fruit every breakfast - papaya, watermelon, oranges, etc.

Dinners were usually very good. Lunch was ok to pretty good (the fish was always excellent). They were feeding us 4 meals a day - breakfast, lunch, tea (3 pm) and dinner. More than enough food overall. Beverages not included, not even water.

The resort was a great value; very affordable for the super high quality it offered. Accomodation is in pretty huts called "bures" - a lot of fun and only a few feet from the water - the waves are a few feet from your door.

The staff were all very friendly; a few of them getting occasionally too friendly and needing being told off... they made a lot of effort to befriend all of us.

The weather was perfect (beginning of December) - warm but not too hot; it wasn't humid at all. The shower somehow didn't have hot water for most of our stay, but given how warm it was it didn't seem like a big deal.
The bathrooms in the bures on the other hand are not the best looking - clean, but looking a bit old and stained. Luckily, there were no bugs or local "fauna" inside the bure or bathroom.

Note: there is no internet or phone on the island (except for a phone at the reception office - and even that one was broken for a while). Ideal for a retreat.
Also, if you're thinking of honeymooning at Botaira, the standard package is fine, no need to get the honeymoon package - all it included in addition was a separate dinner (lobster) and being dropped off on a beach for a half-day. Either way, you'll have a lot of fun.

Overall, it was one of the most fun experiences we've ever had - I highly recommend this resort.

7  Thank True_Yossarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2007

Our stay at Botaira was a dream honeymoon for my wife and I. The location is perfect. The staff were very friendly. Snorkeling was beautiful. The view from the path on the top of the island was gorgeous. Botaira is on a human scale. The staff did numerous things to introduce us to Fijian customs and traditional living. We learned how to make baskets out of coconut fronds, to open a coconut. We were taken to visit SoSo Village, on the opposite side of the island, where most staff are from. The warmth and hospitality of the Fijian people, however, is what made the biggest impression on me. We would heartily recommend visiting the Botaira Beach Resort. I hope we may be able to return one day.

What about the coup? One-man military dictatorships are not my favorite form of government. However, despite the recent coup, we saw no signs of unrest. Most Fijians believe that New Zealand and Australia’s travel warnings are exaggerated for political purposes.

Who should not go to Botaira? Note that if you want something really fancy, Botaira is not for you. Linens were changed every 2 days or so; the hot water was generally cool in our bure (hut); etc. Also note that you have to pay for drinkable water (I think FJ$4.50 per 1.5 liter), as the tap water is not potable. This cost us about FJ$9 per day. If you have to have email or phone or internet, this is not the place for you. I had a couple days of withdrawal, but then it was such a relief to only have the lightly crashing surf and the drumbeats announcing mealtimes catching my attention.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank inventiveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2006

We were at Botaira at the same time as "CRXMAN". We agree with their review, and found Botaira to be idyllic. Next time, we will stay for more than 5 days. If you are flying from Melbourne be warned - our flight was delayed 3 hours, and we missed the impressive "Yasawa Flyer" commuter catamaran that goes out to the islands. Thus we missed a whole day that we would prefer to have been at Botaira. The same thing happened on the way back. Just plan to stay in Nadi for the day, or fly from Aukland instead.

I also agree with "NicoleNestojko" that we would not like this place to be "Discovered" and spoiled. The staff are wonderful and did everything possible to make us comfortable.

We will return...

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RonandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naviti Island
4.4 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
759 reviews
19.6 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
1,429 reviews
13.7 mi away
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
101 reviews
14.9 mi away
Naqalia Lodge
Naqalia Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waya Lailai
197 reviews
11.6 mi away
Octopus Resort
Octopus Resort
#1 of 3 in Waya Island
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botaira Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botaira Resort

Address: Naviti Island 679, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Naviti Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Naviti Island
Price Range: $156 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Botaira Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOTAIRA RESORT is located on a tropical island and consists 10 private Fijian Bures with ensuite facilities on a white sand beach in the beautiful Yasawa Islands in FIJI. All inclusive vacation packages of accommodation and meals. The perfect honeymoon and wedding destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Botaira Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botaira Beach Hotel Naviti Island
Botaira Beach Naviti Island
Botaira Resort Fiji/Naviti Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing